1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
  4. All new posts and threads should be written in English. Please do not create dual posts in other languages. If you are not a master of the English language you can use an external service to create a translation of your words, for instance, Google translate or DeepL.
    Due to low activity, we've also closed the french section.
    Dismiss Notice

Confused with 2.0 Licenses

Discussion in 'SimTools DIY Version' started by DSSxSIM, Jan 9, 2017.

  1. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,170
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,003Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,025 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    @RaceRay Let's say @vthinsel developes some plugins/dashes for Simtools 2. He has to pay for pro license. Fine
    Then someone has to pay for the pro license because he wants (also) to use his work. Fine
    So, the money for the licenses go to Simtools - and that's totally correct - but shouldn't the developer be rewarded too? Maybe developers could have a dev license (something between free and pro as price) or pay for pro license and than being rewarded somehow as soon as his plugins/dashes are being used. Otherwise vthinsel could think that after all the test/debug/... he could keep his work for himself (not to even have to support/update his work - not that he is forced to, anyway)

    I don't mean to be disputatious, just arguing on the matter. I Hope I didn't upset anybody


    (BTW I already bought the pro license too)
    • Like Like x 1
  2. RaceRay

    RaceRay Administrator Staff Member SimAxe Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,631
    Occupation:
    Self-employed | Web and application development
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Balance:
    24,719Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,474 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, SimAxe, SimforceGT
    @Blame73 I do know what you mean.
    I am not sure if anything is stated in the license terms of SimTools about it but would not it be possible for game dash developers to sell their add-ons separately?

    I did not create the license terms and pricing model so i can not speak for @yobuddy. Maybe he can share how the pro license is intended to be used.
  3. vthinsel

    vthinsel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    4,995Coins
    Ratings:
    +471 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Hello,
    I fully agree with you @Blame73 : I could keep it for myself (wether or not me paying for the Pro license, which I did) but it is not what I want to do. I want the comunity to use my plugins and help me make them better. I do not want to sell it in anyway, it is not my philosophy. This being said, encouraging developers could be nice by providing a specific license as you mentioned (criteria to be defined). Lets see what @yobuddy thinks :p
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Stealthelius

    Stealthelius Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Occupation:
    Office Clerk
    Location:
    Rome, Italy
    Balance:
    100Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi guys. I don't understand very well the difference between "old" SimTools and this 2.0.
  5. RaceRay

    RaceRay Administrator Staff Member SimAxe Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,631
    Occupation:
    Self-employed | Web and application development
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Balance:
    24,719Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,474 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, SimAxe, SimforceGT
    > encouraging developers

    Absolutely, fully agree with you.

    My first answer was regarding your sentence:
    > This adds value to the plugins IMHO.

    It sounded as the SimTools DYI does not contain enough value so i felt i had to comment this sentence and i was too picky because i love SimTools and appreciate all the countless hours Dustin invested just like we all do:blush

    Your suggestion about a DIY developer license and supporting developers with free stuff is something i definitely welcome but i think it's not necessarily bad if apps can only be developed for the pro platform.

    I mean its the same with AC, you need to purchase first Assetto Corsa, THAN you can use all the mods by third party developers. Assetto is not free and no one would demands that. Ok, a few would do it as always;)
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. obobo

    obobo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,307Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    But AC mods do not necessarily sell more AC
    While some developed plugins are selling simtools licenses
    In this case, it is the team of simtools that is enriched on the work of independent
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,692
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    108,621Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,880 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Just to clarify, the SimTools licenses apply to SimTools, not to plugins, a plugin Dev can put a plugin under whatever license they choose, make it freely available and if they wanted could create a paid plugin.

    There is only one caveat in the SimTools licenses that must be met regarding all plugins and that is:

    (a) Any plugin created by any Licensee or any Third Party for use with the Software will be used only in conjunction with the Software.
  8. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,716
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    31,794Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,780 / 10 / -0
    Hi Guy's,
    There is no reason that developers can not buzz me for a free pro key.
    I think its a good policy.
    (They would have to have proved that they have built something before thou, or everyone will be plugin writers lol)

    @vthinsel,
    The same can be said for the Game Vibe thou, can't add support if you don't have access to it.
    It just made sense to have a single key that turns on all the bell's and whistles.
    And it wont be the same game dash as before, 3 interface outputs now, and a lot more.

