1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

CarDashX : TM1638 sketch for GameDash

Discussion in 'Official Companion Apps' started by vthinsel, Aug 26, 2015.

  1. vthinsel

    vthinsel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    359
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    4,472Coins
    Ratings:
    +458 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hello,

    To display something else that pure digits as it is today, you should make a function like printModule(int time,int pad, int side) and call it where relevant. This is how I would proceed. This function would calculate h,m,s,ms and display them accordingly. On a 8 segments, it would use pretty much all digits
    Cheers
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. Tiago Amorim

    Tiago Amorim New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    75Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Hello! I made the connections Arduino Nano V3 with the TM1638 board. How do I install the Game Dash and put to work with iRacing? Sorry for the beginner question and thanks for the code!
  3. vthinsel

    vthinsel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    359
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    4,472Coins
    Ratings:
    +458 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    • Like Like x 1
  4. xmarciex

    xmarciex New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Occupation:
    na
    Location:
    germany
    Balance:
    117Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    do i need these plugins for working? soory new here and can´t understand it
  5. dedas

    dedas Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    99
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    274Coins
    Ratings:
    +63 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Nice project, i got a TM1638 module somewhere. When i find it i'll give it a try :thumbs
  6. vthinsel

    vthinsel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    359
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    4,472Coins
    Ratings:
    +458 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hello,
    CarDashX was my first attempt to make a basic dashboard. Now I realize 8 digits and 8 leds are not enough.... so let me introduce my last in-progress project : DashX2
    [​IMG]

    2x8 digits modules, split in 4 zones of 4 digits, a dedicated gear indicator, and 16 RGB LEDS.
    No more buttons to configure the dash, but configuration will be done through command line (startup commands, saved in EEPROM as well).
    LEDS percentage of RPM, color pattern, max gear , ... all those will be configurable through serial link.
    The beauty of Arduino makes all this possible by using only 4 pins (2 additional for power as well)
    I'll also make a 3D case, to wrap all this :)

    Merry XMas and see you in 2017 for more news on this !
    • Like Like x 7
  7. cazsan

    cazsan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    337Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Very nice upgrade of your current dash! This gives somes ideas.
    Nice work tho'
  8. mys3lf

    mys3lf New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Occupation:
    Designer
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    71Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Once again great job... i assume the code will be diferent and the connection. I will wait for the code if you will release it... :)
  9. vthinsel

    vthinsel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    359
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    4,472Coins
    Ratings:
    +458 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    The code base is the same, but the syntax will change a little. And yes, I will publish it :)
    • Like Like x 4
  10. williampontes

    williampontes New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Balance:
    183Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Thanks a lot guys for the codes I'm coming back to run and this will be nice!
  11. Domingo Luna

    Domingo Luna New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    dominican republic
    Balance:
    - 138Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hello, I like this project I have the display JY-LKM1638 I made the connections in my arduino nano, install the sketch to this point all right, in the simtools game dash I put the configuration as such as detellan in the tutorial, the display starts showing well cardash in the 7 segment displays. when i enter the game pcars2 everything in simtools works but the display stays off. I need to know if there is another configuration to do. I hope someone helps me.

    Attached Files:

  12. vthinsel

    vthinsel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    359
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    4,472Coins
    Ratings:
    +458 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi. Have you configured properly gamedash settings and enabled it in the game plugin settings ?
    You can use a terminal to send Y5S95G2R4250T5000L3P12R for example to make sure that everything on the arduino side (if you get cardash displayed, chances are everything is OK but you never know).
    Cheers, and enjoy CarDashX !
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  13. Domingo Luna

    Domingo Luna New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    dominican republic
    Balance:
    - 138Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino

    when I connect it starts normal it presents this screen that says CarDash as in the photo.


    then it appears on the screen 1 25525 as in the picture I sent you.



    When I start the project cars or the code that you sent me, the displays turn off as in the image



    I sent you photo of the gamedash configuration


    I hope you can help me with this topic. I did a test from simhub and it works fine. 3.jpg 1.jpg 2.jpg 4.jpg 5.jpg