1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Cousin of OSW (Open Sim Wheel)

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Gadget999, Sep 23, 2017.

  1. Vdub180

    Vdub180 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    England
    Balance:
    105Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0

  2. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    4,935Coins
    Ratings:
    +117 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    You should not need a pullup/down resistor

    However if you are not getting a signal your board may need one.

    Have you tried a simple arduino sketch that flashes an led when it senses a pulse ?
  3. Vdub180

    Vdub180 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    England
    Balance:
    105Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    No but will try, any ideas what blink test I should try ?
  4. Vdub180

    Vdub180 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    England
    Balance:
    105Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    Sorry noon here
  5. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    4,935Coins
    Ratings:
    +117 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    connect the output to a digital pin - this code should flash an led

    /*

    * Note: on most Arduinos there is already an LED on the board
    attached to pin 13.


    created 2005
    by DojoDave <http://www.0j0.org>
    modified 30 Aug 2011
    by Tom Igoe

    This example code is in the public domain.

    http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Button
    */

    // constants won't change. They're used here to
    // set pin numbers:
    const int buttonPin = 2; // the number of the pushbutton pin
    const int ledPin = 13; // the number of the LED pin
    // Pin 13: Arduino has an LED connected on pin 13
    // Pin 11: Teensy 2.0 has the LED on pin 11
    // Pin 6: Teensy++ 2.0 has the LED on pin 6
    // Pin 13: Teensy 3.0 has the LED on pin 13

    // variables will change:
    int buttonState = 0; // variable for reading the pushbutton status

    void setup() {
    // initialize the LED pin as an output:
    pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
    // initialize the pushbutton pin as an input:
    pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);
    }

    void loop(){
    // read the state of the pushbutton value:
    buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin);

    // check if the pushbutton is pressed.
    // if it is, the buttonState is HIGH:
    if (buttonState == HIGH) {
    // turn LED on:
    digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);
    }
    else {
    // turn LED off:
    digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW);
    }
    }
  6. Vdub180

    Vdub180 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    England
    Balance:
    105Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    Thanks again I'll try this out tomorrow if resistors don't work out do you know if the resistors are directional or can I install then anyway I'm gonna install as diagram

    Attached Files:

  7. Fernando Igor

    Fernando Igor Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Fortaleza, Brazil
    Balance:
    829Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Can I install then anyway.
  8. Vdub180

    Vdub180 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    England
    Balance:
    105Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    Sorry can I install the resistors in circuit anyway round,
  9. Fernando Igor

    Fernando Igor Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Fortaleza, Brazil
    Balance:
    829Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Resistor has no polarity or sense.
    Follow the "Wiring schematic" image of the post above without worrying about the direction of the resistor.
  10. Vdub180

    Vdub180 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    England
    Balance:
    105Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    Ok I have the encoder working now all I needed to do was add resistor and 5v to And B not Z, so as I disconnected the 5v and the resistor for Z it worked so far so good at the min thanks for your help so far
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Vdub180

    Vdub180 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    England
    Balance:
    105Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    Me so far

    Attached Files:

  12. Fernando Gogoni

    Fernando Gogoni New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    São Paulo, Brazil
    Balance:
    187Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino

    Hello Fernando,

    I trying to build your code, but I getting the following error.
    BRWheel-master\arduino-1.0.5-r2/brWheel.ino:189: undefined reference to `Joystick_::send_16_10_10_10(int, unsigned int, unsigned int, unsigned int, unsigned int)'

    Line in error
    SendInputReport((s16)turn, (u16)accel, (u16)brake, (u16)clutch, buttons);


    Using arduino-1.0.5-r2 with the "hardware" and "libraries" folders you provided.
    Same error using "hardware" and "libraries" folders from ESP_WHEEL_0.3.

    Could you give some advice?


    Best Regards,
  13. Fernando Igor

    Fernando Igor Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Fortaleza, Brazil
    Balance:
    829Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Maybe I changed something and forgot to update it in git. I checked and the function was declared and was not defined in the "HID.cpp" file.
    Take the "alphatest" branch, it is more uptdated.

    You can send a private msg if you want, I'll help you.
    This week I plan to sync git with the current version.
  14. The_Raging_Peacock

    The_Raging_Peacock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Balance:
    158Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Hello guys! Wheel is working fine as of now for regular track use but when i use it for drifting it gets realy stiff (hard to turn) if i want good self-centering. If i lower it the resistance goes down but it doesnt want to self center... (im nowhere near clipping) I understand that there is supposed to be some resistance when drifting. Any ideas what could be wrong or to what forum i should turn to for the solution? I tried playing with setting is Ai-wave but i havent found a solution to it.
  15. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    4,935Coins
    Ratings:
    +117 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    What type of wheel do you have ? What sort of motor ?

    What game are you playing ? Is the car fwd 4wd or rwd?

    Can we see a video ?
  16. The_Raging_Peacock

    The_Raging_Peacock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Balance:
    158Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Belt drive 1:5 ratio, 200w 24v motor with 24v 350w PSU. Arduino leonardo board, IBT-2 motor controller.
    Game is Assetto Corsa and i drift with RWD cars, i also use LUT generator to fix deadzone. Gain on Ai-wave is 50% most of the effects turned down except sine and constant.
  17. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    4,935Coins
    Ratings:
    +117 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    What is the LUT generator?
  18. The_Raging_Peacock

    The_Raging_Peacock New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Balance:
    158Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Another member recommended it to me in this thread it was Fernando Igor i think, basicly it takes the result from Iracing step log test(linear force test) and creates an opposite curve so it "eliminates" the deadzone. It linearizes the output.
    Here's the link if you are interested: https://www.racedepartment.com/downloads/lut-generator-for-ac.9740/
    • Like Like x 2
  19. Vdub180

    Vdub180 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    England
    Balance:
    105Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    Anybody else had an issue with the force feedback not working correctly, min seems to have some feedback but only when the motor is turned to the left like a magnetic notch and that only seems to work only slightly, if at all, the force is strong but don't feel correct by a long shot.
  20. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    4,935Coins
    Ratings:
    +117 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    What type of motor are you using

    Does it have regular or offset coils ?

    I suggest you move the index position and see if the problem moves to a different place