1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

DIY FFB Steering wheel (MMosFFB ) (In Progress)

Discussion in 'DIY peripherals' started by Alexey, Dec 10, 2015.

  1. Sieben

    Sieben Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    262
    Balance:
    1,692Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 1 / -0
    nopilpl, bay the way. Don't use "invert". Change the AB wires to arduino, with each other. Otherwise that will bring a mess with pwm signals. Don't know the encoder issue.
    Use separate 12vpower to encoder. There vere few pages later info on it.
  2. nopilpl

    nopilpl New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    168Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    It isn't encoder issue, beacuse i tested other software and it worked.
    I changed AB wires with each other, and I use 12v supply for encoder and it still doesn't work.
  3. nopilpl

    nopilpl New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    168Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    I changed Z phase with connection betwwen GND and 6 and it works now.
  4. Sieben

    Sieben Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    262
    Balance:
    1,692Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 1 / -0
    Z toggle should be tasted long ago as was described it video guides.
    Don't use "invert". Change the AB wires to arduino, with each other. Otherwise that will bring a mess with pwm signals. That was mentioned not to that issue. You will understand that later on when will conect the motor drivers. If will use ebolz magi emc soft that toggling will not be required every time. With centering a wheel. And that's a very good soft.
  5. Llewelyn

    Llewelyn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Occupation:
    IT consultant
    Location:
    south africa
    Balance:
    60Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Hello,do you have ebolz magi emc soft,he doesnt seem to sharing it anymore.Thank you.
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Sieben

    Sieben Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    262
    Balance:
    1,692Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 1 / -0
  7. nopilpl

    nopilpl New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    168Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    I fix this problem but I have another.
    When i rotate my wheel to the left, the motor increase rpm, but when i rotate it right, it decrease rpm.
  8. nopilpl

    nopilpl New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    168Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    When i rotate wheel for example 900 degrees then egine tries to stop the wheel but, then engine stop working, and I need to restart it.
    Do you know why this happen?
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2019
  9. Sieben

    Sieben Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    262
    Balance:
    1,692Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 1 / -0
    What is supply power? What motor are you using? Stall current of motor may be too high for bts with that motor.
  10. nopilpl

    nopilpl New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    168Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    12v, 8.5amp
    I AM using 12v 100watts DC motor
  11. Sieben

    Sieben Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    262
    Balance:
    1,692Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 1 / -0
    Try paraller 2BTS together. Or even triple. And tell about results. Check the BS SIM thread.

    And other explanation on other videos.
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2019
  12. nopilpl

    nopilpl New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    168Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    I have only one vnh2sp30
  13. Sieben

    Sieben Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    262
    Balance:
    1,692Coins
    Ratings:
    +78 / 1 / -0
    try to cool it down.
  14. Fernando Igor

    Fernando Igor Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Fortaleza, Brazil
    Balance:
    856Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Solved?
    You need to use pull down resistors on the channel outputs.
    Your encoder E6B2-CWZ5B PNP Open-collector Output Mode
    https://www.ia.omron.com/data_pdf/cat/e6b2-c_ds_e_6_1_csm491.pdf?id=487

    When the base is polarized, the output signal of the channels is undefined, so a pulldown resistor is needed (examples: 4.7k, 10k).
    Ebolz Magi shows a diagram in one of the videos.
    • Like Like x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. marybird

    marybird New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    guys i new to this field and i need your help
    can i use an 220v ac motor with ac motor driver ? because they are readily available and fairly cheap
    if it's possible please let me know
    also i found an epson stylus sx218 printer i want to get the encoder from it is it any good ?
  16. Onevia

    Onevia New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Balance:
    - 3Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    Has anyone had experience using ibt-4 driver board? It turned out to be difficult to find a geniue ibt-2. I checked my local stores and all three had chinese fakes with half bridge ICs sanded down and remarked as BTS7960, even $15 ones.
  17. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...)

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    115
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    897Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    220v ac motor : I guess the main problem will be to find a motor driver that will accept pwm signals and 220v ac power supply... I don't know any, and don't find any by googling a bit...

    Espon encoder : I would say it's a bad idea... You won't have the datasheet, meaning you will have a guess how to wire it, that isn't easy as it's digital signals. Then you don't even know what many ppr (pulse per revolution) you will have. If it's less than 500 (by example), it probably won't be enough to have a detailled ffb... By example, most dd wheel have 10000ppr encoders..
  18. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...)

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    115
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    897Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    IBT4 seem to be limited to 15V right ?
  19. AguNicoGaby

    AguNicoGaby New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, SimAxe, SimforceGT, Motion platform, 4DOF
    WOW, estuve mirando un poco todo, y exelente proyecto!!! yo empeze con el mio, pero no logro hacer funcionar el encoder, actualmente estoy usando el encoder del g27, tiene 5 cables (negro,rojo,blanco,negro,amarillo,verde) alguien pudo hacer funcionar este encoder?

    En el ai wave 2016 (rfr wheel config) el volante queda girando en un solo sentido y no se calibra, uso pmw +dir y ppr 780
    A la espera de una respuesta, Saludos!


    WOW, I was looking at everything, and excellent project !!! I started with mine, but I can not make the encoder work, I am currently using the g27 encoder, it has 5 cables (black, red, white, black, yellow, green) could someone operate this encoder?

    In the ai wave 2016 (rfr wheel config) the steering wheel is rotating in one direction and is not calibrated, use pmw + dir and ppr 780
    Waiting for an answer, Regards!
  20. Fernando Igor

    Fernando Igor Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Fortaleza, Brazil
    Balance:
    856Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    https://prnt.sc/nknjbd
    Check it's the same model (tracks).
    • Agree Agree x 1