1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom DIY 2DOF simulator

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Erwan960, Sep 27, 2013.

  1. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Balance:
    3,824Coins
    Ratings:
    +242 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    After a first phase of tests, many adjustments still need to be adjusted, I am very satisfied with the result !
    I feel rediscover my cockpit : reduced response time, sudden acceleration, engine never bother ...

    By exciting the system, I had this kind of response :
    [​IMG]

    Now I rather something like this :
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    In game :
    [​IMG]

    I also confirm that the cockpit is still when power is off : tested and approved !
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  2. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    yep, all looks good. and yes the gearboxes are good, very tight and heavy duty
  3. ace4042

    ace4042 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    544Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Awesome job! I think someone asked a month or so ago, but do you mind sharing what length your ujoint is cut to top to bottom? Thanks for the info. I am hoping to construct one similiar to yours.

    Ellis
  4. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Balance:
    3,824Coins
    Ratings:
    +242 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Thanks a lot.
    What is ujoint ? If you want to know how much I have between the two wood boards : 25 cm

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2014
  5. ace4042

    ace4042 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    544Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Perfect! That is exactly what I wanted to know! Thanks for that info.
  6. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    uni joint should be cut so pivot is at the top.
  7. ace4042

    ace4042 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    544Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Thanks bsft. I am sure I will have plenty more questions.
  8. Tech2123

    Tech2123 Tech2123

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Wa. USA
    Balance:
    257Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi, My set up is real close to this one, when I connect the pots to the motors same side as yours, when it goes to center, it just jitters up/down both side never gets stable, I have the POTS connected to motor shaft via a hole in shaft and some hot glue to keep it from moving at this time, if I remove pots, motors center and stable, I can move motor fast or real slow via pots, motors turn opposite of pot turning direction. ITS is acting like a dirty pot (there bran new 10k cermet liner taper)
    To best describe the jitter, is like the motor told to got center, but shoots past and then told to go back and shoots past and does this even with everything hooked up, as well.
    I have lowered and raised TOI no go,
    Any suggestion on this?
    Im using Aurduion Uno 3, Moto Monster, big gear motors like yours, car battery, laptop to control uno, pc to control games, game talks and works the motors as desired (until pots fully connected)
  9. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Balance:
    3,824Coins
    Ratings:
    +242 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Balance:
    3,824Coins
    Ratings:
    +242 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Quick overview of the new motor and easy connection between the motor shaft and the potentiometer.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  11. Tech2123

    Tech2123 Tech2123

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Wa. USA
    Balance:
    257Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Are you wiring the pots exactly the same other then the Signal wire? Ex: Red, Signal, Black: left side. Red, Signal2, Black: right side?
  12. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Balance:
    3,824Coins
    Ratings:
    +242 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Exactly the same. If not you can invert the feedback in the polulu software.
  13. doctorxeno

    doctorxeno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Balance:
    559Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    20131122_121124.jpg

    I use motion control motors as in the pic. Some people here say that they are weak. I do not agree.
    Also these motors can move very easily when powered off. Not that it matters to me.

    Soon I will post my project. Haven't done that yet because first I want to make a good video.

    greets Jeroen
  14. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My motors move with no power and again no problem
  15. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Balance:
    3,824Coins
    Ratings:
    +242 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The motors move when powered off... but not with the gearboxes ! It's not the case with mcp4 25:1...
  16. doctorxeno

    doctorxeno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Balance:
    559Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Strange... mine do
  17. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    is it a problem in game with motion?
  18. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Balance:
    3,824Coins
    Ratings:
    +242 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Small preview from the dynamic cockpit drived by SimTools. This is ProjectCARS on a triple screen configuration.
    • Like Like x 3
  19. ericRacer

    ericRacer You get old because you stop playing ! Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Occupation:
    Pilot
    Location:
    Canada, Quebec
    Balance:
    14Coins
    Ratings:
    +142 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    very nice and clean simulator ! :thumbs

    how is the difference with your now gearbox ?
    the change of direction is definitely better but accelerating, is it about the same ?

    Are there less backlach with metal gears ?

    @bsft I know before you ever advise of motors / gearbox with 180rpm (25: 1), and now you seem to consider 60: 1 GB. can you tell us how you think about that, if it's better?
    From my perspective, I still think it's better 180rpm (25: 1) for a seat mover but as soon as the weight is increased (platform) has to go to 60: 1 gearbox. What you think and what are your feeling after trying the two?
    Eric :)
  20. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    @ericRacer , I am not exactly advising people to use 50:1 or 60:1 over 25:1 gearboxes. It is when the weight, design of a simulator determines what is going to move it properly. And if more torque is needed, then yes 50, 60:1 is better.
    25:1 is the best for overall speed for sure, but if you are extra heavy , or the sim is heavy or not correctly designed, a higher torque gearbox is needed.