1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Cousin of OSW (Open Sim Wheel)

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Gadget999, Sep 23, 2017.

  1. Fernando Igor

    Fernando Igor Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Fortaleza, Brazil
    Balance:
    856Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    The ESP_WHEEL_03 code is available here
    http://www.aiwave.fr/downloads/ESP_WHEEL_0.3.zip

    In the version im working on now its working on rF2, but its "quick fix". But before, want to solve the limited number of buttons (problem in HID descriptor, block of axes and buttons is limited to 64 bits) and implement some other things like H-shifter ...

    https://github.com/fernandoigor/BRWheel/tree/alphatest

    This weekend mounted a protitype board (universal PCB), and i have no more problems with noise or faulty wiring. I will soon take some photos and create a post :)
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. danove_b

    danove_b Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    1,452Coins
    Ratings:
    +69 / 3 / -0
    Sounds great that you solved the rfactor2 issue, but because I'm only prefer rfactor2 I think I will continue with the API solution that have many benefits. For example I have already implemented so I can change the max rotation on the fly by sending the info from rfactor2.
  3. Pat Carter

    Pat Carter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    192Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Would a helical or planetary geared motor work without the backlash that is in a regular geared setup?
  4. danove_b

    danove_b Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    1,452Coins
    Ratings:
    +69 / 3 / -0
    The biggest reason for me to build a DD wheel, wasn't so much about more torque. I'm a 100% rfactor2 user, and sometime when you lock your brakes and get a brake plate in rfactor2, the vibrations from the tires make a rattling sound in the G27 that's very annoying. I assume you will get some similar problem with any gear solution. I have used the wheel a couple of hours in rfactor2 this weekend, and I must say I'm very satisfied. The "cogging" isn't a issue at all when you drive, and the detail in the ffb is something i never felt before. The motor went quite hot after a hour, so I quick mounted a fan also. On Friday night I did some measurements and tests, and realized that there are no need for current loop or linear manipulation. Did some simple test with a current loop with the leonardo, and was surprised of that it actually worked quite well. Didn't think it would be fast enough for that. I did a more precise check of the torque, and just confirmed again that the torque is proportional to the current. I measured 4.8 Nm at 55A. The motor data says 3.2 Nm at 35.6 A. 55/35.6 * 3.2 = 4.94!

    Some pictures:
    https://photos.app.goo.gl/qQyEeWepLB5U0Dw02
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Fernando Igor

    Fernando Igor Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Fortaleza, Brazil
    Balance:
    856Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Is there noise with gears, but pulleys? Fanatec uses pulleys and looks good.
  6. Pat Carter

    Pat Carter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    192Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    This seems to be an interesting board that would seem to provide a level between DC brushed DD wheels and a full OSW.

    Any thoughts?

    Google office robotics as I don't have the posts yet.
  7. Pat Carter

    Pat Carter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    192Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Odrive robotics even. Damn autocorrect.
  8. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    684
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    5,403Coins
    Ratings:
    +142 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Yes it might be a good solution do you have a link to the motor ?
  9. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    684
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    5,403Coins
    Ratings:
    +142 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    The odrive website looks interesting

    https://odriverobotics.com/shop

    The 3 phase brushless motor is 1.6kw !

    Has anyone tried to build a dd wheel with a brushless motor

    What is the stall torque of that motor ?
  10. Alexey

    Alexey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    455
    Occupation:
    Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    7,940Coins
    Ratings:
    +607 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Pretty much the same thing as a MIGE only it's an AC brushless motor.
  11. Pat Carter

    Pat Carter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    192Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  12. Pat Carter

    Pat Carter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    192Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  13. Pat Carter

    Pat Carter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    192Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  14. Pat Carter

    Pat Carter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    192Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    This could be an idea. Electric bicycle hub motors, prices from $70 - $200ish, torque figures seem to range from 6Nm to 45Nm.
  15. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    684
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    5,403Coins
    Ratings:
    +142 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    the more i look at starter motors the more i think one is suitable for a sim wheel, they have excellent stall torque

    available with and without a reduction gearbox

    i think the next wheel i build, a starter motor may be worth looking at

    (they may also be suitable for the sim motors too)
  16. danove_b

    danove_b Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    1,452Coins
    Ratings:
    +69 / 3 / -0
    I thought about that too, but the biggest problem is that they have no real bearings. A old DC generator from an VW type 1 has skewed rotor and electrical magnets...
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    684
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    5,403Coins
    Ratings:
    +142 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    do you think it matters about the bearings ? the motor will never be rotating like it was in the original use

    is the dc vw generator a dynamo ?
  18. Alexey

    Alexey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    455
    Occupation:
    Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    7,940Coins
    Ratings:
    +607 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    A starter motor will either fry your motor driver or fry itself as its winding insulation is too thin and wire gauge too thin for the 100+ amps that it will pull.
    They were only ever designed to run for short bursts.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  19. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,393
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,053Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,698 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yep, there is a good reason why you don't see anyone using a car starter motor to drive a sim ;).
  20. danove_b

    danove_b Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    1,452Coins
    Ratings:
    +69 / 3 / -0
    Yes.