1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules
yobuddy

Codemasters Dirt Rally Plugin 2.0.0.3

SimTools plugin for Codemasters Dirt Rally

  1. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,739Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,373 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    @Nick Moxley - Would you mind sharing your tuning centre settings? (Yes I know they are all different to each Sim) but I want to gauge how far off mine are..

    All other forces are great, but when jumping hills I've lost the "thud" as the car lands... and no matter what I do I can't seem to get it right.
  2. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,892Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,659 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,565
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,092Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,137 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Dirt Rally is on sale again so I grabbed it this time around: http://www.xsimulator.net/community...fers-steam-sales-etc.6143/page-10#post-103567

    I am looking forward to the 'thud' with heave, it is great on Dirt 3 and should be even better with Dirt Rally!
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,892Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,659 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Worth it @noorbeast, but really hanging out for them to fix Vr Support.
    • Agree Agree x 4
  5. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,866Coins
    Ratings:
    +598 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    Your tuning center settings says PCars on what you shared.
  6. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,401Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK


    Tuning center is as follows

    Pitch 10
    Roll 10
    Heave 12
    Sway 3
    Surge 2 max 3 min
    Traction loss 20



    Im 99% sure thats right....sway might be slightly lower/higher but i dont think so.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,866Coins
    Ratings:
    +598 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    Here is my Dirt Rally.
    upload_2016-4-8_11-8-30.png
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,739Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,373 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Sweet. Thanks guys. I'll try those settings and report back. Good to see some similar numbers among members, so I'll know I'm in the ball park.

    I'll retune Dirt Rally. Honestly can't recall if I did since moving to a shoulder mount.
  9. Tim McGuire

    Tim McGuire "Forever a work in progress"

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    260
    Occupation:
    Electrical/Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    2,015Coins
    Ratings:
    +306 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    Hey guys, has anyone yet found a concrete fix for the jittery surge/sway values that @Avenga76 @Archie and @SilentChill were discussing earlier in this thread?

    I've tried deleting my hardware config xml files and letting steam reinstall them. I've changed the delay value in the xml file from 1 to 0, 2, and 3, but each time it still didn't work. I also tried running it in fullscreen/windowed like he said fixed it for him, but it's still not working right for me. This isn't a simtools axis problem as I'm looking at these values directly in the tuning centre (motion isn't hooked up because it was making my sim shake around like crazy).
  10. Atlas974

    Atlas974 old school

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    Physics chemestry
    Location:
    Reunion island
    Balance:
    315Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Dirt Rally has been a great experience for me with motion and VR, i hope they will soon release a patch for runtime 1.3 of oculus rift. I'm pretty sure you will enjoy the game Noorbeast!
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,565
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,092Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,137 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I know I will, but I have had to delay the install as I struck some issues trying to first update the sim computer to Win 10. The Win 10 upgrade failed the first time and I have tried something different for a second go, it is at 97% download so I will soon know.

    Once I get that sorted it will be back to downloading Dirt Rally and on my slow net connection that will take a couple of days to do.
  12. Goatboy

    Goatboy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    New South Wales, Australia
    Balance:
    345Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    @Tim McGuire

    The Dirt Rally motion has been shitting me up the wall for the last week, I gave up on it to be honest. No matter what I did the motion was terrible, really jittery and completely lacking in sway, to the point where I had turned off sway thinking it was bugged. Even still it was so jittery the only DOF's that would give any real feedback were Roll/Pitch but only if they were assigned most of the axis and surge/heave turned way down.

    Finally today I feel I got some normal motion from it by turning the main level in the game managers profile editor down to 90% ( I played with 95% - 99% all still had weak sway caused by the overwhelming jitters)
    At 90% the sway/surge effect aren't removed by the constant jitter, you can feel the movement of the car and the road surface again and still have a heave effect that relates well. Give it a try and see if that helps, I've yet to play around with it much more since first trying these settings.


    Picture.jpg
    • Useful Useful x 1
  13. Tim McGuire

    Tim McGuire "Forever a work in progress"

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    260
    Occupation:
    Electrical/Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    2,015Coins
    Ratings:
    +306 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    Thanks for the tip, I'll give that a go when I get the chance. I wish I knew what was causing the values to not come out properly though...
  14. Goatboy

    Goatboy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    New South Wales, Australia
    Balance:
    345Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    So I reset all my tuning numbers and started again to test out the 90% level , these are the axis settings and tuning numbers. A lot lower than before on the tuning numbers and I added a bit of sway in the axis assignment. But the movement was really good, seat wasn't shaking like crazy on the start line and moves around nicely with sway/surge & pitch/roll all clearly present. Road surface is still bumpy as expected, but if you stop the car then it feels like normal engine idle motion rather than previous when it was all over the shop no matter what.

