1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom DIY 2DOF made mostly of scrapyard parts and "top quality electronics™"

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Azel, May 23, 2017.

  1. Azel

    Azel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    - 58Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hello,
    after wayyy more problems than expected I've managed to finish my 2DOF "scrappy".

    As most of metal parts and engines come from scrapyard I didn't expect everything to go smooth and oh - was I right... at least partially - in the end most of scrapyard things were totally fine, only "fresh & new top quality MM cheap china!" turned out to be one giant mess :)

    Beginning - the welding and "it was supposed to be straight" phase
    1.jpg

    2.jpg

    Painting phase
    3.jpg

    "This goes here.. or not here. Maybe here?"
    4.jpg

    Final assembly
    6.jpg

    Finished :D!
    7.JPG


    At first due to case failure of one motor I had to switch it for different one - so here we go, 2DOF on two different motors as I wasn't able to find pair of working ones :D And... it works.

    So everything was working fine, my arduino + top quality™ motomonster were working flawlessly... for first 3 minutes then entire thing started to dive. Turns out one of the chips was broken. Happens. So I ordered another one, this time from "more expensive best quality shop™". And you guess it right. This one also came borked.
    And here i am - with 2 motomonsters, both with one working and one broken chip and scrappy being very stable 2DoF notmotion platform.
    So... instead of ordering yet another top quality™ motomonster I decided to try to use those 2 partially working MM at once.

    Spaghetti
    8 spagetti.JPG

    And... again it works :D! Although it looks like spaghetti. To make it work just connect both mm the same way they are supposed to be connected to arduino. Just may have to swap motor cables if your working chips are both 1s or 2s.

    So only thing missing is pot mounting. Hmm. This just begs to be 3d printed.
    <2 months later after parts for 3d printer arrived and I've built it and learned to use it properly>

    Finally, time to attach those pots!
    9.JPG

    Seems to work properly, pot still alive :)
    potsaver.JPG

    Yay! Time to connect wheel and drive! Hmm where is this smell coming from.
    Abort D: !

    <sometime later after isolating 2nd engine and G27>

    Finally, the moment has come!


    Scrappy is alive.

    If anyone is interested in 3d printed files I included them in attachements.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 8
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2017
  2. 1oldbiker

    1oldbiker Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    67
    Balance:
    209Coins
    Ratings:
    +36 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Good job, keep hitting the scrap yards. You will find a suitable motor.
  3. Azel

    Azel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    - 58Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    I may give it a shot one day, but so far current setup works fine - seems both engines have similiar specs :)
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,642
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    90,628Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,632 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  5. Azel

    Azel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    - 58Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Indeed - it was reversed, must have forgotten to check settings after engaging "dual MM same chip working" spaghetti cable management :). Thanks for pointing it out.
  6. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,741
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,831Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,450 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Tip for ya, Go through EACH individual force One by one, its the ONLY way to ensure your axis are correct.
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  7. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,620
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    11,755Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,418 / 29 / -1
    ™ lol.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  8. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,001
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    25,131Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,335 / 20 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Look, I run MMs on my 6DOF, which have worked fine so far, but the pain I went through to get 12 reliable sets, add cooling and regenerative measures :mad:. This needs to be a sticky - If you want to keep your hair and sanity - don't use Chinese made MMs (even the slightly dearer ones come from China) use a set of Sabertooth 2x32 or 2 x 60 !!!!! If I was building my rig again that is what I would do. The Sabertooths may be more expensive initially, but come with their own cooling system :thumbs and are designed to handle the regenerative issue of driving big DC motors. So in the long run will likely be a much better investment and will not trip out from overheating or regenerative problems. Just do it! Also while I'm at it - LED power supplies for the win for big DC motors.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  9. matthew loomis

    matthew loomis Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    rochester,ny
    Balance:
    440Coins
    Ratings:
    +80 / 0 / -0
    I have been checking for freebies myself. Got 2 24 volt wheelchair motors and some of those fancy rod ends today. Have some exercise equipment for frames. Id like to see how you have started
  10. Azel

    Azel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    - 58Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Our scrapyards aren't free, just pretty cheap :)
    Unfortunately I haven't been doing photos at 'collecting' phase. Earliest photos I've made are the ones in the beginning of opening post.
  11. Kranky Pantz

    Kranky Pantz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Messages:
    144
    Balance:
    968Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    I'm considering using LED lighting power supplies for my build as well.
    Currently using a couple for other projects (3D printer & audio amps for SimVibe) and they are holding up well.
    Thinking about using a pair of 12v 30A (or 40A), one for each PGsaw 25:1 and their relative JRK's/components.

    How are yours holding up vs the typical PC/Server PS's a lot of folks tend to use?
  12. ferslash

    ferslash Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Balance:
    4,506Coins
    Ratings:
    +164 / 2 / -0
    if they can give you the amperage, you are just fine! (i used small psu, and after a long time of having troubles) (the jrk disconected again and again) i found that it was the psu (but it was an small one, not a server psu)