1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

CXC Kart racing simulator

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by bsft, Nov 24, 2013.

  1. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    This got my attention,

    • Like Like x 3
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    20,041Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,663 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Nice setup, not much of a range of movement.
  4. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    yes, well they do use Dbox actuator, but hey, it gives me an idea if I can get my hands on an old gokart frame.
  5. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    20,041Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,663 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Not a silly idea, good one.
  6. hooshang

    hooshang Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    263
    Balance:
    232Coins
    Ratings:
    +151 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Nice idea and good to community have a chance an experienced member do this job,wait to see the perfect motion:thumbs
    But because of the size and many sharp turn in karting ,seems Need to concern more
    G force by speed and range of movement
    Regards
    hooshang
    • Like Like x 1
  7. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    it could be made into a boneshaker, a 2DOF pivot based would be relatively easy. 4Dof = 4 motors/actuators, would give a bit more realistic movement maybe, but at considerable cost more.
  8. RaceRay

    RaceRay Administrator Staff Member SimAxe Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,652
    Occupation:
    Self-employed | Web and application development
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Balance:
    24,965Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,655 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, SimAxe, SimforceGT
    Nice setup but not funny to play with the rift and not seeing the own hand to use the shifter. Anyone knows where to purchase the d-box actuators, are they sold separately?
  9. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Id like to know as well, I know of another forum where a member bought 2nd hand dbox actuators, but he is not willing to give out the contact details.
    I suspect that CXC may have struck a deal considering both are commercial dealers.
  10. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    20,041Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,663 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Still will requires the dbox controller seen in the video on the shelf on the right. That's the expensive bit. I sent them an email on supply of a DIY system, got a "We don't offer one".
    • Like Like x 1
  11. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,185
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    16,268Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,836 / 32 / -1
    As DIY'ers I don't know why anyone would want to use Dbox actuators. When you consider the cost vs. specs of the actuators, it's a no brainer. They will lift 250 or 400 pounds depending on the model, but they both only have 35mm of travel. Have a look for yourself.

    http://www.d-box.com/en/business/technology_products
    • Like Like x 2
  12. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    20,041Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,663 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    I be stuffed, thanks for the correction it was a while ago I had asked them about it.
    Yep laughable on the 35mm of travel.
  13. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Well f.... me , at last a contact to find out how much the suckers are.
    Thanks for that.
  14. Ministrinity

    Ministrinity Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Occupation:
    Film VFX Artist
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Balance:
    811Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    The price is about 6k for 2 actuators, 8k for 3 actuator and 11k for 4actuator. And despite the 35mm of travel, the d-box gives a whole range of sensations from tactile transducer type vibrations, to nice big curb oscillations.
    The price is ridiculous. But i guess, the motion code is pretty advance and most of what you pay for are in the software and their patent. I managed to get a secondhand 2 dof at a steal from an iracing member.


    [​IMG]


    If you guys are in Sydney, you can pm me and drop by to try my setup. In return, any of you guys know how to potentially programme an arduino to control PC fans to the speed in game with sim tools? So far I only manage to get it working with this tutorial, i could only get it working with iracing and his small c++ app. Would like to get asetto corsa working

    http://fergotech.net/diy-wind-simulation/
    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2013
  15. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Im in Sydney and have sent you a PM. You have a nice setup, looks like a g-seat as well as 2DOF.
  16. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,014
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    10,050Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,960 / 14 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    RaceingMat has an Arduino code for 3DoF and wind control. I am using it for 2DoF on my platform but I am thinking of testing it out for wind as well. I do a lot more flight simming than driving so it would be pretty cool (pun intended) in an open cockpit plane.
  17. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,185
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    16,268Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,836 / 32 / -1
    I implemented a fan on top of my monitor for my rig right after I got the motion part figured out. It really doesn't matter to me whether it's used in an open cockpit or not! It gives a sense of speed regardless of the reality of wind in your face so I always use it! I also have implemented a feature I call, "Air Comfort". After about a 10 second delay, if there is not any motion from a game, it will turn my fan on to a preset but adjustable speed. It's a nice feature especially during the warmer periods of the year to keep the driver comfortable between races.

