1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom DIY 2DOF simulator

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Erwan960, Sep 27, 2013.

  1. Mo165

    Mo165 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    76Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    Very cool Sim!

    Your work inspired me;)
    • Like Like x 1
  2. MiNeM

    MiNeM ..........

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Occupation:
    Self Employed
    Location:
    Johannesburg
    Balance:
    269Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Very nice...
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,371 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    @Erwan960 - Would you be able to post / mind sharing the dimensions of your simulator? I like the middle ground between ultra compact and full frame and I have the chance to get some T-Slot Alu Profile and want to check I will have enough to make a similar frame...

    Just Length and Width will be fine as I will likely change the heights to suit, but if you do have all the dimensions, even better.

    Also, what profile sizes did you use 30x30? 20x40?

    Thank you.
    • Like Like x 2
  4. hunter03

    hunter03 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    436Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    join previous message.
    20x20?
    30x30 or 40x40?
  5. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Balance:
    3,819Coins
    Ratings:
    +242 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I used 40x40 and 80x40 for the Wheel and speakers support.
    It is really strong !

    The global dimensions are : 78 cm x 140 cm
    The dimensions of the rig only are : 78cm x 120 cm
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,371 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Thank you :thumbs
    • Like Like x 1
  7. hunter03

    hunter03 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    436Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    thank you so much. helped define.
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Dusko Dogandzic

    Dusko Dogandzic New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    422Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    amazing project
    • Like Like x 1
  9. ho123

    ho123 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    belgium
    Balance:
    174Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    nice work!!!
    • Like Like x 1
  10. michto35

    michto35 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    118Coins
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Salut Erwan,

    Félicitations pour ton simu il déchire :thumbs
    Je voulais demandé des renseignements sur le prix des moteurs que tu as acheté, plus précisément du réducteur.
    Donc je voudrais contacter le site ou tu t'es fourni, mais sur le PDF des réducteurs je peux voir quand on commande il y a des options 5 au totales.
    Je te parle de la ligne qui site comme exemple ZYT80 147 24 MCP4 25:1 AD DR MRB EC CS##

    Pour la config de tes moteurs je pense que ça devrait ressembler ZYT90 155 24 MCP4 60:1.
    Mon problème est que je ne comprend pas ce que veulent dire les initiales en fonction des options, lequel à tu choisi?


    Merci à toi des renseignements
  11. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Balance:
    3,819Coins
    Ratings:
    +242 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Pour les moteurs, ce sont des ZYT90-155 (90 mm de diamètre et 155 mm en longueur).
    Ensuite ce sont des moteurs 12 V (qui peuvent aussi tourner en 24V) équipés d'un réducteur de type MCP4 avec un rapport de réduction de 60:1.

    J'ai testé les réducteurs de 60:1, 50:1 et 25:1. Les deux premiers sont irréversibles, ce qui permet de stabiliser ton châssis lorsque les moteurs ne sont pas alimentés (tu peux monter dessus, rien ne bouge).
    Par contre avec des réducteurs de 25:1, la plateforme n'est pas stable à l'arrêt. Et selon la position des moteurs, le châssis peut s'affaisser lorsque tu prends place dans le siège.

    Si ça t'intéresse, il me reste 2 réducteurs MCP4 50:1 (avec roue dentée métallique, gage de qualité) et 2 excentreurs découpés au laser. Il suffit d'ajouter une clavette pour les assembler (je n'en ai plus, il faut donc les faire ou les acheter).
    Au niveau des moteurs, il ne me reste que des ZYT90-199, trop puissants pour être pilotés par des JRK12V12.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  12. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Balance:
    3,819Coins
    Ratings:
    +242 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    This morning, one of my motors stopped working. I first thought it was a failure of the power supply. But I changed it without success.
    After a few seconds, white smoke came out of the main chip of JRK. The JRK is still recognized by USB but when powered it burns !
    The JRK was equipped with a heat sink and was well ventilated. A blistering is visible on the chip.

    [​IMG]

    I contacted Pololu support to know what they advised me to do. The JRK is still under warranty ... I am waiting for their answer.
    The coming days may be long without cockpit ! :-(
    • Like Like x 1
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,975
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    104,987Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,681 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Prior to changing the PSU were there any error messages that would indicate something going wrong?

    Do you have fuses as part of your wiring circuit?
  14. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Balance:
    3,819Coins
    Ratings:
    +242 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    No error message and no fuse burnt (no short-circuited).
    I also set a maximum current level (30 A) and it has not been exceeded (No "max current exceed" error when I had the problem).
    The motor works fine when I power it directly.

    I really don't understand why the JRK burnt (only one of the two).
  15. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,975
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    104,987Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,681 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It is highly unusual. I could understand it if there was no cooling fan but it is odd for a JRK to just give up the ghost with no contributing factors.
  16. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Balance:
    3,819Coins
    Ratings:
    +242 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    That's the reason why I contacted Pololu to try to see more clearly... Anyway thank you for your advice.
    This is how the JRK and the power supplies are cooled : one 120 mm fan per JRK and one 140 mm fan for the power supplies.

    [​IMG]
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,975
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    104,987Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,681 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Plenty of cooling there...I have a single 120mm fan cooling 3 JRKs and even that works fine.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  18. michto35

    michto35 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    118Coins
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Merci de tes renseignement.
    Je voudrais créer l'effet yaw, vend tu tes moteurs à l unité?
    Quelle serais ton prix?
    A bientot


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Thank you for your information.
    I would create the yaw effect, you sell your motor to unity?
    What would be your price?
    See you soon
  19. Erwan960

    Erwan960 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Messages:
    133
    Balance:
    3,819Coins
    Ratings:
    +242 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Voici le moteur en question. J'en ai 2 à disposition, neufs.

    Référence
    - 90ZYT-199-12

    Principales caractéristiques
    - 1.2 Nm en sortie d'axe
    - 1500 tours/min sous 12V
    - 3000 tours/min sous 24V
    - Format IEC 63B14
    - Arbre de sortie diamètre 11m à clavette

    Je les ai payés 100 € pièce et je peux les revendre à l'unité sans problème. Fais moi une offre par MP. Si elle est raisonnable, le moteur est à toi.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  20. josemanuelrm26

    josemanuelrm26 my 2dof

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    valencia
    Balance:
    93Coins
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    really great professional work.
    Congratulations. my simulator to see if I do work and then do it again pretty
    • Like Like x 1