1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom Compact AC Servo 6DOF Rotary Stewart platform

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by knaufinator, May 26, 2020.

  1. tu xiao mi

    tu xiao mi Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2021
    Messages:
    71
    Balance:
    486Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    the pitch roll position didn't look like in the excel, but like sway or surge
  2. knaufinator

    knaufinator Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    171
    Occupation:
    Simulation Engineer
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    1,376Coins
    Ratings:
    +197 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    I dont know, thats a new one... you should take some videos of it,.. show any code that you have modified... I will see if I can help.
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  3. iYaroslav

    iYaroslav New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2022
    Messages:
    2
    Occupation:
    Embedded developer
    Location:
    Tashkent, Uzbekistan
    Balance:
    29Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Great work! :thumbs
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  4. iYaroslav

    iYaroslav New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2022
    Messages:
    2
    Occupation:
    Embedded developer
    Location:
    Tashkent, Uzbekistan
    Balance:
    29Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    It's so cool!
    I also want to build something like this
    Already started to take the first steps :)

    Thank you very much for the information!

    • Like Like x 1
  5. knaufinator

    knaufinator Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    171
    Occupation:
    Simulation Engineer
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    1,376Coins
    Ratings:
    +197 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Thanks!!! I agree, its pretty cool :) , let me know if you have any questions
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    2,339Coins
    Ratings:
    +189 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
  7. knaufinator

    knaufinator Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    171
    Occupation:
    Simulation Engineer
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    1,376Coins
    Ratings:
    +197 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    This servo could likely be used with some tinkering - the PCB connector to the driver box may need to have some modifications... but the low level of this logic is incrementing position step, and direction, and looking at the pinout it does support step and direction signals.. voltage requirements on the signals, and other specific engineering issues may arise after this,.. but from a high level this should be a good start...

    I can provide the PCB source files (for online editing on easyeda.com) if anyone would like to tinker with changes.
  8. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    2,339Coins
    Ratings:
    +189 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Hi , thanks a lot for your fast info .
    I can see you have only one output ( direction and step ) HV1 and HV7 for Motor 1.
    For step
    For the low level of this logic is incrementing position step, 3.3 volt PWM to 10 volt analogic , I can use this ?:
    https://fr.aliexpress.com/item/4000..._list.0.0.2fe45e5be58orl&gatewayAdapt=glo2fra
    My first simulator with Esp32 work with this analog ampli and work realy good !
    But can I use only one input step+ ( Drive I/O Connector number 10 ) ?

    And for direction : I can use optocoupler 5 vdc to control another 10vdc to 24 volt relay at the Drive I/O Connector 12 and 13 .
    https://new.abb.com/low-voltage/pro.../interface-relays-and-optocouplers/cr-s-range .

    maybe i'm completely out :rolleyes: ....
  9. knaufinator

    knaufinator Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    171
    Occupation:
    Simulation Engineer
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    1,376Coins
    Ratings:
    +197 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    to move to controlling PWM that would be a large change in design, without significant testing its hard to say what impacts this would cause placing those other parts in the circuit,... if i was you, I would try to interface one motor using an arduino and whatever other parts are required to move it..... get it moving reliably in one direction first,..then get the direction change working,..the circuit/code is very optimized in its current form,.. so adding other bits into it may slow it down,.. so there is a risk there. though if you can interface it there is a good chance you can get it working.... are you sure the position step is only PWM?... sometimes these motors have several different ways to drive it...
    • Like Like x 1
  10. FargusFaustmeister

    FargusFaustmeister Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Occupation:
    Engineering Technologist
    Balance:
    63Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    Thanks for sharing everything from your project! I am super impressed with your compact design and I'm actually in the midst of my own project to make a compact 6dof as well.
    • Like Like x 1
  11. FeidhlimLee

