1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Change to 6DOF with XX motors for Racing

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Stefan4DOF, Feb 17, 2021.

  1. Stefan4DOF

    Stefan4DOF New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Denmark
    Balance:
    165Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    PROBLEM with controller

    The controller crashes very often when i turn the dial on the remote.
    See picture.
    But if i remove the cable in between, there are no crashes?? then i tried with one of the cables i use for the servos drives, it only matches to the plug on the top, but it was working.
    Thanos-problem2.jpg thanos-problem1.jpg Thanos-problem3.jpg
    @Thanos have you seen the problem i have?

    It could be my cable. But just to be sure, can there be another reason in the combination of using the plug in the Bottom wall and a cable?
  2. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,124
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,859Coins
    Ratings:
    +896 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Its the cable... it was designed for male-male straight 1:1 cable or directly...

    IMG_20210502_063657.jpg

    Thanks
    Thanos
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    850
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    6,914Coins
    Ratings:
    +811 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    All seams to go pretty well. Keep on the good work.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Stefan4DOF

    Stefan4DOF New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Denmark
    Balance:
    165Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    Calibration / position issue

    @Thanos as you know i am using the AC servo drives 80ST-M04025.
    When i turn them on and they are calibrating with the AMC-AASD15A on, they then hit the calibration pin (end stop) and move back up in park. So far so good.
    But when i then use the button "down" on the controller the lever moves all the way down and hits the end stop.
    This cannot be good if i set that motion to 100% in a game or during test as it will hit the end stop every time.
    Is there a way to make an offset of the calibration setpoint relative to the end stop?

    And thank you for the help regarding the cable issue.
  5. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,124
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,859Coins
    Ratings:
    +896 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF

    There is the rotation offset parameter that you can change how many degrees will move away from the calibration position...

    But should not hit the end stop after, can you post a video of how it hits the calibration position? Maybe your "hard" stop is not that much hard and pushes it back abit. Maybe you can even use contactless limit switch sensors. See this:

    • Like Like x 1
  6. Stefan4DOF

    Stefan4DOF New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2020
    Messages:
    17
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Denmark
    Balance:
    165Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 4DOF
    Hi Thanos

    Thank you
    I tried to adjust it but did not recalibrate every time :)
    i see it is working now.

    Hint:
    Do not adjust the offset too high, as you might see the servos act as mine. They move to calibration point and the first that reach the point stop all, then move back to the offset point, after that the rest continue towards calibration point and so on. In my case the big offset gave a "bad" angle of the platform and disassembled one of the joints.
    If you are not sure about the limits of the platform, be ready to shut down the servos ;-)

    lucky my setup is a test setup and made to let go in the joints without breaking much :)

    after 4 attempts i finally found a good calibration point and offset:

    20.jpg 18.jpg 22.jpg
    • Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 1