    If I didn't live half way around the world I would take you up on your offer to stop by to check it out! Even though I know members on this site could implement the same motion as d-box does at a substantially reduced cost, it would be nice to feel exactly how good the motion actually is (or isn't). Thanks for offering though!
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2013
  18. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,185
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    16,268Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,836 / 32 / -1
    @bsft Hey Mate! It would be fantastic if you could go check this out for the rest of us and let us know what you think of a d-box setup! I trust your opinion completely!
  19. Ministrinity

    Ministrinity Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Occupation:
    Film VFX Artist
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Balance:
    811Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hi BlazinH,

    Would you by any chance have some documentation about how you implemented your wind system? Would really like to make my setup like yours. Escpecially now summer is here in aussieland! I've also contacted RaceingMat aka Matthieu from France and he says he will dedicate his weekend to try to sort me out. And once I get this working, I will also make a tutorial post on how to get this working for the rest of us interested.
  20. Ministrinity

    Ministrinity Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Occupation:
    Film VFX Artist
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Balance:
    811Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hi Historiker,
    I downloaded the wind code from RaceingMat and it seems like theres some error in the arduino code which doesn't allow me to upload the code to the arduino. Would you mind sharing your code with me so I can test it out?

    Thanks!
  21. Ministrinity

    Ministrinity Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2013
    Messages:
    61
    Occupation:
    Film VFX Artist
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Balance:
    811Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Coming next week to test it out. :)

    I've posted this on iracing once. posting it here again for non iracing members.


    Hi guys,

    Thanks to Mauro A Cavassana for selling me his d-box setup at a steal. I've just recently updated my rig with a 2 actuator d-box system.Also moved places and got the chance to do it right this time with less cable clutter. I initially wanted to move the whole rig with the 2 actuators but figured it seems like it's more effort than it's worth to move the whole Obutto r3volution rig. So inspired by ARC's 2 actuator setup I saw they used 8020 to very easily mount everything up. I've also been able to reuse many of the obutto r3v parts like shifter mounts and keyboard mounts with the 8020. Even though with the Obutto Keyboard table, the d-box works fine but i'd prefer not to have a wobbly table swinging around with motion. So when I need to work on this machine or play FPS games, I can just slide back in the keyboard table.

    [​IMG]


    The entire rig is sitting on anti vibration mats generously given by Ben Darley, which he got from Phillip Berry, so my neighbour downstairs doesn't feel the d-box and buttkicker rumble... hopefully.

    I opted for a seat only motion setup as it's the easiest for me to get it all working. Also , the d-box system is keeping my sim rig footprint a lot smaller than if I had gone with a frex type motion. I figured if simXperience seat only motion works for a lot of people, i don't see why d-box motion and vibrations would make it any different. And since, i was used to GS-4 being a seat only motion feedback system it's shouldn't be too weird for me. It works for me really well if anyone is thinking of this kind a setup.

    The GS-4 motion ques have to be fine tuned to give more of the sustained g-forces rather than bumps and road texture before it will feel right and compliment the D-box's violent motion at stock settings. Most of the subtle gs-4 ques can get lost with d-box motion. But off the bat, I'm very impressed with d-box motion. Whilst the d-box gives the jerky directional ques, the gs-4 will then bring those ques further by sustaining the pressure and I kinda believe I'm actually feeling g-forces. All these sensations are heightened with the accurate road feel that d-box provides. Like when I go on to curbs. i could feel the side on which the curbs causes the seat to not vibrate, but oscillate in a larger frequency. (if you know what I mean) but still I could almost feel the grip I get when attacking curbs or the lack of grip when a wheel lands grass. I was able to catch some of my slides surprisingly in iracing. Project Cars has a much better motion code compared to iracing, which despite the sub par physics, it now makes the game a lot of fun to drive.

    The GS-4 makes a lot of noise compared to the D-box. In comparison, the d-box actuators are virtually silent. Only noise are coming out from the rattling of my shifter when the car is idle. Overall, i'm really enjoying this combination, although some of my friends think the GS-4 is throwing them off in terms of what the car is doing. My next experiment is to just tune the GS-4 so i only get the rear traction loss sensation and left right forces. Would love to know what you guys think might work.

    I've yet to install my quick release system as I'm waiting for some adaptors to be fabricated for the roso wheel. But the extra wheels would be awesome to experience on the ECCI wheel when it's done.

    Now to go try out d-box on asetto corsa. Motion code just released today. Will give my impressions on that. :)
    Do pardon the guitar stuff in the corner. Wife demands i put all the geeky gadgets in one corner of the lounge room.

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]



    PC Specs: Mini ITX silverstone sg08 / Intel i5 2500k /16gb ddr2 Ram / GTX 690 watercooled Graphics Card / Triple 27" screens at 7860x1440 / Ecci 7000 ffb wheel / Tilton Hydraulic Pedals / SimXperience GS-4 / D-box 2250i 2 Actuator Motion/ Roso F1 wheel / 4 buttkicker gamer / ARC Sequential shifter / Th8rs shifter/ Sim Hardware Monsta SLI/ Simwind Fans / Astro A40 headphones