1. Do not share user accounts! Any account that is shared by another person will be blocked and closed. This means: we will close not only the account that is shared, but also the main account of the user who uses another person's account. We have the ability to detect account sharing, so please do not try to cheat the system. This action will take place on 04/18/2023. Read all forum rules.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

DIY active seatbelt tensioner

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by psmooky2, Nov 5, 2022.

  1. psmooky2

    psmooky2 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2022
    Messages:
    44
    Balance:
    270Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Where can i find this option

    because the situation is it feels prettig good

    -100. 0. +100
    Full brake Full acceleration


    I want to try to only use -100 t0 0 and skip. 0 to +100. I hope this is a good explanation

    But i only can Find degree limitation but it is in both directions
    And offcourse overall intensity and axes limitation etc.
  2. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    303
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    1,058Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi. How is your tensioner doing? Do U Have some heat problem with wiper motor?
  3. psmooky2

    psmooky2 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2022
    Messages:
    44
    Balance:
    270Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Hi,

    It is working oké but it stalls sometimes then i need to restart the Arduino.

    but i am very busy last weeks so had no time to figure it out het
  4. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    303
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    1,058Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    From my experience :) check modified ground, try different usb port and try different electric socket if u have lots of other plugs in one. Take care
    • Like Like x 2
  5. psmooky2

    psmooky2 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2022
    Messages:
    44
    Balance:
    270Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    I tried a usb 2.0 instead of 3.0 last night i had no issues and it worked fine.

    thnx for the idea
  6. sci666

    sci666 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2021
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,013Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    looks great !!! i like the 1 axis thing more then the 2 axis belt tensioner.. in my opinion a 2 axis makes no sense, because in real life the belt doesnt do it on 1 side only !!!!!

    i think about to do it like you in addition to my 6dof rig. bu i wanna fnish my build first and look how it feels without the tensioner.
    • Like Like x 1
  7. psmooky2

    psmooky2 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2022
    Messages:
    44
    Balance:
    270Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    The belttensioner is really Nice in terms of immersion.

    I started redesign it today i Will post pictures en info About it to do:

    fixing the pole to the seatslider so it moves Along with the seat.

    New motormount, shaft, Bearkats en positioning of the pot meter. (Final design maybe with covering etc now the shaft and the potmeter are not 100% alligned.

    redesign electrical circuit (final design with correct wire coloring etc)

    Fine tuning the settings of the motion.

    and i need to figure out a way when i accelerate the belt doesnt loose an only thightens on braking.

    and then the next step wil be planning for more Motion with 2 back mounted 24v dc motors dont now of it Will be only Seat moving or full frame still doing research i think in perspective of immersion it Will be Seat moving (i only do racing) so i can feel pressure on hands/steering wheel.
    • Like Like x 2
  8. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    303
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    1,058Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Done

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 3
  9. psmooky2

    psmooky2 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2022
    Messages:
    44
    Balance:
    270Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Looks really Nice
  10. sci666

    sci666 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2021
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,013Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Very cool. If you figured out how not to loosen the belt please let us know
  11. psmooky2

    psmooky2 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2022
    Messages:
    44
    Balance:
    270Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    How are u going to mount the seatbelt with a single to two strap like a Y because thats wat im thinking about with the redesign.

    It Will be much smaller than what i have know.
  12. sci666

    sci666 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2021
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,013Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Why not wind both belt bands Just on the Single roll?
  13. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    303
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    1,058Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  14. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    303
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    1,058Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I don't understand why you mean
  15. sci666

    sci666 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2021
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,013Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    see above :

    "and i need to figure out a way when i accelerate the belt doesnt loose an only thightens on braking."

    it was from psmooky :)
  16. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    303
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    1,058Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    What version of simtools u use? U must set max min values. I don't remember but its call tuning center :) on simtools 2.x and simply max min on sim tools 3 beta
  17. psmooky2

    psmooky2 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2022
    Messages:
    44
    Balance:
    270Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    i found it in tuning center.

    I wanted to try it last night but my setup stopped working. It gives a bleep and stops so i Will try today with another arduino is ik post pictures wen i got it working.
  18. psmooky2

    psmooky2 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2022
    Messages:
    44
    Balance:
    270Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    found it.

    run the tuning center and Capture min and Max then manually turn down the Max to 0 and let min on -3,5 Those are my setting now see picture om the picture Its 0.2 but Turned it down to 0.

    then save new settings (you first need to capture settings from the game before u are able to adjust manually)

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  19. sci666

    sci666 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2021
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,013Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    great !!!! and so you have surge 2 times ??? one regular for the simrig motion and an additional for the tensioner ?
  20. psmooky2

    psmooky2 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2022
    Messages:
    44
    Balance:
    270Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    No only one time

    only have the tensioner now i im planning on building Motion but not started yet.
    • Like Like x 1