1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Cousin of OSW (Open Sim Wheel)

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Gadget999, Sep 23, 2017.

  1. Axpion

    Axpion New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Russian
    Balance:
    49Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Still how to connect such an encoder (ROD2271 - 1024\18000) to STM32f4 Discovery? Pinout on page 55 .

    Attached Files:

  2. Axpion

    Axpion New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Russian
    Balance:
    49Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I managed to solve all the problems from previous messages.
    How to connect bts7960 and stm32f4? The engine has only two outputs plus / minus.
  3. evolaco

    evolaco Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    241
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    1,183Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    What engine does it have? a stepper motor has two coils, two ibt2 are needed
    A brush motor only needs one, but you can put two or three to distribute the amps
  4. Axpion

    Axpion New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Russian
    Balance:
    49Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    Attached Files:

  5. evolaco

    evolaco Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    241
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    1,183Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  6. Axpion

    Axpion New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Russian
    Balance:
    49Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    When PE8-PE9 (R_PWM-L_PWM) is connected, the rudder calibration is to the right (and the hold in the limit). PE10-PE11 (L_PWM-R_PWM) steering wheel calibration to the left (and holding in the limit). At the same time EN_R and EN_L are energized in 3v.
    In the MMOS, H-Bridge mode is set.
  7. ste94

    ste94 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    203Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    Hello guys, i just bought a motor to start the build, it's a LY1020 (48V 800W) and i'm going to power it with a 50A 12V PSU. I'd like to know if it's possible for a single BTN7971b card to handle 50A since it's rated for 68A maximum or if it's better using 2-3 BTS7960, since the price it's almost the same and i'd rather not spend 40€ on 2 BTN7971b.
    And if in the future i'll want more power would be possible to put another PSU, maybe with a different Ampere value, together with the 50A one?
  8. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,152
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,077Coins
    Ratings:
    +259 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    try it out and see what happens - you can always add another driver if you need to
  9. Carlo_Labati

    Carlo_Labati New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    italy
    Balance:
    213Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Any question : about limit to DC Electric motors 12/24 v (low torque i know) , is it possible (and of course if better increase) to switch Motor NEMA42 Stepper motor and our Motor Driver ? I have 2 BTN7961 and STM32F4discovery and 930W PSU Supply . ty
  10. danove_b

    danove_b Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    1,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 3 / -0
    I think 50 A are going to be the maximum current you can get with 12v on that 48VDC motor at stall. Looking at a MY1020 750w motor, that produce 2.8 Nm @ 20A, so it will give you about 7 Nm @ 50 A. I have a My1020 that I feed with 80 A maximum and give about the same torque and that's enough!!!


    https://i.stack.imgur.com/UMWBK.png
  11. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,152
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,077Coins
    Ratings:
    +259 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    You can not drive a stepper motor with a dc h bridge.

    I am not convinced a stepper motor is the right design for a ffb dd wheel
  12. evolaco

    evolaco Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    241
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    1,183Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    the l298n not e sun bridge h? in this video they use it to move a stepper motor, look for h bridges in aliexpress, they are for stepper motor and usually have double bridge for the two boninas of a stepper motor
  13. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,152
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,077Coins
    Ratings:
    +259 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    it looks like the driver is activating the motor in steps - i am not sure that is the right way to drive a ffb steering wheel
  14. evolaco

    evolaco Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    241
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    1,183Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Accureforce uses a nema34, with a great work of software and hardware but it is possible to get a very good DD, in this forum they have done it with a plate they sell.
    I do not understand electronics, but the step to follow with stepper motor is to use an arduino or another plate that converts the pwn that comes out of the leonardo or stm to signal steps that could be able to move the motor, this is really difficult
  15. danove_b

    danove_b Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    1,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 3 / -0
    Finally, I have tried a "real" DD wheel. It was a Leo Bodnar 20.5 Nm wheel. The test was done with rfactor2 and the Formula ISI 2012 car. I choose that, because that was the last car i drove with my own wheel before I went on vacation. I used the same in-game settings, and limited the max torque to 50% in the software for the wheel (10.25 Nm). My wheel has a maximum of 8 Nm, but my wheel has a lower diameter. I must say that it surprised me that I hardly couldn't feel any difference. I had plan to order a complete set of the Feel VR wheel inkl pedals, but after this experience, I will keep my MY1020 wheel and maybe just order the pedals.

    The place where I did the test:
    https://th-th.facebook.com/simracingthailand/

    The motion function made me sick, so I turn that of almost immediately.
    The triple setup was great though! And also the pedals with the load-cell equipped brakes made it very realistic.

    [​IMG]
  16. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,152
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,077Coins
    Ratings:
    +259 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    that is some good feedback - i now have a 1kw motor like yours and i am tempted to build a new wheel for my new simulator :)
  17. .dumbass

    .dumbass New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    197Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    • Like Like x 4
  18. evolaco

    evolaco Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    241
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    1,183Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    There is no way to disguise the steps? With mmos can you give a minimum force to the turn that makes them not be noticed? I could try that

    And a my1020 of 48v powered with 12V and 82A will generate all the torque? Or do you need more voltage for your maximum strength? In theory with 12v it would reach 800rpm more or less and that is much more than necessary
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2018
  19. danove_b

    danove_b Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2017
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    1,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 3 / -0
    If I ordered a motor again I would go for the 48 VDC motor just to come down in current a bit. Higher voltage means more winding turns and more torque/A. Further on this means less power = less heat. Like I mentioned before, you will be able to produce about 50 A with 12 Volts, which will give you about 7 Nm. I'm pretty sure you will be very happy with the force. Remember to set some min torque in the software. My MY1020 needs about 0.8 volts to react.
  20. Alexey

    Alexey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    452
    Occupation:
    Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    8,010Coins
    Ratings:
    +611 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino

    The problem with bigger motors is bigger magnets and cheap design. That is where you will feel the "coggs". Unfortunately the MY1020 doesn't state the torque figures at 12V and you cant just use current figures and the torque curve from the 48V curve as the magnetic field strength is lower. I would strongly suggest cooling the motor as 48V motors have far thinner gauge wires and thinner enamel surround them. The heat from the motor will eventually destroy that enamel and short out windings. Ignore the estimated rpm of the motor as your hands dictate the rpm as you move the steering wheel.
    Yes more voltage will give you far more motor torque, but you will have to also supply very high current at the same time.

    The beauty of the MY1020 is that if you look at a price to performance ratio, when using the 48v motor at 12v, it is cheaper than an equivalent 12v rated motor. It also comes with ventialtion holes pre drilled!