1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Cousin of OSW (Open Sim Wheel)

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Gadget999, Sep 23, 2017.

  1. keshan

    keshan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    67Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor
    I was wondering if my1020 brushless motor is a better or worse choice as a DD wheel motor? Thanks.
  2. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,211
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,196Coins
    Ratings:
    +269 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I am not sure you will get a smooth feeling with a brushless motor

    Try it out and see if it works

    What will you use for the motor driver ?
  3. keshan

    keshan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    67Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor
    I am planning to use 3 x IBT-2
  4. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,211
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,196Coins
    Ratings:
    +269 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    They are for dc motors not brushless motors
  5. keshan

    keshan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    67Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor
    I am confused, the brushless MY1020 is also a DC motor, no?
  6. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,211
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,196Coins
    Ratings:
    +269 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    A brushless motor normally has 3 sets of coils and a special driver to run them 3 lives and an earth

    A dc brushed motor has only a positive and negative
  7. fymucgje18

    fymucgje18 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Balance:
    12Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, SCN5, SCN6, SimAxe, Arduino, JRK, Joyrider, SimforceGT, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    [QUOTE =“ Gadget999,post:141123,member:20168”]所以今天我开始了一个预算Direct Drive轮项目 :)

    所有这些都是我组装的零件制成的,所以我一点也不花钱!

    零件清单
    280W 24V DC电动机(通过电动卡丁车)(毕竟可能是3 50w电动机)
    IBT-2 h桥控制器
    Arduino的兆丰
    360 p / r轴编码器
    方向盘(来自电动卡丁车)

    我已经将车轮连接到电动机,并钻出了电动机的背面以安装轴编码器

    希望明天将其连接起来并尝试一下

    下一个工作是找到一些arduino代码可以重新进行编程[/ QUOTE]
  8. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,211
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,196Coins
    Ratings:
    +269 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Please post in english
  9. keshan

    keshan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    67Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor
    Glad that I asked, the wires are indeed different when I paid a closer look. So my final shopping list check:

    My1020 1000w 36v
    BTS7960 * 3 or 4
    Power supply from HP server , which is capable of 7x A with 110v input

    2 parts in doubt:
    STM32F4 does it has to be a discovery board or the black STM32F407ZGT6 will also do the trick? I think I also have a arduino uno somewhere in my drawer.

    About encoder, I saw people have off center problem with higher ppr encoder, is below 1000 ppr a safer play? What difference will that make anyway?

    thanks.
  10. Fatih M.

    Fatih M. New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Balance:
    143Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    hi again everyone.
    I made my own steering wheel set with MY1020 and I was using it without any problems for a few mounths. however, while moving my house, I had to disassemble and re-install the system and after reinstalling it, I started having problems with centering. Although I checked all connections 2 times, I could not solve the problem. i center wheel at the beginning of the game but center changes to the right or left by 5% after a few laps. i recorrect and it change again.
    Has anyone experienced this problem before? or where do you think the problem could be?
  11. Keith

    Keith Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    111
    Occupation:
    Electrician
    Location:
    Canada, Saskatchewan
    Balance:
    263Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Can you separate your signal wires from the power wires? Make sure they are not running along side each other. I had this issue at first
  12. Fatih M.

    Fatih M. New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Balance:
    143Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    i will try tomorrow and i will let you know the result. thank you
  13. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,211
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,196Coins
    Ratings:
    +269 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    you may need pull up resistors on your encoder signal wires
  14. elnino

    elnino Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Occupation:
    Computer Geek
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    844Coins
    Ratings:
    +70 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Also make sure you have pullups on the encoder pins - some encoders have them but they are too weak and interference can cause this still. What board/firmware are you using?
  15. Fatih M.

    Fatih M. New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Balance:
    143Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    its not work for me. i seperate cables but problem is continue
    i already have pull up resistors on encoder. at the beginning it doesnt work without resistors.

    im using stm32 board and 1000ppr encoder from china MMos 2014 software
  16. elnino

    elnino Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Occupation:
    Computer Geek
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    844Coins
    Ratings:
    +70 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    what value pullup?
  17. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,211
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,196Coins
    Ratings:
    +269 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
  18. Fatih M.

    Fatih M. New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2020
    Messages:
    13
    Balance:
    143Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    I'm not sure but it should be 1 ohm. It was working smoothly when I first did it.
    next I will check encoder connections and replace pull up resistors. maybe it solve the problem
  19. elnino

    elnino Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Occupation:
    Computer Geek
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    844Coins
    Ratings:
    +70 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    1 Ohm would be way too low. 1K is about right as per Gadget's comment.

    It's going to be hard to tell where the problem is, you're only going to find it via trial and error.

    Further to check:
    The coupling between the encoder and the shaft of the wheel
    Do you use a centering button or centering signal from encoder? Perhaps there is noise on that - Pullup might be needed there too.
    Triple check solder connections
    Encoder faulty?

    Also, I strongly suggest swapping from MMoS to EMC Development firmware (not the old Arduino EMC). Yeah, it costs 15 euros but it is well worth it. It's in current development and supports more features as well as MUCH better FFB. Will run on your STM32F407 but also the cheap $2 blackpill (STM32F103). Unfortunately it's a rewire though.