1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Tutorial DIY 3D printed Sim Racing Hydraulic pedals SRT

Discussion in 'DIY peripherals' started by Lebois, Jan 26, 2020.

  1. ibohan00

    ibohan00 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    CA, USA
    Balance:
    102Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    I decided to test the CNC pedal using wood first. Good thing I did because it somehow didn't come out right. Possibly user error. I'll try again tomorrow.
    Most of the parts I ordered arrived today except for the banjo adaptor and gaskets. I'm getting excited!
    IMG_20201013_124129.jpg IMG_20201013_121820.jpg IMG_20201013_200958.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1
  2. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...)

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    266
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    2,016Coins
    Ratings:
    +141 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  3. ibohan00

    ibohan00 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    CA, USA
    Balance:
    102Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    I finally got the banjo adapter. Unfortunately the MC that comes with the 2 cylinder caliper uses a 10mm x 1.25 thread and the banjo adapter uses 10mm x 1..
    I'm thinking the easiest thing would be to order another adapter and wait another 2 weeks for shipping unless someone has a better idea?
  4. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...)

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    266
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    2,016Coins
    Ratings:
    +141 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    The banjo adapter needs to be mounted on the slave cylinder.
  5. ibohan00

    ibohan00 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    CA, USA
    Balance:
    102Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    I just checked the slave cylinder (brake caliper) and it looks like that also uses an M10x1.25 thread.
    What's the reason for not having the banjo adapter on the MC side?
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2020
  6. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...)

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    266
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    2,016Coins
    Ratings:
    +141 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    The master cylinder and pressure sensor are both using imperial threads, consequently we can find easily adapters.
    Find an imperial to metric adapter is near of impossible...

    On top of that, I didn't want to have the brake calipper moving everywhere and pulling on the sensor cable.
  7. ibohan00

    ibohan00 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    CA, USA
    Balance:
    102Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    The company that sells the adapter also sells imperial to metric sizes
    https://ebay.us/ZWL9YM - M10x1.25 to 1/8 NPT
    https://ebay.us/JIYkci - M10x1.0 to 1/8NPT

    My problem was that I ordered the M10x1.0 assuming that was the correct thread pitch for the 10mm banjo. It's actually M10x1.25.

    I agree the sensor would be best on the master cylinder
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...)

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    266
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    2,016Coins
    Ratings:
    +141 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Well, it's not perfect either. The sensor is quite high, and comes quite near of the lever. It's not touching, but...
  9. 7HUND3R

    7HUND3R Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    1,054Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Can you put a picture of how the banjo is threaded? it did not screw me at all but with Teflon it does not lose liquid.
  10. ibohan00

    ibohan00 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    CA, USA
    Balance:
    102Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    The thread pitch is the spacing between each thread. If your parts fit together then they're the correct size. A banjo with a 1mm thread pitch won't physically fit into a 1.25mm pitch hole.
    Here's a picture of what my M10 x 1mm banjo looks like.
    IMG_20201020_132734.jpg

    I see. My master cylinder has the banjo in the back, so I don't think I'll have the same issue. I see a few people make their pedals using plates and I might be able to design something with clearance for the wires. How close is the pedal getting to the wires?
    IMG_20201020_132843.jpg
  11. 7HUND3R

    7HUND3R Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    1,054Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    I have no problem with the pedal, it does not touch the sensor cables. What difference is there between putting the pressure sensor on the brake caliper versus putting it on the master cylinder?

  12. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...)

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    266
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    2,016Coins
    Ratings:
    +141 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    @7HUND3R no major difference. I prefered to mount it on the MC because the brake calipper is not necesseraly fixed, and I didn't want the brake calipper pulling on the sensor cable.
  13. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...)

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    266
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    2,016Coins
    Ratings:
    +141 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    @7HUND3R I've been thinking a lot. Finally, I think that I will mount the pressure sensor on the brake calipper or slave cylinder. It will be easier to bleed the pedals, and I need this setup to build the hydraulic handbrake.
  14. 7HUND3R

    7HUND3R Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    1,054Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Yes, I am thinking of changing the pressure sensor and placing it in the brake caliper and in the slave cylinder. But I guess you have to place a piece similar to this

    M12 12x 1,5

    https://www.ebay.es/itm/304-Stainle...1-8in-NPT-Male-to-M12x1-5-Female/223961360374

    M10 10x1

    https://www.ebay.es/itm/Metrico-Ada...345536?hash=item2646215000:g:xsAAAOSw8w1X9gxa

    It is a kind of T in which it is connected to either the brake caliper or the slaver cylinder and here the pressure sensor and bleed plug would also be connected.
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2020
  15. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...)

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    266
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    2,016Coins
    Ratings:
    +141 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  16. 7HUND3R

    7HUND3R Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    1,054Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    But if you put that piece in the scalve cylinder, where do you connect the bleed plug?

    https://es.aliexpress.com/item/4000418308059.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.274263c08Yi8sA

    I have that model of slave cylinder and the bleed plug has it in the same connector where the hose connects.

    The brake caliper has the hose connector in one location and the bleed plug in another location.
  17. 7HUND3R

    7HUND3R Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    1,054Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Hello @Lebois, let me tell you.

    I think something is wrong with the design of the brake pedal lever. When I want to bleed (fill the brake fluid circuit) I have to disassemble the lever and press the master cylinder with my hand since the pedal lever does not fill the circuit well. If you press the master cylinder by hand, the circuit is well filled. 2 things can fail, either the part that holds the master cylinder or the pedal lever.
  18. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...)

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    266
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    2,016Coins
    Ratings:
    +141 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Well...it feels strange to me. In my opinion, the problem now with the bleeding procedure is that air bubbles can be stuck in the banjo bolt with pressure sensor... It will be solved if the pressure sensor is plugged in the brake calipper.

    Maybe the problem could come from the fact that the master cylinder isn't flat once in the support, but i don't think so.
  19. 7HUND3R

    7HUND3R Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    1,054Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    I think a quick request might be to put washers under the master cylinder bracket or under the KP001 to raise either the pedal or the master cylinder. It is that they do not coordinate well in a straight line between the pedal lever and the master cylinder bolt. When the brake pedal travel reaches 100%, the master cylinder bolt bends down a little.

    I have created 2 brackets for the brake caliper of the 1 piston and 4 piston model.

    I have to buy them.

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      29.3 KB
      Views:
      18
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      37 KB
      Views:
      17
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2020
  20. Lebois

    Lebois (maybe I am wrong, but who knows...)

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    266
    Occupation:
    Math teacher
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    2,016Coins
    Ratings:
    +141 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I already added a support for the 4 pistons, but thanks :)

    I don't think that it's a problem that it's not perfectly aligned, it's designed in order to work good this way.