1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

DIY D-Box style for VR 3-dof

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Michael Hensen, Jan 17, 2018.

  1. Michael Hensen

    Michael Hensen Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Occupation:
    C# Software Engineer
    Location:
    Almere, Netherlands
    Balance:
    590Coins
    Ratings:
    +170 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    And a small step in the right direction..
    Bottom frame is ready and motors are attached.. All is a snug fit and the platform is stable..
    Next up is more wiring.. Need to wire a couple of endstops and then unloaded tests. after that gradually add weight to see if it can hold me.. So fingers crossed :)

    Small detail view.. bolted through the fram and the base plate.. 20180604_230109.jpg
    Full frame overview.. 20180604_230054.jpg
    • Like Like x 10
    • Winner Winner x 3
  2. francois38200

    francois38200 Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    vienne
    Balance:
    86Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    great work keenly following :eek:
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Michael Hensen

    Michael Hensen Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Occupation:
    C# Software Engineer
    Location:
    Almere, Netherlands
    Balance:
    590Coins
    Ratings:
    +170 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Things are really coming together.. The 2 frames are connected and all is still working and lifting me up without a problem..
    Still everything under 16 amps while the max of a single motor is 9 amps I have it all connected to a single 70V AC toroidal spool ..

    But a relieve to see it all finally coming together.. really happy with the first result although not really happy with the accelstepper library.. so if there is anybody willing to share their Arduino code for a stepper driver (dir/step pin only) with some form of acceleration.. this is needed otherwise it gives an overvoltage error..

    For now running on 2 Arduino Mega's 1 for the back and 1 for the front.. All looks good and no difference in motion except the moving speed looks a bit higher then with 4 actuators on 1 arduin0.. as said not really happy about the accelstepper library but have nothing else right now.

    But anyway as said happy with how it all came together and also the looks of it, I like the open view of the actuators :)

    IMG-20180606-WA0001 (1).jpeg
    Test fitting all

    heliview.jpg
    Fitted and bolted the 2 frames together..
    IMG-20180606-WA0003 (1).jpeg
    Nice industrial look :)

    next up .. testing.. testing.. testing.. and having fun..
    Will do video's later on!
    • Like Like x 7
    • Winner Winner x 2
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2018
  4. francois38200

    francois38200 Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    vienne
    Balance:
    86Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    look forward to seeing the video
    • Agree Agree x 3
  5. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,034
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    25,397Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,343 / 20 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Looks really nice :thumbs. How is the noise from the steppers?
  6. Ashraf

    Ashraf Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Balance:
    903Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Congratulations ! great work :cheers
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Michael Hensen

    Michael Hensen Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Occupation:
    C# Software Engineer
    Location:
    Almere, Netherlands
    Balance:
    590Coins
    Ratings:
    +170 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi SeatTime,

    no problem for noting your observation.. this is why I tried to keep it as low as possible without making it awfully more difficult in constructing.. I looked at the video and you are absolutely right..The biggest avantage I have is that I will be using VR. so in that case, because you have no outside visual reference, the sideway sway will be eliminated in your sense.. VR does some weird things to your brain..:)
  8. Michael Hensen

    Michael Hensen Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Occupation:
    C# Software Engineer
    Location:
    Almere, Netherlands
    Balance:
    590Coins
    Ratings:
    +170 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    In the first instance it seems to be ok.. that is why I moved to the bigger size ball bearing.. less rotation, less speed equals less whining noise.. but I will have to run it first in full setup to provide more info
  9. misoswan

    misoswan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    225
    Balance:
    738Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, JRK
    hello
    how much is maximum loading?
    thanks
  10. Michael Hensen

    Michael Hensen Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Occupation:
    C# Software Engineer
    Location:
    Almere, Netherlands
    Balance:
    590Coins
    Ratings:
    +170 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    replaced the 2 Arduino's for a Teensy 3.5 and without really changing the software the motion is so much smoother .. more accurate!
    Thanks for the tip Saxxon.. It was the trick.. now some dampening for the 'noise' and it will be superb.. details in the motion are incredible in contrast of the geared motors..
    Now finding the sweetspot between acceleration/speed. Although still using the accelstepper library, so need to switch to the supposing better teensystep library..
    But I need to read up on the subject first..