    FeidhlimLee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2021
    Messages:
    60
    Balance:
    416Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    Hi sir, it's been a while. My machine works perfectly for the last few months, great thanks to you.
    But today I'm troubled with some problem, (sorry that I have to borther you)
    I add a direct drive wheel made by a 130 servo, but I didn't change anything to your controller, and the machine went wrong, it runs with right motion but in a very slow mode, like 10 times slower than normal, I checked everything and even reflashed the code, but nothing changed, still in a very slow mode.
    I wonder if you ever encountered such problem, and probably you have a solution.
    Thank you for your time and patience.
  12. knaufinator

    knaufinator Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    171
    Occupation:
    Simulation Engineer
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    1,376Coins
    Ratings:
    +197 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    I suspect the "Gear" is not setup correctly in the AC servo controller.
    • pn098 - Gear - "80"
    This also may need to be adjusted depending on how many digital teeth there are in the servo you have.

    if the motor has a higher resolution than the 80st, it will take a higher "Gear" to make it go the same rate.

    Basically the gear is a multiplier for the step pulses coming from the ESP32 circuit, for every 1 pulse I send, I want the AC servo to move "80" steps.

    You could also have to high of filtering .... if the arms are moving to the correct location,.. just slowly... then its likely to much filter.. in that case,.. tune (reduce) these 3 parameters...

    • pn110 - Position command a filtering time constant - "050"
    • pn111 - S-shaped filtering time constant Ta position instruction - "50"
    • pn112 - position instruction Ts S-shaped filtering time constant Ts - "50"
    Also,... please share a picture of this beast you are building!
    • Informative Informative x 1
  13. FeidhlimLee

    FeidhlimLee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2021
    Messages:
    60
    Balance:
    416Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    Oh yes sir I just checked as you instructed, they stay exactly the same as your github project suggested. So as a matter of fact, it worked perfectly before, it went wrong after I changed the usb port. So I wonder if there is any possibility this may cause something like this.
  14. knaufinator

    knaufinator Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Messages:
    171
    Occupation:
    Simulation Engineer
    Location:
    akron,ohio
    Balance:
    1,376Coins
    Ratings:
    +197 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    That is a new one,... i think it would take a bit more troubleshooting to figure this out.....

    1) does the ac servo go the expected full distance?
    2) is motor connected to a 50:1 gear?
    3) maybe a video could help?
  15. FeidhlimLee

    FeidhlimLee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2021
    Messages:
    60
    Balance:
    416Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    Hi sir, I have solved the issue already, it turned out to be some software problem(mainly caused by the conflict of Chinese language with simtool), I tried to reinstall simtool and changed the language setting of windows, then everything works fine as before.

    The cause of this issue is that I changed the windows language setting back to Chinese earlier to set up MMOS for my diy direct drive wheel. I actually remember to change it to English after finishing setting up MMOS, but somehow it seems this change doesn't get to simtool anymore, probably it has some conflict with MMOS, then I remove MMOS and reinstall simtool, then everything gets back to normal again.
    • Like Like x 1
  16. FeidhlimLee

    FeidhlimLee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2021
    Messages:
    60
    Balance:
    416Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    Here is my machine, GREAT TANKS to you again, can't make it happen without your help.

    For anyone who has seen this video, it's a good proof that this is probably the most wonderful project to follow to building your own simulator. All you need to do is read this thread closely and patiently.

    • Like Like x 1
  17. zhai1987

    zhai1987 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    62
    Balance:
    163Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor
    China?
  18. FeidhlimLee

    FeidhlimLee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2021
    Messages:
    60
    Balance:
    416Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    And I'm very concerned why this thread is not one of the fews threads that were pinned to the top, I suggest the official to do so, cause it definitly worth it.
    • Like Like x 1
  19. zhai1987

    zhai1987 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    62
    Balance:
    163Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor
    I also want to make one, but I don't know how to start well!
  20. zhai1987

    zhai1987 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2021
    Messages:
    62
    Balance:
    163Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor
    Can he use a straight bar? This is more convenient