1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Tutorial DIY 3D printed Sim Racing Hydraulic pedals SRT

Discussion in 'DIY peripherals' started by Lebois, Jan 26, 2020.

  1. Sieben

    Sieben Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    322
    Balance:
    2,072Coins
    Ratings:
    +101 / 1 / -0
    I used such.
    Adaptor 1/8" NPT Female to M10 x1.25mm Male for Brake Hose Connectors Fittings
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/Adaptor-1-8-NPT-Female-to-M10-x1-25mm-Male-for-Brake-Hose-Connectors-Fittings/182555955605?ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649
    s-l1600 (12).jpg
    [​IMG]
  2. HCR Mad Bull

    HCR Mad Bull Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Balance:
    393Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor
    Had a look for adaptors and found this. Should work I'd imagine. Don't even need another brake line for this either just plug and play.
    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/M10-x-1-...epid=0&hash=item283d7f1bcd:g:HIEAAOSwdpxUYLhU

    As I've just swapped out my brake lines on my motorcycle, I have brake lines and the T connector already. Easy way to get these parts is by using used motorcycle parts as they are common and cheap enough and they are very unlikely to leak as they have to be good quality otherwise someone would die.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Sieben

    Sieben Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    322
    Balance:
    2,072Coins
    Ratings:
    +101 / 1 / -0
    That's gonna be exactly the adaptor you should need.
  4. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...)

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    144
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,126Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Thanks A LOT @HCR Mad Bull ! Thanks to your link I found the following :
    3/8 Banjo bolt for 1/8" npt
    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3-8-x24-...679667?hash=item5413dfb073:g:HIEAAOSwdpxUYLhU

    It's a bit better because the brake caliper normally comes with his M10x1.25 banjo bolt !

    Thank thank thank !!! Know with have the shortest hydraulic circuit !
    Now I think the load cell will wait a little bit more, it would just be a little bit cheaper, but less reliable !
    I order the part right know.
  5. HCR Mad Bull

    HCR Mad Bull Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Balance:
    393Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor
    Your welcome!! Glad I could be helpful rather than the one asking all the questions! Hope it works out!
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...)

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    144
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,126Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I'll keep you in touch !
  7. dviejo

    dviejo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    alicante, spain
    Balance:
    210Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Hi Lebois, first of all, great job!
    I just finished printing the parts for the accelerator v5.4
    I noticed that the lever is slightly different from the pictures you posted. That difference is in the part where the bolt and nut used for inclination adjustment is located. Apparently, the nut doesn't fit in the space reserved for it. Could you check if the lever from thingiverse is the correct versión?
    Thanks!
  8. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...)

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    144
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,126Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi, the nut is to wide or too tall ? From my side files seems to be ok..
  9. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...)

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    144
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,126Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I am working on a new version that will get rid of the noisy-expensive-massive metal spring...
    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 1
  10. dviejo

    dviejo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    alicante, spain
    Balance:
    210Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    It's too tall, about 1mm.
  11. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...)

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    144
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,126Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    In attachment is a 1mm smaller nut

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  12. dviejo

    dviejo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    alicante, spain
    Balance:
    210Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Thanks a lot!
  13. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...)

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    144
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,126Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I come back in 24h :
    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 1
  14. HCR Mad Bull

    HCR Mad Bull Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Balance:
    393Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor
    How's it looking?
  15. MarcoMade

    MarcoMade Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    140
    Occupation:
    Tecnico pc hardware/software C/O PcCorner.it
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    65Coins
    Ratings:
    +52 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...)

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    144
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,126Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    The lever is fine. I need to print a new axle to really test it. For now, the plastic spring is a bit too soft... I need to print a bigger one. Not sure if I will manage to produce one that is stiff enough... maybe I will need to print a new lever so I can fit a bigger spring.
    Otherwise, the movement is now smoother, and there is no noise ! (the metal spring was noisy...)
    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 3
  17. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...)

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    144
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,126Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Progress is very slow... Parts are complex and need to be printed at 100% with very detailed resolution.
    Now I abandon the idea of a torsion spring attached to the axle. The axle breaks, or the lever breaks or the spring is too weak... I will try to print a compression spring.
    [​IMG]
  18. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...)

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    144
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,126Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi ! I received the part, perfect fit. Otherwise I had to add sealing rings to seal the pressure sensor... Normally with NPT, you are just meant to screw the parts together.
    I am not a thread expert, does someone know anything about it ? the pressure isn't new, and has been used couple of times..
    [​IMG]
  19. CTF

    CTF New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    24Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Hi! Good to hear some news. I found this info about NPT threads and it seems that some sort of sealant and curing time is often recommended prior to use.
    http://www jgbhose com/technical-reference-literature/thread-sealing-tips.asp (cannot post links quite yet, please add the dots in the url)

    Looking forward to the latest 3D files, got my CR10 (and bought another resin printer for higher res parts such as knobs, etc.).
    I will be building the printer in the next couple of days.
    • Like Like x 1
  20. HCR Mad Bull

    HCR Mad Bull Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Balance:
    393Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor
    Maybe use something like a crush washer they would normally use for the hydraulic lines, or use some PTFE tape to create a better seal? Other than that I'm not too sure and will have to see what others say on the internet.
    • Like Like x 1