1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom Compact AC Servo 6DOF Rotary Stewart platform

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by knaufinator, May 26, 2020.

  1. knaufinator

    knaufinator Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    155
    Occupation:
    Computer Engineer - RFID Specialist
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    1,131Coins
    Ratings:
    +184 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF

    one issue at a time.
    I add sway and surge into axis 4a and 5a, this then sends a scaled surge force and sway signal to the pitch and roll axis on the ESP32.

    isolate this into one force for troubleshooting,.. only have one variable entered in the tune. i.e sway in 4a,... does this one force cause the platform to roll. when turning the car...


    as for the aggressive drop.... I have no idea...when you turn on the DOF test the first thing it does is start sending out the home position, i.e. "2047,2047,2047,2047,2047,2047X" does the rig respond the same way when you send this command over arduino serial monitor?...
  2. knaufinator

    knaufinator Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    155
    Occupation:
    Computer Engineer - RFID Specialist
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    1,131Coins
    Ratings:
    +184 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    I do not manually do anything,... when the platform is turned off, the arms drop, to a known location, i then have the AC servo driver properly setup to handle the correct direction to travel on power up.... if you have arms that are going the Wrong way on startup, you need to change the direction they move for power on/homing...
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. tu xiao mi

    tu xiao mi Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2021
    Messages:
    67
    Balance:
    454Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    when the platform is turned off, the arms drop, to a known location,
    how did you do that? to a known location
  4. knaufinator

    knaufinator Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    155
    Occupation:
    Computer Engineer - RFID Specialist
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    1,131Coins
    Ratings:
    +184 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Gravity bro
    • Funny Funny x 1
  5. tu xiao mi

    tu xiao mi Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2021
    Messages:
    67
    Balance:
    454Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    do you mean we must use the android app to stop the platform?
  6. tu xiao mi

    tu xiao mi Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2021
    Messages:
    67
    Balance:
    454Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    thank you, bro
  7. knaufinator

    knaufinator Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    155
    Occupation:
    Computer Engineer - RFID Specialist
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    1,131Coins
    Ratings:
    +184 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    No, literally gravity,... Everytime ... Will pull down the rig/ arms.... Without fail. On power off
    • Like Like x 1
  8. tu xiao mi

    tu xiao mi Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2021
    Messages:
    67
    Balance:
    454Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    [​IMG]
    This swing arm will conflict with the bracket below
  9. knaufinator

    knaufinator Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    155
    Occupation:
    Computer Engineer - RFID Specialist
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    1,131Coins
    Ratings:
    +184 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    I agree, you need to modify the design to not have those arms there,... Mine is bolded to concrete, and arms could swing 360 degrees if there was not rig attached.

    mine early on in the process became airborne,... I recommend bolting to the floor if possible...
  10. tu xiao mi

    tu xiao mi Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2021
    Messages:
    67
    Balance:
    454Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Every time the motor starts, when the magnet on the swing arm passes the Hall sensor, the swing arm will stop and rotate in the opposite direction for about one degree. Does this happen on your machine?
  11. knaufinator

    knaufinator Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    155
    Occupation:
    Computer Engineer - RFID Specialist
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    1,131Coins
    Ratings:
    +184 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    you should set up the AC servo Driver for the arm to travel to HOME/mid point, once it hits the hall sensor. one degree just sounds like the default behavior without you programming in where it should go.

    The ESP32 controller assumes,.. when it starts doing stuff that you are at the home position,.. if you are not,.. unexpected/damaging... things will likely occur..
  12. tu xiao mi

    tu xiao mi Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2021
    Messages:
    67
    Balance:
    454Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    In your design, the starting position of the motor is arbitrary. When the magnetic sheet meets the Hall, the swing arm will stop. Use that position as the zero point, right?
  13. knaufinator

    knaufinator Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    155
    Occupation:
    Computer Engineer - RFID Specialist
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    1,131Coins
    Ratings:
    +184 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    no, the starting point is ASSUMED to be horizontal,.. and already prepared.. ..
    YOU NEED to setup in the AASD driver, the correct home position. the settings for which are at the bottom of the GitHub project readme, ...

    the reason for the sensor at the top, is because,.. it will be asssumed that most likely if you have a rig attached, gravity will have moved the arms down.. below the Tippy top point, and on the correct side it should be because there is a giant metal rig attached to it. forcing it to that side. when it hits the sensor,... have the driver though the settings for each individual motor,.. to move to the correct horizontal starting point. this will zero the platform, and allow my ESP32 controller to take over from there.
  14. tu xiao mi

    tu xiao mi Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2021
    Messages:
    67
    Balance:
    454Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    I guess the swing arm cannot return to the horizontal state because of the debug mode I used
  15. knaufinator

    knaufinator Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    155
    Occupation:
    Computer Engineer - RFID Specialist
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    1,131Coins
    Ratings:
    +184 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF

    The ESP32 controller is not preventing this, debug or not.

    You need to set it up MANUALLY on EACH AASD Driver.
  16. FeidhlimLee

    FeidhlimLee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2021
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    344Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    Sir, I did the test, indeed when I send 2047, it does the same thing, But 2047 should be the home position why it drops?
  17. FeidhlimLee

    FeidhlimLee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2021
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    344Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    I send 2047 it drops to lower position and I turn on test, it drops again and take the double droped position as home, but if i restart the motor(not the controller), it's all nomal, without dropping... it seems I have to restart the motor twice to get normal.
  18. knaufinator

    knaufinator Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    155
    Occupation:
    Computer Engineer - RFID Specialist
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    1,131Coins
    Ratings:
    +184 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Thats a good question, I have no idea, ... when the esp32 turns on ,.. it assumes it is at 2047,2047,2047.... /home .. at least as it is as I had the code calibrated. did you modify any of the parameters in the code or does this happen with the code as it is in the github repo..? no one has commented about this happening.
  19. knaufinator

    knaufinator Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    155
    Occupation:
    Computer Engineer - RFID Specialist
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    1,131Coins
    Ratings:
    +184 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF

    also,... videos help. show everything you are doing.
  20. FeidhlimLee

    FeidhlimLee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2021
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    344Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    yes sir, i will try to post some video