1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Tutorial Cheat Engine - How to find Memory Hook Pointers for Star Wars Squadrons

Discussion in 'SimTools Plugins' started by SilentChill, Nov 1, 2020.

  1. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,601
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,896Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,427 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    My poor attempt at a tutorial how to find pointers for motion telemtry using cheat engine. This is the same for any game really so hope it helps someone :)


    • Like Like x 5
    • Winner Winner x 3
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,775
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    121,899Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,633 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  4. MarkusB

    MarkusB Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    3,995Coins
    Ratings:
    +541 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    For me this is exactly the right moment for such a tutorial, so thanks a bunch, @SilentChill. I started working myself into Cheat Engine some days ago for getting updated pointers for Lunar Flight, with great support from @Icy7CE.

    I will check out your video asap. Already saw your Squadrons motion video on Youtube, so that I already knew that you managed to get the memory hooks. :thumbs
    • Like Like x 2
  5. MarkusB

    MarkusB Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    3,995Coins
    Ratings:
    +541 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thanks again for taking the time to make this tutorial. It was my choice of tonight's entertainment program and I still don't understand why my wife refused to join me and preferred one of these boring hollywood blockbusters.

    I got some new insights and maybe I will give Lunar Flight another try now, hoping that not only the force, but also the needed patience will be with me.

    And I am looking forward to the Star Wars Squadrons plugin, now that you have determined the pointers.

    PS: It‘s great how you managed to cheat the Cheat Engine!
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,312
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,817Coins
    Ratings:
    +292 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Good job Craig ! (y)
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    855
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    6,940Coins
    Ratings:
    +812 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Girlfriends do not understand true video entertainment. :rolleyes:
    Just tested Squadron last evening (no motion). I am looking foward to look at that video.
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Wagnard

    Wagnard Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    338
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    3,088Coins
    Ratings:
    +409 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    It is quite a good video, I mostly do.the same for Elite.
    I have a simtools plugin for squadrons (XML style) with fresh new pointers (@SilentChill yours were not working since update).
    It has roll pitch surge and yaw. Not sure if it is worth releasing considering the users have to disable easyanticheat and do firewall stuff to be able to hook to the process.
    Anyway let me know
    • Like Like x 2
  9. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,601
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,896Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,427 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Its entirely upto you mate, plenty of people want it but like you say its a pain in the ass to get going and you can't play online
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    855
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    6,940Coins
    Ratings:
    +812 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I would be willing to test it.
    I have no intention to play online lately.
  11. Wagnard

    Wagnard Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    338
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    3,088Coins
    Ratings:
    +409 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Check pm
  12. KydDynoMyte

    KydDynoMyte Fool's Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    RTP, NC
    Balance:
    214Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    It'd be a shame to not release it. What firewall stuff? I uninstalled eac and swapped names of the launcher and game exe around to get CE working with it when it released. I haven't played since an update or two ago though. Did you happen to see angle data for yaw when you were in there?
  13. MarkusB

    MarkusB Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    536
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    3,995Coins
    Ratings:
    +541 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I would also like to check out your PlugIn, @Wagnard.
  14. Wagnard

    Wagnard Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    338
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    3,088Coins
    Ratings:
    +409 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I'm currently testing it with someone. I'll release it if it's working correctly.
    I might not maintain it as religiously as Elite Dangerous because this game is a pain with pointers and value and it annoy me to not be able to clearly identify the heave or sway for example.
    Let's stop hijacking SilentChill thread with my plugin / plugin request now.

    @SilentChill In your tutorial you tough you had to disconnect your internet because there was an error when starting the game even when you block the .exe in the firewall.
    You can avoid this by also blocking the "starwarssquadrons_launcher.exe"
    You can then launch with the internet enabled.
    Blocking the main game executable was not enough.
    No need to block steam.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2020
  15. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,601
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,896Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,427 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Ahh nice one good to know :)