1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here!

CarDashX : TM1638 sketch for GameDash

Discussion in 'Official Companion Apps' started by vthinsel, Aug 26, 2015.

Share This Page

  1. vthinsel

    vthinsel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    282
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    2,726Coins
    Ratings:
    +330 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Yes, some copy/paste/edit should work at some point. Buttons should also be changed : only 2 buttons needed on module 2.
    I must say the way I detect which indicator should be printed where is a bit confusing.....
    Good luck :)
  2. mys3lf

    mys3lf New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Occupation:
    Designer
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    - 3Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    I will try to figure out how to do that... i will get another sketch with working 2 tm1638 for pcars but its for pc version i think the process and the values will be the some. And i will keep informe here... Wich me luck.... :popcorn

    OFFTOPIC:
    there is some preview date to release of simtools 2.0 the cardashX and gamedash will be compatible?
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7,928
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    68,692Coins
    Ratings:
    +5,550 / 27 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. vthinsel

    vthinsel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    282
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    2,726Coins
    Ratings:
    +330 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Laptime added in plugin output is dash16.
    Now, some tweaking in GameDash and probably CarDashX will be needed as CarDashX was not initilly designed to display time. Plugin outputs time in milli seconds.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  5. vthinsel

    vthinsel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    282
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    2,726Coins
    Ratings:
    +330 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @mboloo : this will depend on the game plugin you use. For Project Cars as an example you have the tank capacity and current level :
    upload_2016-5-24_8-45-55.png
    We could imagine using the 8 LEDS to display gasoline instead of RPMs, which is something you can already do now : RPM becomes FuelLevel and maxRPM becomes FuelCapa.
    • Like Like x 1
  6. mys3lf

    mys3lf New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Occupation:
    Designer
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    - 3Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    i made the adjustment to implent the laptime and its running but i cant do to display in the format : mm:ss:SSS. there is someone can send or say how can i display in that format. i have trying to tweak in gamedash but no lucky.... here is the code i have modified

    Attached Files:

  7. mys3lf

    mys3lf New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Occupation:
    Designer
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    - 3Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    The letter i have include in the code was "I" so in gamedash add I<Dash16>
  8. vthinsel

    vthinsel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    282
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    2,726Coins
    Ratings:
    +330 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hello,

    To display something else that pure digits as it is today, you should make a function like printModule(int time,int pad, int side) and call it where relevant. This is how I would proceed. This function would calculate h,m,s,ms and display them accordingly. On a 8 segments, it would use pretty much all digits
    Cheers
    • Informative Informative x 1
  9. Tiago Amorim

    Tiago Amorim New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    2Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Hello! I made the connections Arduino Nano V3 with the TM1638 board. How do I install the Game Dash and put to work with iRacing? Sorry for the beginner question and thanks for the code!
  10. vthinsel

    vthinsel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    282
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    2,726Coins
    Ratings:
    +330 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    • Like Like x 1
  11. xmarciex

    xmarciex New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Occupation:
    na
    Location:
    germany
    Balance:
    52Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    do i need these plugins for working? soory new here and can´t understand it
  12. dedas

    dedas Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    95
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    267Coins
    Ratings:
    +53 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Nice project, i got a TM1638 module somewhere. When i find it i'll give it a try :thumbs
  13. vthinsel

    vthinsel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    282
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    2,726Coins
    Ratings:
    +330 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hello,
    CarDashX was my first attempt to make a basic dashboard. Now I realize 8 digits and 8 leds are not enough.... so let me introduce my last in-progress project : DashX2
    [​IMG]

    2x8 digits modules, split in 4 zones of 4 digits, a dedicated gear indicator, and 16 RGB LEDS.
    No more buttons to configure the dash, but configuration will be done through command line (startup commands, saved in EEPROM as well).
    LEDS percentage of RPM, color pattern, max gear , ... all those will be configurable through serial link.
    The beauty of Arduino makes all this possible by using only 4 pins (2 additional for power as well)
    I'll also make a 3D case, to wrap all this :)

    Merry XMas and see you in 2017 for more news on this !
    • Like Like x 7
  14. cazsan

    cazsan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    210Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Very nice upgrade of your current dash! This gives somes ideas.
    Nice work tho'
  15. mys3lf

    mys3lf New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Occupation:
    Designer
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    - 3Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Once again great job... i assume the code will be diferent and the connection. I will wait for the code if you will release it... :)
  16. vthinsel

    vthinsel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    282
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    2,726Coins
    Ratings:
    +330 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    The code base is the same, but the syntax will change a little. And yes, I will publish it :)
    • Like Like x 4
  17. williampontes

    williampontes New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Thanks a lot guys for the codes I'm coming back to run and this will be nice!

Share This Page