1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Cousin of OSW (Open Sim Wheel)

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Gadget999, Sep 23, 2017.

  1. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,366
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,129Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,666 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Just trying to help. I will leave you guys to it - no skin off my teeth..
  2. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    5,256Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    i will try and sort out a comparison video in the future, who in the UK near london has a OSW ?

    i suspect i can improve the wheel with pid tuning if its performance is lacking
  3. Mbakos

    Mbakos Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Occupation:
    Datacenter Technician
    Location:
    Hungary
    Balance:
    476Coins
    Ratings:
    +43 / 1 / -0
    My opinion of this comparison topic is that, looking from the price perspective, if all this can come together for the price of a G27, then it's worth the trouble even if I get something just a hair stronger without the gear rattling and the slowness that I'm used to after all these years.
    Meanwhile I'm saving for an OSW and rehearsing for the reasoning to the significant other. :D
  4. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    5,256Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino


    i downloaded wheelcheck and ran some of the tests - is there a way to save the output - or do you want to see a video ?

    some of the tests are quite violent !
  5. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    5,256Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    ok i worked out how to find the log files i will turn them into a chart later

    the pid settings were P 5, I 0, D 0.25

    bigger settings made the wheel act differently
  6. danove_b

    danove_b Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    1,397Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 3 / -0

    Use this google sheet (don't change anything in the wheelCheck window):
    http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/sh...eel-FFB-Values-Google-Sheet-amp-FCM-Universal

    The test really showed one of the G27 biggest weakness: It doesn't start to react before 18% signal!
    • Useful Useful x 1
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2017
  7. danove_b

    danove_b Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    1,397Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 3 / -0
  8. ferslash

    ferslash Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    482
    Balance:
    4,646Coins
    Ratings:
    +175 / 2 / -0
    guys:

    one of the expensive parts of of ffb wheel is a nice encoder, on the other hand, there are some arduino shilds that are super cheap, but with and obvious lack of resolution, my question is:

    - can you use a cheap encoder, and then by using gears increase by many the relation betwin 1 turn of the wheel vs many many turns of the cheap encoder?

    would it work???

    best regards

    fer
  9. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    5,256Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    yes you could, but the difference in price between a low resolution and high resolution encoder is really not much at all
  10. Mbakos

    Mbakos Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Occupation:
    Datacenter Technician
    Location:
    Hungary
    Balance:
    476Coins
    Ratings:
    +43 / 1 / -0
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Limongi

    Limongi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    66
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Balance:
    273Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 0 / -0
    For the education of others (main reason we are all here) do you have reasons beyond the "if it was that easy it would be done already" ? I'm not asking to keep the argument going just wondering if you could explain what would be the main areas of where this concept falls short because some of the objectives met by the 25 pound servo you speak to are not objectives for everyone here. I also ask because from digging deep into the archives it would appear that DIY linear actuators and using JRK's to run a motion platform that used to cost $50k comercially was silly nonsense "back in the day" so I want to make sure this isn't a dead end idea simply because you've already spent the money on an expensive DD wheel and now so should all of us.

    I think most people into gadget's build here on the cheap don't for a second think that they will have a OSW for $150 but they may get somthing that pulls hard and feels heavy compared to a g27 and maybe even compares to a t300.
  12. Mbakos

    Mbakos Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    51
    Occupation:
    Datacenter Technician
    Location:
    Hungary
    Balance:
    476Coins
    Ratings:
    +43 / 1 / -0
    My xyb-6d motor arrived yesterday, that is the last part that was missing to start building my wheel. I would like to ask what experience you have with these and similar motors with regards to the magnets' mechanical resistance. When I turn the motor by hand I can feel the steps real hard. Does it disappear when it is turned on? What does it feel like?
    My g27 is so weak not to mention that huge gear ratio, the magnet steps can't be felt even if unpowered.
    I'm curious.
  13. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,366
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,129Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,666 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Sorry, no further interest .. bye.
    • Funny Funny x 1
  14. Alexey

    Alexey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    455
    Occupation:
    Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    7,899Coins
    Ratings:
    +606 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    [​IMG]
    • Funny Funny x 5
  15. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    5,256Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    you don't feel the magnetic jumps when the wheel is powered up - at least on my build you don't
    • Like Like x 1
  16. danove_b

    danove_b Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    1,397Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 3 / -0
    Hopefully I will have a working wheel before the end of this year, still waiting for the parts to arrive. I will present the result from the wheelcheck, which I suspect will be a bit nonlinear. If so, I already have an idea of how to fix this with a additional microcontroller between the Leonardo and the driver card. Just measure the length of the pwm pulse and use a lookup-table and some interpolation and send out a new pmw with the result. (Should be very easy to fix if we had the source code of the Aiwave...). I have no doubt that it will outmatch my G27. Even if I'm aiming for less than half the rated current, I think the heating is the big question mark, the motor will work in "stall" mode all the time.... Gadget999: Have you tried to fill out the google sheet I linked to before?
  17. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    5,256Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    yes i have filled out the spreadsheet - but dont know how to upload it to this site

    send me a pm with your email and i will forward it over

    the output has a lag at the start - but its pretty good. not surprising you cant get movement without a minimum about of power

    there are tips how to alter the output to make it linear - i have not had a chance to investigate yet
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,787
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    103,771Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,611 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Make it into a zip file and you should be able to upload it.
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    5,256Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    spreadsheet attached - need to work out how to apply the tuning to get a linear response

    Attached Files:

  20. danove_b

    danove_b Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    1,397Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 3 / -0
    I think you should change your rotation to at least 400 degree. It looks like the wheel reach its end already at 50 % signal.