    @Blame73
    Its ok buddy, we all want something that works for everyone!
    Value1 and I post our plugins here to help support the site costs, and help support all the work René does to keep us up and running.
    At one time it was really only a few people making all the plugins and we all posted them here.
    But people can sell or host their plugins elsewhere.
    But I'd like something everyone is happy with, as my goal is to be able to back to DIYing.

    So what should we do guy's?
    Do you have any suggestions as this is new territory for me.
    My goal is to keep DIY alive forever.

    Thx guy's,
    yobuddy
    • Like Like x 3
  9. leaedman

    leaedman Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Valenciennes, France
    Balance:
    425Coins
    Ratings:
    +88 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hello everyone,
    I applied for a free license but I received a negative response stating:
    One of the following requirements has not been met:
    1) Not build from a kit
    2) Not a commercial product


    I am sorry to hear that I do not fulfill the conditions because my project that I presented on the forum does not come from a kit and is not a commercial version. I bought all the components individually in 2015 on different spare parts site :
    - smolka-berlin.de for the 24V DC motors,
    - gotronic.fr and conrad.fr for ARDUINO UNO and SABERTOOTH 2x24
    - aliexpress.com for the power supply (and other small parts...)
    I can even find the invoices in PDF if necessary to prove my good liver ... :think

    Presentation of my project :
    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/my-2dof-with-dc-motors.6314/

    I have nothing to do with the Wanegain kits (I just followed his tutorials on the French forum and at the time there was no kit, At the time I was even on the X-SIM software).

    I really do not understand that decision :(
  10. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,716
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    31,794Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,780 / 10 / -0
    Hi @leaedman,
    Feel free to re-apply with an explanation buddy.
    The guy's handing out keys are human, and are going to occasionally make a mistake.
    Take Care!
    yobuddy
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  11. leaedman

    leaedman Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    Valenciennes, France
    Balance:
    425Coins
    Ratings:
    +88 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    OK yobuddy, thank you :cheers
    • Like Like x 1
  12. mmorselli

    mmorselli New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    ITALY
    Balance:
    - 83Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I built a simracing rig with only transducers (4 bass shakers on two channels). I would like to try it out with GameVibe. Am I eligible for free SimTools license? Do I have to post my project on the forum? (I'm fine whith this, but I don't see transducers only projects, only 2DOF, 6DOF,...)
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,692
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    108,621Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,880 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Extended functionality like Game Vibe is not supported in the DIY license version of SimTools, for that you need a Pro license, see here for details: https://simtools.us/license/
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  14. Marco Annunziata

    Marco Annunziata New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    106Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi everybody,
    What about the builders simulator license?
    I mean if I would build my simulators and sell them with SmTools software perinatalled in a PC who come with the the motion simulators? There is some solution like X-Sym? I will meet troubles with annual renew license
  15. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,692
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    108,621Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,880 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  16. Marco Annunziata

    Marco Annunziata New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    106Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,692
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    108,621Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,880 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    A pro license is for a private customer for their own personal use and entertainment license for any commercial entity, as presumably the latter would be for the purpose of third party use.
  18. Marco Annunziata

    Marco Annunziata New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Balance:
    106Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF

    There is a way to avoid the annual renew? It's because if I buy the licenses for my customers I have to renew all the licences for all my customers for ever, would you interested to make a custom license? Can you contact me in private if you are interested?
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,692
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    108,621Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,880 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Take it with the SimTools dev here: https://simtools.us/contact-us/

    As SimTools and Xsimulator are 2 different entities all any member here can do is give generic information: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/simtools-and-xsimulator-partnership-explained.275/
  20. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,716
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    31,794Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,780 / 10 / -0
    @Marco Annunziata,
    The Pro license is a lifetime license. (No need to renew)
    The Entertainment license allow you to sell your sim with a (1 year) commercial simtools license.
    (And they can renew it when they need too at simtools.us)

    Take care buddy,
    yobuddy
    • Informative Informative x 1