1. Do not share user accounts! Any account that is shared by another person will be blocked and closed. This means: we will close not only the account that is shared, but also the main account of the user who uses another person's account. We have the ability to detect account sharing, so please do not try to cheat the system. This action will take place on 04/18/2023. Read all forum rules.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom DIY 2DOF simulator

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Erwan960, Sep 27, 2013.

  1. wp8051

    wp8051 Racing simulator player Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    China
    Balance:
    244Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF

    Hello, thank you very much for your reply.

    I'm in China now, and I found a similar reducer shaft on the shopping website here.

    This shaft contains gaskets, circlips, and flat keys.

    If I process the rotating part according to the drawings you provided, and then buy a shaft of a reducer with a suitable size, can they be installed together?

    There are pictures of the kind of shaft I found in the attachment. There are many different models. Fortunately, there are threaded holes on the end of the shaft.

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      150.2 KB
      Views:
      340
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      73.8 KB
      Views:
      347
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      63.4 KB
      Views:
      332
    • 4.jpg
      4.jpg
      File size:
      233.1 KB
      Views:
      337
  2. cityparker

    cityparker Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Balance:
    125Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor
    Thanks for posting that, it will make setting up my own JrKs much easier. Something I need to get around to eventually as I want to use my Arduino on my next project.
  3. lttjun

    lttjun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    i 'm think about what will happen if a very very large man sit on it ? can it work nomal?
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 24, 2020
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    20,616
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    145,563Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,795 / 52 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  5. Abram Manoge

    Abram Manoge Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2021
    Messages:
    46
    Occupation:
    Web developer
    Location:
    South Africa
    Balance:
    319Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    What is the distance between the bottom board to the top board?
  6. cqcretador

    cqcretador New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2023
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    29Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi Erwan, how did you stabilize the simulator at 90°?
  7. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Balance:
    3,832Coins
    Ratings:
    +255 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Just use non-reversible reducers.

  8. sci666

    sci666 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2021
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,013Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    mhhh nice video but the monitor placement ..idk ..... very strange - half of the screen is concealed by the wheelbase and dash ....
  9. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Balance:
    3,832Coins
    Ratings:
    +255 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    A 43" screen placed for a perfect overlap with the steering wheel and dashboard.
    So, half of the screen is not concealed but in perfect position to match with reality.
    No need to shift it upwards to see a black roof that we already perceive widely.
  10. sci666

    sci666 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2021
    Messages:
    165
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,013Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yes but in this way you cover the original Onscreen gaugecluster with your wheelbase dash . This would not be my favorite... If I drive a specific car I Wanna see the original gauges... But when it's okay for you everything is fine
  11. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Balance:
    3,832Coins
    Ratings:
    +255 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Indeed, it was perfectly the objective to cover the original dashboard since it is the same on the M4 or the 296.