1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Tutorial COS-6 DOF (EMC, AmpFlowE30-400, Arduino, Sabertooth)

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by cosminutLP, Sep 5, 2019.

  1. cosminutLP

    cosminutLP New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Occupation:
    engineer
    Location:
    Romania
    Balance:
    16Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hey

    My name is Cosmin, I'm a member for some time and during this period I managed to gather some ideas about what I want to build, also during this time I also managed to put aside parts for the build.
    In the beginning, I was thinking about building my own actuators but this year, I got my hand on some electro-mechanical cylinders (EMC) from BOSCH Rexroth and this is the construction so far:
    10.jpg + the motors :)
    In the next days, I will post pictures specs of everything and the problems I encountered during the build.
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. cosminutLP

    cosminutLP New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Occupation:
    engineer
    Location:
    Romania
    Balance:
    16Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Here I post some pictures with the build
    4.jpg 5.jpg 6.jpg 7.jpg 8.jpg 9.jpg 10.jpg 11.jpg 12.jpg 13.jpg 14.jpg 15.jpg 16.jpg 17.jpg 18.jpg 19.jpg 20.jpg 21.jpg 22.jpg 23.jpg 1.jpg 2.jpg 3.jpg
    • Like Like x 3
  4. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    481
    Balance:
    3,177Coins
    Ratings:
    +186 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    build is looking good. i also use the E30-400 series ampflow motors.
    i had them for a few months.. i still havent applied power to them
    • Like Like x 1
  5. cosminutLP

    cosminutLP New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Occupation:
    engineer
    Location:
    Romania
    Balance:
    16Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
  6. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    481
    Balance:
    3,177Coins
    Ratings:
    +186 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    with 6x e30-400, i am building out a power system with 6x 24v -30A LED PSUs with 6x 12VDC 35 AH batteries .. pretty much how sixdegreesofflight built his
  7. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    481
    Balance:
    3,177Coins
    Ratings:
    +186 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
  8. cosminutLP

    cosminutLP New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Occupation:
    engineer
    Location:
    Romania
    Balance:
    16Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Sorry for the delay...
    We managed to turn it on in September but only for a test run.
    the main problem were the potentiometers, mechanical issues due to heating of the plastic gears , step jumping and others
    there where also some issues with the arduino connection which were done on breadboards
    the power supply's where tripping until we connected the battery's, under heavy loads they were a bit jerki
    This was the state of the project in September

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  9. cosminutLP

    cosminutLP New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Occupation:
    engineer
    Location:
    Romania
    Balance:
    16Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    now...
    power supply changed from 12 to 24 v... led supply 42A x6 connected in series+ 2x 12V batterys 90A with separated circuits
    2 step transmission fot the potentiometers made out of heat resistant plastic, new potentiometers
    different wiring, with 2 socket plugins, battery switch and emergency button for the H bridge
    boards with sockets for arduino and all the connection needed to eliminate the breadboards

    Started testing and it's running quite well, managed to do all movements (roll, pitch, yaw..) but they still need work.
    The only issue is that after repeated aggressive usage one of the axes didn't stop...and I'm not sure why. Still looking for the cause.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 3
  10. thefost

    thefost New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    Balance:
    95Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    Great looking build, I was curious about the frame because I want to make something similar. Are those normal 40mm aluminum extrusions you are using? How are they working out, rock solid or any flex in the frame during use? Anything you would do differently? Thanks!
  11. cosminutLP

    cosminutLP New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Occupation:
    engineer
    Location:
    Romania
    Balance:
    16Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    They are perfect for the build, light and very strong, simple to work with specially if you use there 90 connectors, if not you can make plates at any angle and connect them with the T shaped screws provided.
    no flex, simple to cut. I am very happy with the aluminium structure.
    For me I would make the base a bit bigger for more stability because now with the power it has I have to bolt it in the ground.