    Picture.jpg dirt axis`1.jpg dirtaxis2.jpg dirttuningh.jpg
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  15. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,739Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,373 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You had the same issue as me @Goatboy and @Tim McGuire

    I found I had tuned my Sim too well. What I normally do to tune my Sim (after I have the axis set) is turn my main level down to 10%, then set my Tuning centre values to 0 and then go for a drive and try not to crash, while I am capturing the values in Tuning Centre. Then I save the values, turn the main level back to 100% and fine tune from there.

    (If you try this method, make sure your main level is 10% (or lower) before you reset the value in the tuning centre to 0!! - First time I did it this way with main at 100% I got shaken so hard I struggled to reach my emergency stop!!)

    What I found in DR was that the values are always moving and I had tuned them too close, so at the start line my sim was still shaking even before the car set off. Once I upped the values in the Tuning centre and increased the Axis %, I was getting much better movement.

    My resulting values are very similar to what you have found. The actual output for the game is in the fractions on some of the values, heave for example can go between 0.0054 and -1.xxxxx, so of course the closer you try to get to those numbers, the more "sensitive" the sim will be to large jumps in those numbers.

    I was trying to be tooooo fine. Clearly....
  16. Goatboy

    Goatboy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    New South Wales, Australia
    Balance:
    345Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    To me, it's as if the signal clips once main level is turned over 90%. I tried putting higher numbers in the tuning centre but it would only completely wash out the desired effect and just leave the jittery effect as if you were driving a solid suspension car down a cobblestone road. Tuning it further today, a test would be at the start line, if I rev the car the seat motion should settle, and the motion when the engine idles shouldn't be excessive. I wasn't able to achieve that whilst main level was anywhere between 92%-100%
  17. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,401Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Are any of you actually monitoring the Axis output while running ? Might help you guys isolate and pin point sketchy forces. Yes Dirt struggles with Sway and somewhat for good reason. The car is on Dirt therefor its Constantly wanting to go sideways with the way you steer into corners and such I spend a Bunch of time on Sway one day and determined its in General Super Sketchy data and there's not much we can do about it, Even filtering the crap out of sway didn't help. Add in the fact that the Physics engine works in such a way that its Very rarely a Solid Positive number or negative number for a very long period of time in the data, Surge for example again, will Constantly want to twitch due to how the engine is coded with the On throttle Off throttle effect, The Pre start and Post "shake down" modes prove that DR doesn't really care about what data is being output at those points.

    Traction loss seems to work The treat in DR, with a setting of 18 on my MIN/MAX, i can sit behind buddy driving and watch the Utter perfect linearity in the TL axis, the Big Hand brake moments is a Very quick moment and feels Utterly Perfect.

    Barrel rolling in this game is a FLIPPING INTENSE feeling, First time i happened i near crapped my pants. The Feeling of weightlessness and the SLAM SLAM as the 2 sets of tires slam the gravel as it goes over again, BAM BAM, Light feeling, BAM BAM, light feeling, BAM BAM as the car cones to a stop, your left in utter amazement as to what you just felt/seen.


    As for tuning with the Main % slider. Im not a fan of that, your Physically removing data points from the games data and I personally want to run thing's at 100%, and not miss a Single data point.

    600/600 on JRK and 100% on Profiler.......If you got it, Run it!!!!


    Im still baffled how i can run a heave of 13-15 and get perfect surface detail, and some of you guys are around 1-2, which makes no sense to me.
  18. Goatboy

    Goatboy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    New South Wales, Australia
    Balance:
    345Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes I'm monitoring Axis output.

    Surge shakes like someone with alzheimer's when main level is set to 100% and tuning center numbers are in single digits (this is all whilst car isn't moving and I'm standing on the brake). If tuning center is set higher for surge like at 10 for example, jitters are reduced slightly but so is the influence surge has on motion, ie no movement is experience at the seat when on and off the throttle or whilst braking.

    With main level at 90% I've been able to tune it so I feel engine revs , brake and throttle surge, sway whilst turning in , the pitch and roll of the road and road surface but the most fun of all...jumps. And yes JRK are at 600 , PID 37/0/50 and only shutdowns are coming from a soon to be replaced PSU. It might not be how you've done it, but as you said, the data is in general super sketchy, this is what works best for my setup.
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2016
  19. MAYA One

    MAYA One Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    china
    Balance:
    426Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Thank you so much !!
  20. Masilicondrio

    Masilicondrio New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Uruguay
    Balance:
    144Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Is the plugin source code avialable? (If not i try to make a plugin alternative)
    Its not working in my computer, the config is OK, the port 4123 is sending data... checked with netcat... redirecting port 20777 to 4123 with netcat or Codemaster Proxy not work :(

    Any advice?

    Thanks and sorry for my english :)