    Happy so far.. video's will foolow later . need way more tuning and refinement in motion..


    @misoswan: It is loaded with 190 kg.. and I feel I have a load more..
    Made a small mistake with the values set for the Arduino which where to high for the Teensy.. the front jumped off the floor!!
    My guess would be in the 250-300 kg range..
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 2
    • Informative Informative x 2
  11. Ringorumble

    Ringorumble Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    175
    Balance:
    229Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 1 / -0
    Hey @Michael Hensen , how is it working ? Looking forward to see more action :)
    • Like Like x 1
  12. unnamed_

    unnamed_ New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    united states
    Balance:
    - 9Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Also curious about the noise levels in the new design. Looks great though!
  13. Michael Hensen

    Michael Hensen Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Occupation:
    C# Software Engineer
    Location:
    Almere, Netherlands
    Balance:
    590Coins
    Ratings:
    +170 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Raw footage of the sim. Need to do more tuning /filtering on the axis.. but it works.. The rumble is coming from the small motions on the floor.. the floor is quite thin and has a hollow spacing underneath making it sound louder that the actuator actually is..

    But I can play with acceleration a bit more..


    • Like Like x 4
    • Winner Winner x 1
  14. Michael Hensen

    Michael Hensen Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Occupation:
    C# Software Engineer
    Location:
    Almere, Netherlands
    Balance:
    590Coins
    Ratings:
    +170 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    • Like Like x 2
  15. Michael Hensen

    Michael Hensen Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Occupation:
    C# Software Engineer
    Location:
    Almere, Netherlands
    Balance:
    590Coins
    Ratings:
    +170 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Need to check out anouther library ,.. but this is a closeup .. so also sound is in closeup and thus more pronounced.. not really as load as it sound with the camera close by.

    Also need a beter isolation between the actuator and the floor..



    more quite then this previous old beast
    • Like Like x 2
  16. Jerry Atrick

    Jerry Atrick this is my sim Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    138
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Balance:
    1,155Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    The rumble is coming from the small motions on the floor.. the floor is quite thin and has a hollow spacing underneath making it sound louder that the actuator actually is..

    Hi Michael, great looking rig!

    About the noise, it looks like your are on tiles?

    1/Maybe start with dampening the acoustic signal with a rug/carpet or such.
    2/On the base of the actuator use a 60mm super ball as the cushion.
    3/ If you have still have a hollow sound from your steel tubes, you could use expanding foam to fill the void.

    Just some suggestions that may help
    Regards Jerry
  17. misoswan

    misoswan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    225
    Balance:
    738Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, JRK
    hello any news ?:)
  18. Snipe3000

    Snipe3000 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Balance:
    150Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, SCN6
    Hi Michael, I have a question about your first post. Wouldn't a powerful, 6DOF Stewart/hexapod platform, linear actuator system be the same or have the same functionality as a dbox setup, but with more degrees of movement?
    I've never been in either, but I would think a 6DOF build would give the same results, but with more options.
  19. billo2404

    billo2404 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Roma, Italia
    Balance:
    1,054Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    congratulations for the great study you are doing on stepper engines,
    I'm very curious to see how far you can get.
    I would also like to try a project but I am undecided whether to go on AC servos or stepper motors.
    I cheer for you


    complimenti per il grande studio che stai facendo sui motori stepper,
    sono molto curioso di vedere fino a che punto si può arrivare.
    Vorrei anch'io tentare un progetto ma sono indeciso se andare sui servo AC o sui motori stepper.
    Faccio il tifo per te
    ;)




    This (for information) is my simulator in one of the very first setups and the speed of the engines was 50% and also the pid 25/0/0
    They are also my 0.75 kw motors but probably your gearbox has a very high ratio that causes such slow movements of your old sim

    Questo (a titolo informativo) è il mio simulatore in uno dei primissimi setup e la velocità dei motori era del 50% e anche il pid 25/0/0
    Sono anche i miei motori da 0,75 kw ma probabilmente il tuo riduttore ha un rapporto molto alto che causa movimenti così lenti del tuo vecchio sim
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2018
  20. Newgun

    Newgun New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    94Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 4DOF
    Hey Michael, great job on your build. Were you able to fine tune the axis? Can you share how you have each axis set up in Simtools?