1. Do not share user accounts! Any account that is shared by another person will be blocked and closed. This means: we will close not only the account that is shared, but also the main account of the user who uses another person's account. We have the ability to detect account sharing, so please do not try to cheat the system. This action will take place on 04/18/2023. Read all forum rules.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Cytron 2DOF sim w/tloss

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by 90kgOver300m, Apr 18, 2023.

  1. 90kgOver300m

    90kgOver300m Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2023
    Messages:
    43
    Occupation:
    Maintenance technician
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    263Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    Hi all.

    I'm planning on starting my first motion rig soon, this is my first post where I will describe my spec / plan. Due to this being my first rig, any comments and considerations of my design that I may have overlooked will be greatly appreciated.

    Spec as follows:
    3x 24V 480W 20A LED PSU's
    3x 24V 250W 75rpm wheelchair motors 23:1 worm-gear (which I calculate to be about 30Nm and a constant current of 10A)
    3x 5V 180 degree, 10k hall sensors
    3x 6V - 30V 20A Cytron single channel motor controllers
    1x Ardunio Uno Rev3

    The fabrication of the rig will be mainly using 30 x 30 x 3mm mild steel box section and angle iron, with 75mm of adjustment vertically and horizontally on the wheel, with about 200mm of adjustment on the seat with sliding rails. Pedals will be fixed.
    The 2DOF motor linkage will be mounted at about shoulder height.
    All peripherals will be mounted to the motion platform, with exception of monitors.

    Blame's modified Cytron code will be used in the SMC3 software.

    Finally I have a few questions if anyone is able to help :)

    I've seen posts about regenerative current causing issues with PSU's and motor controllers. I'm hoping that by giving my PSU's 230W of headroom I can avoid the use of batteries in parallel to keep the control box footprint down, is this true or will I still need batteries?

    Will the Arduino power be enough to power my 3 hall sensors?

    I would finally like to thank everyone for the knowledge shared across the forum and the FAQ section, I wouldn't have known where to start without it.
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    20,691
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    146,008Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,807 / 52 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The amount of power spikes in fast reversals is hard to predict, given there are a range of variables involved. Personally I use 3 x 600w PSUs.

    Hall sensors don't have significant power requirements, via the Arduino will be fine.
    • Useful Useful x 1
  3. 90kgOver300m

    90kgOver300m Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2023
    Messages:
    43
    Occupation:
    Maintenance technician
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    263Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    Ideal, less cables, and have you ever had any issues running with them psu's?
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    20,691
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    146,008Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,807 / 52 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    No, the PSUs have been fine, despite considerable loads.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. 90kgOver300m

    90kgOver300m Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2023
    Messages:
    43
    Occupation:
    Maintenance technician
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    263Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    Back from holiday and finally have everything I need to make a start. Few bits left to make / order but will cross that hurdle when I get to it.

    Fabricating seat frame and mounting it to seat brackets and sliding rail
    20230518_185417.jpg

    20230519_111617.jpg

    Main section of cockpit frame, which wheel frame and pedal frame will attach to.
    20230519_124822.jpg

    20230519_152910.jpg

    20230519_153901.jpg

    Hoping to find some dimensions online for the pedals I'll be ordering, so I can possibly make a template and work out the pedal frame.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: May 23, 2023
  6. 90kgOver300m

    90kgOver300m Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2023
    Messages:
    43
    Occupation:
    Maintenance technician
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    263Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    Turned some adaptor pieces to attach motor shafts to hall sensors

    20230522_194936.jpg

    20230522_195502.jpg

    Also more progress on the cockpit frame, found some dimensions for pedals and made a template out of cardboard

    20230522_194424.jpg

    Then metal

    20230523_135313.jpg

    20230523_144733.jpg

    20230523_150408.jpg

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
  7. 90kgOver300m

    90kgOver300m Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2023
    Messages:
    43
    Occupation:
    Maintenance technician
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    263Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    Made the wheel bracket, cockpit almost done just pedals to mount next

    20230525_194219.jpg

    20230526_093219.jpg

    20230526_100158.jpg
    • Like Like x 2
  8. 90kgOver300m

    90kgOver300m Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2023
    Messages:
    43
    Occupation:
    Maintenance technician
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    263Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    Got the pedals mounted then couldn't wait to try the cockpit alone while waiting for some parts, back in pieces now.

    20230531_141511.jpg

    20230620_163741.jpg

    20230620_212341.jpg

    20230620_203054.jpg

    20230620_213014.jpg

    20230620_133106.jpg

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
  9. 90kgOver300m

    90kgOver300m Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2023
    Messages:
    43
    Occupation:
    Maintenance technician
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    263Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    Finished the construction, now waiting on PSU's.

    Seen a few posts about people making hard stops for when the rig is stationary with wormgear ratios less than 50:1, is this purely just for ease of getting in and out? Or will the smc3 software lose its reference on the hall sensors if powered down and moved?

    20230621_173552.jpg

    20230626_182508.jpg

    20230627_170008.jpg

    20230627_170000.jpg

    20230628_194248.jpg

    20230628_194837.jpg

    20230705_165656.jpg

    20230705_174903.jpg

    20230707_104740.jpg

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    20,691
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    146,008Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,807 / 52 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    If the rig is properly balanced, stops are generally about ease of getting in and out, but I would not suggest adding them until the rig is fully sorted and tested, just in case you have an unexpected runaway situation, as that can cause damage if there are hard stops.
  11. 90kgOver300m

    90kgOver300m Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2023
    Messages:
    43
    Occupation:
    Maintenance technician
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    263Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    Thanks for the reply, apologies for my bad description but I meant more of some sort of hinged stop or pin that folds completely out the way, not a physical hard stop for the rotation of motors. I won't mind the rig moving about when getting in / out as long as when powered up it retains its correct home / level position.
  12. 90kgOver300m

    90kgOver300m Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2023
    Messages:
    43
    Occupation:
    Maintenance technician
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    263Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    It's finally alive, very happy with how it feels and motion is even more agressive than I expected.

    Haven't connected up the traction less yet, it's ready but the roller wheels have flats on them so require an upgrade before using.

    At slower speeds when accelerating / braking, the motion is too much and feels like it's vibrating, anyone have any tips on how to reduce this? I'm assuming its my SIMTOOLS settings.

    1st test video:

    v=SPLsYQIY1yw&ab_channel=Aaron

    My current SIMTOOLS settings:

    SIMTOOLS CAP.PNG