1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom DIY 6DOF rotating actuators simulator with ODrive

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by kunkurus, Sep 24, 2020.

  1. kunkurus

    kunkurus Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    116Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Hello,

    I started working on my simulator this spring. It is a relatively difficult task and I needed a lot of time and patience.

    The base is welded. I did not have previous welding experience but the result is acceptable.

    I opted for rotating actuators because I do not have space in my apartment and I tried to make it relatively small.
    I’ll post some photos to show the progress.
    • Like Like x 4
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. kunkurus

    kunkurus Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    116Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    The motors are 6384 120KV. Nema 42 36:1 Ratio Planetary Reducer. All from Aliexpress.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. kunkurus

    kunkurus Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    116Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    The shaft couplings are 10mm to 19mm.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
  5. kunkurus

    kunkurus Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    116Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Mounting the motors on the planetary reducers.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 3
  6. kunkurus

    kunkurus Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    116Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Initially I opted for AS5048A magnetic encoder. This how I thought to mount them on the motors.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  7. kunkurus

    kunkurus Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    116Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    The problem with AS5048A encoder is that it is affected by electrical noise. I tried using shielded cables for the connection to ODrive but no success. I had always encoder errors difficult to solve. After multiples attempts, I abandoned this path and choose AMT-103 CUI encoder.
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. kunkurus

    kunkurus Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    116Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Because the motors are not dual shaft, I needed to add the missing shaft for AMT-103 encoders and change the mounting plate for the new encoders.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 3
    • Informative Informative x 1
  9. kunkurus

    kunkurus Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    116Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Some lessons learnt from my attempts to use AS5048A magnetic encoder.
    1. Read the specs in detail before attempting to use it in your project. If you think having difficulties respecting the specs, go with another option.
    "The AS5048 sensor should be centered on the middle of the package with a tolerance of 0.5mm. The airgap between the magnet surface and the package should be maintained in the range 0.5mm to 3mm. The magnet holder must not be ferromagnetic. Materials as brass, copper, aluminum, stainless steel are the best choices to make this part."
    2. Use high quality flux paste for soldering. There are soldering flux paste that become conductive when burnt.
    3. Clean the flux paste with isopropyl alcohol before checking for short-circuits.
    4. When verifying for short-circuits do not use your digital multimeter in continuity mode only. Check using the resistance mode also. A resistance of 100Ko does not register in continuity mode but the encoder can malfunction because of that. The resistance between isolated conductors/terminals must be greater than 1Mo to be sure.
    5. Be prepared for failure at any time

    This was my last attempt to use AS5048A encoder from Mouser instead of Aliexpress. I had a surprise when I found that one of the Mouser encoders was DOA.

    Attached Files:

    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. kunkurus

    kunkurus Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    116Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Working on the base... The legs are ajustable. I'm using 6 LED power supplies 36V 1200W 110/220V from Aliexpress.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 3
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  11. kunkurus

    kunkurus Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    116Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Where I live, the max power at the outlet is 120Vx15A. Converted to 36V gives me only 55A (1980W). I need two separate circuits to have 110A x 36V = 3960W for all the drives.
    ODrive can drive two motors from one power supply. I needed to use two powers supplies for each using schottky diodes – DSA90C200HB - https://www.mouser.ca/datasheet/2/240/DSA90C200HB-1547547.pdf
    When working, the power supplies were very loud and I changed the fans for Noctua NF-A6x25 to reduce the noise.

    Attached Files:

    • Informative Informative x 1
  12. kunkurus

    kunkurus Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    116Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Mounting ODrive and the full assembled base.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 3
  13. kunkurus

    kunkurus Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    116Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF

    • Like Like x 6
    • Winner Winner x 1
  14. T R Para

    T R Para i make stuff up Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    330
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Balance:
    2,220Coins
    Ratings:
    +301 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    I like it..
    Got to ask.. Where did you get those levers.?
  15. kunkurus

    kunkurus Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    116Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  16. kunkurus

    kunkurus Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    116Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    IMG_20201010_163841.jpg IMG_20201010_163852.jpg The final result.
    • Winner Winner x 7
    • Like Like x 2
  17. PeterW

    PeterW alias Wickie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2018
    Messages:
    110
    Occupation:
    Dipl. Ing. Mb (FH)
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,045Coins
    Ratings:
    +252 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi @kunkurus
    Nice to see that you managed to use Odrive for your sim! I am also using Odrive in my linear 6DOF and I am super happy with it now. BUT it was a lot of pain setting it up and to integrate the endstops. In the beginning I tried reed type magnetic limit switches, but it failed because of electromagnetic problems. Later I got huge support from insectatech and also a firmware that is using software limits instead of hardware endswitches. Only with help of this this I got it running.
    So what I am really asking myself is, how you nanaged this challenge? Pls could you tell us something about it?
    I think this information would be also a big help for the other guys planning to use Odrive.
    Thanks!
    Wickie
    • Like Like x 1
  18. kunkurus

    kunkurus Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    116Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Hi @PeterW
    I use FlyPT and no hardware endswitches. No need to use hardware endswitches with a rotary setup.
    • Like Like x 1
  19. kunkurus

    kunkurus Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    116Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    • Like Like x 3
  20. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,604
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,867Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,866 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    The Odrives are a super compact setup - really nothing out there to beat them, but seeing a few members struggling with them made me go with AC servos, which were super easy to use. Would be interesting to see a comparison on cost - all things considered, as AC servos normally come with a encoder fitted, driver and cables included and just run off your house mains.
  21. kunkurus

    kunkurus Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2019
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    116Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Item | Quantity | Price (US) | Total | URL

    6384 120KV BLDC Outrunner | 6 | 50 | 300 | https://www.aliexpress.com/item/638...357.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.27424c4dxKjEa8

    DC Power Supply 36V 1200W 110/220V | 6 | 70 | 420 | https://www.aliexpress.com/item/DC-...631.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.27424c4dxKjEa8

    36:1 Ratio Planetary Reducer Nema 42 | 6 | 110 | 660 | https://www.aliexpress.com/item/10-...129.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.27424c4doWuGYd

    Flexible Shaft Coupling 10x19 | 6 | 10 | 60 | https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32860807020.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.27424c4doWuGYd

    Output Shaft 19mm diameter | 6 | 15 | 90 | https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32615207834.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.27424c4ddA6Rw2

    AMT103-V Encoder | 6 | 23 | 138 | https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/CUI-Devices/AMT103-V?qs=WyjlAZoYn51X2GCrrvGQTg==

    Odrive V3.6 56V | 3 | 160 | 480 | https://odriverobotics.com/shop/odrive-v36

    Total: $2148

    Some prices changed since I bought the items.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1