1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom DIY 2DOF simulator

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Erwan960, Sep 27, 2013.

  1. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Balance:
    3,819Coins
    Ratings:
    +242 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It is not perfectly aligned, but the gap is minimal compared to the schema.
    • Like Like x 1
  2. MotoGatto

    MotoGatto New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Torino
    Balance:
    368Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    It means for the first design ??
    the second is the angle to keep and what ?
    Thanks again !
  3. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Balance:
    3,819Coins
    Ratings:
    +242 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes for the first design.

    The second one is perfectly done.
    The vertical red line has to cut the blue segment in its center.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. MotoGatto

    MotoGatto New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Torino
    Balance:
    368Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    They had noticed it !!
    Meanwhile, I thank you because I have provided some good answers and you've been very kind !!
    thank you
  5. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Balance:
    3,819Coins
    Ratings:
    +242 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You are welcome. ;)
  6. cruzebabuze

    cruzebabuze Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    Messages:
    145
    Balance:
    245Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    wooh that looks real good,
    • Like Like x 2
  7. skano ca

    skano ca tH3 bR1igHt3st star 1n the c0nst3llat10n HydRa

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Occupation:
    engineer
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Balance:
    19Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    very nice rig. looks neat
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Jamburglar

    Jamburglar Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Occupation:
    Controls Engineer / Software Engineer
    Location:
    Michigan
    Balance:
    149Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    Awesome job. I think this rig may have saved me some headache. I was thinking of doing a 6dof for my first rig and watching your videos showed me I can get the effects I want with two dof. Thanks a lot!
    • Like Like x 1
  9. ilbiga

    ilbiga Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    223
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    294Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Lavoro semplicemente superbo! Leggendo il post ho notato che sui monitor è presente una telecamera per Oculus Rift DK 2. Qual'è la tua impressione d'uso dell'Oculus al posto dei monitor con il simulatore? Grazie.


    Simply superb job! Reading the post I view the positional camera for the Oculus Rift DK2. What is your impression of dell'Oculus use instead of a monitor with your sim? Thank you.
  10. ilbiga

    ilbiga Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    223
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    294Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Un'altra domanda: se non ho capito male, alla fine hai installato:
    2 x 90ZYT-199-12-1500-F90-D11
    2 x Worm Drive Gearbox to Suit Industrial motors 60:1
    E' corretto? Potresti gentilmente postare il link per acquistarli?
    Grazie.

    Another question : If I understand it , in the end you have installed :
    2 x 90ZYT-199-12-1500-F90-D11
    2 x Worm Drive Gearbox to Suit Industrial motors 60:1
    It's correct? Could you please post the link to buy them ? Thank you.
  11. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Balance:
    3,819Coins
    Ratings:
    +242 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. ilbiga

    ilbiga Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    223
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    294Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Grazie per l'informazione!
    Modello n° 11, giusto? 64 RPM and 30 nM? E' corretto?
    Se non ho capito male, su questo modello è possibile scegliere direttamente il motoriduttore 60:1.
    Grazie ancora


    Thanks for the information!
    Model n° 11, right? 64 RPM and 30 nM? It's correct?
    If I understand it, on this model you can directly choose the gearbox 60:1 .
    Thanks again
  13. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Balance:
    3,819Coins
    Ratings:
    +242 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I'm using #15 3200 rpm / 60:1 but #11 3200 rpm / 50:1 works fine to.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  14. ilbiga

    ilbiga Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    223
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    294Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Grande notizia (e prezzo :'( ...). :D
    Un'ultima domanda: perché hai utilizzato 12v e non 24V? Le correnti non sono troppo alte?

    Great news (and price :'( ... ). :D
    One last question: why did you use 12V and not 24V? The currents are not too high?
  15. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Balance:
    3,819Coins
    Ratings:
    +242 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Because I owned two of them and I wanted to use JRK 12V12.
    I set the JRK not to exceed a peak current of 30A.
    • Like Like x 2
  16. ilbiga

    ilbiga Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    223
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    294Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Perfetto!
    Io uso Sabertooth 2x25A. Credo che prenderò il modello n° 16 a 24V.
    Grazie ed ancora complimenti per il tuo fantastico lavoro! :grin


    Perfect!
    I use Sabertooth 2x25A. I think I'll take the model n° 16 at 24V .
    Thank you and congratulations again for your great work! :grin
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Casey Pareni

    Casey Pareni MasterP

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Occupation:
    Firefighter
    Location:
    Arizona
    Balance:
    262Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    This was the project that got my friend and I excited about doing our first simulator. Of all the awesome and over the top sims Ive seen here this one is still my favorite. I really love all of your sims.
    • Like Like x 1
  18. ilbiga

    ilbiga Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    223
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    294Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Ciao Erwan960, una domanda: i motori che utilizzi (modello #15 3200 rpm / 60:1) sono isolati o sono necessarie modifiche per scollegare la massa dal case esterno?
    Grazie

    Hello Erwan960, a question: the engines you are using (model #15 3200 rpm / 60:1) are isolated or changes are necessary to remove the mass from the external case?
    Thank you
  19. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Balance:
    3,819Coins
    Ratings:
    +242 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    No change is needed. They are ready to be used :)
  20. ilbiga

    ilbiga Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    223
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    294Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Ottimo! Grazie! ;)

    Great! Thanks! ;)
    • Like Like x 1