1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

DIY 3DoF Simulator for Research

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Tao, Jan 4, 2018.

  1. Tao

    Tao New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    50Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hello,

    I'm building a 3Dof simulator for research (seriously :)). I guess the amplitude and tilt angle are probably larger than most gaming simulator. Amplitude is 6 in (12 in displacement). I've finished the mechanical designing part. Here are some figure showing the CAD model. Most parts are made of steel.
    upload_2018-1-4_11-35-23.png
    Base:
    upload_2018-1-4_11-36-55.png
    U-joint (better for large angle than a single ball joint):
    upload_2018-1-4_11-38-4.png
    One thing I'm not fully confident is the crank:
    upload_2018-1-4_11-44-44.png
    upload_2018-1-4_11-45-27.png
    I'm not sure the connection between the crank and shaft is good for long term use. The motor I'd like to use is this.
    upload_2018-1-4_11-53-5.png Anyone have any idea regarding my crank?

    I'll update when I have more progress. Happy new year!
  2. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    3,265Coins
    Ratings:
    +85 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    looks good !

    what made you choose 3dof over 6dof

    when do you start building ?
  3. Tao

    Tao New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    50Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Cost is one reason. And 6dof is actually not necessary for my project.
    I'm gonna order materials next week. Hopefully I can start the week after next week.
  4. Tao

    Tao New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    50Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    It's been a long time...

    I have to modify my design a little bit and finally made some progress on the machine. Square tube has round corners. There is not enough room for me to mount the motors. I've made three motor bases. WeChat Image_20180513222825.jpg WeChat Image_20180513222835.jpg
    I used angle aluminium to make the mounts of potentiometers.
    WeChat Image_20180513222841.jpg
    Two out of the six through holes in the motor shafts are off-centered. Luckily, I only made three cranks before noticing this.
    WeChat Image_20180513225853.jpg
    I think it's time for me to test motors. I brought two Sabertooth and one Arduino. Anybody know if I need to buy another Arduino to control three motors? This post (
    SMC3-SPS Sabertooth Packet Serial PID motor driver w/SoftStart
    ) only support two motors. I think Arduino is able to give 6 output channels which should be enough to control two Sabertooth. I do appreciate it for any direction!
  5. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    437
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    3,265Coins
    Ratings:
    +85 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    i think the smc3 will support 3 motors if you use pwm channels

    however another arduino is cheap and will not add much cost to the project

    program the smc3 and get the test program working

Share This Page