1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Lesson chaos wiring?

Discussion in 'Electronic and hardware generally' started by Pit, Feb 7, 2015.

  1. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,996
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,286Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,003 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    If YOU think, you have all under control, in this case you can miss this thread. If your wiring looks like the picture below:
    Chaos under control.jpg
    you should have this:
    breadboard.jpg
    or this:
    mini_breadboard.jpg
    or this:
    raspberry_pi_breadboard.jpg
    If YOU do not know, what it is - it is called a

    BREADBOARD

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Breadboard

    Happy building!
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    OCD, OCD OCD!!!!!
    (obsessive compulsive disorder)
    :grin
  3. fzxj520

    fzxj520 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    SimTools is a generic Motion Simulator
    Balance:
    1,079Coins
    Ratings:
    +58 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Good idea! Already on my shopping list :cheers
  4. christian

    christian Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Germany/München
    Balance:
    943Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5, SimforceGT
  5. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,928
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,222Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,851 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  6. xStouf

    xStouf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    458Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    What a nice wiring, very clear and so easy to sort :D
    Now, find this short !
  7. Ben V

    Ben V Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Balance:
    86Coins
    Ratings:
    +44 / 0 / -0
    As a professional Electrician, I've become a big fan of a product we call wire ducting. It's available in a wide variety of colors and sizes to suit the job at hand.
    ABB-Q-Duct.jpg

    Most wires can just be routed out the slots already in the sides. For larger wire sizes, the "tabs" can be snapped off quite easily if you flex them to the outside. I usually leave a little bit of extra wire in a zig-zag shape inside the ducting, so if you want to move a wire to a different terminal later on, you don't have to extend or shorten it.

    Here are a couple examples of panels I've done with wire ducting:

    20150220_123216.jpg 20150313_165726.jpg
    PLCs in a control cabinet.

    20150109_122222.jpg 20140904_125622.jpg
    12V & 120V Marine style breaker panel interconnects
    • Like Like x 4
    • Useful Useful x 4
  8. xStouf

    xStouf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    458Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    This is very usefull, thank you for the tip !
  9. Alexey

    Alexey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    451
    Occupation:
    Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    7,854Coins
    Ratings:
    +601 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    [​IMG]

    Neat, cheap, effective.

    Self adhesive sticky tie bases and cable ties.
    • Like Like x 4
    • Useful Useful x 1
  10. Gabriel Vuelma Romanzini

    Gabriel Vuelma Romanzini Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Occupation:
    SolidWorks User
    Location:
    Nova Prata - Brasil
    Balance:
    505Coins
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0 / -0
  11. Gabriel Vuelma Romanzini

    Gabriel Vuelma Romanzini Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Occupation:
    SolidWorks User
    Location:
    Nova Prata - Brasil
    Balance:
    505Coins
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0 / -0
  12. tombo

    tombo Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    269
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    2,302Coins
    Ratings:
    +244 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    For my finished cables I always use this
    [​IMG]

    I don't know the name. But it's wrapped around cables in automobiles and it gives a very good look.

    Here is a picture of two cables I made with this. (make shure to inlarge so you can zoom in ;))
    IMG_3633.jpg

    For me the Breadboard didn't help to reduce the wiremess :p
    2015-06-27 12.17.07.jpg
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2015
  13. Gabriel Vuelma Romanzini

    Gabriel Vuelma Romanzini Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Occupation:
    SolidWorks User
    Location:
    Nova Prata - Brasil
    Balance:
    505Coins
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0 / -0
    Other simple tip that almost all already know is to use:

    [​IMG]

    That Helps a lot :)

    And if you don't have it you can pass a insulating tape around the wires...

    To isolate you can also use Heat Shrink tubing:

    [​IMG]
    • Useful Useful x 1
  14. Oz_gadget

    Oz_gadget New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Messages:
    9
    Occupation:
    retired
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Balance:
    125Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I spent many years in data centres doing cable management on server racks
    always preferred building a rack myself 'greenfield' rather than working on trying to unf@#k someone elses catastrophe, some of the most otherwise diligent and intelligent sysadmins would somehow lose all common sense when physically racking a server...

    I always staged any cabling with double-sided velcro tape, similar to this stuff
    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/400...chweb0_0,searchweb201602_6,searchweb201603_52
    it comes in a range of widths, 2"/50mm, 1"/25mm or even narrower ~10mm & 5mm
    the smaller stuff is great for doing thinner cables and small runs.
    the wider stuff will obviously hold together better and helps keep a linear direction as well
    its more expensive than buying cable ties, but cheaper in the long run as you can reuse.

    this stuff is excellent for staging/preparing your cable runs, flexible in allowing quick changing of runs and robust enough to leave in place once finalised.
    • Like Like x 1
  15. dododge

    dododge Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    649Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    For bundling cables I'm a big fan of "Flexo F6". Pretty much the only downside is that you have to heat-seal any cuts you make to keep them from fraying. A hot knife makes that easy if you've got one handy, and I've managed to use a lighter as well.



    The bundles can then be strapped down with velcro ties as needed.

    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 1