1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Button Boxes - What do people usually map to the buttons?

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Archie, Mar 30, 2015.

  1. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,081
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,366 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    As my Sim evolves a Button box seems to be one of those "must haves"...

    What are the most common functions that people map to these?
    What purpose do they serve?

    (Apart from looking cool :) )
    • Funny Funny x 1
  2. kanuk

    kanuk If it ain't moving, it ain't simulating... Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    214
    Occupation:
    Eng
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    Balance:
    2,216Coins
    Ratings:
    +202 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, JRK
    quick access to functions I suppose. Without needing to use a keyboard. Plus increasing the realism factor. not to mention the cool cool factor..... ;)

    But really I would prefer to have button boxes on my sim rather than a keyboard. I need to make a couple for Elite and then let it double up for GRID. Anyone got any ideas for an Elite button box?

    the functions I wold use it for in a Race Sim would be specific to my views, traction aid, brake aid, steering aid, "Help I cant drive! CAll Schumacher!" button......
    And a myriad of others :D
  3. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,081
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,366 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yeah, see that's where I guess I question my need for one... I start the game and then never really mess with anything else other than the views (that my G27 buttons are mapped to anyway)

    Not sure what I would use one for..... (hence my question :) )
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,612
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    96,472Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,106 / 40 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I think it depends on your focus/passion, a racing or flight panel are cool for further immersion.

    :thumbs I thought your own JRK reset and monitoring button box is one very cool generic use @Archie: http://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/jrk-reset-switch.57/

    On the functionality rather than game side I am currently kicking around switch box ideas that encompass your JRK reset, a kill switch and sound/haptic controls.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. GIB SimRacing

    GIB SimRacing Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    Balance:
    1,446Coins
    Ratings:
    +245 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    When I was using rFactor, I had buttons set up for all sorts of things. Brake bias, lights, launch control, driving aids, pit request,.....but I never really got to use them as much as I thought. The ignition and engine start buttons are the ones I used a lot, just for immersion and that cool factor.:cool:

    The most useful thing I found was having buttons assigned to things like ENTER, ESC, ALT, TAB plus the UP, DOWN, LEFT and RIGHT arrows which I use for in car seat adjustment.
    Plus if you think about online racing, you could assign one button to "push-to-talk" for a headset.
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,753
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,411Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,459 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    My button box's, With Included Handbrake and LED revcounter

    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 3
  7. Daguru

    Daguru Rally drivers do it in the mud

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    521
    Occupation:
    window cleaner
    Location:
    Wales uk
    Balance:
    698Coins
    Ratings:
    +494 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,753
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,411Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,459 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Had 2-3 of them kicking around, Why not use em. :grin The Hand brake was an after thought, (HEY there's a Pot in here i can use as a HandBrake) Promptly pulls out the parts bag and re installed the Throttle Paddle. Whamo Hand brake.
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Daguru

    Daguru Rally drivers do it in the mud

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    521
    Occupation:
    window cleaner
    Location:
    Wales uk
    Balance:
    698Coins
    Ratings:
    +494 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    One stop shop lol
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,753
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,411Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,459 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Also for guys with Tablet's, Look into Roccat Power Grid, Has customization Grids to download or you can make your own, as seen on my tablet.

    Bailey made a Real nice one for AC i have yet to get up and running,

    http://power-grid.roccat.org/en/Home/
    • Useful Useful x 1
  11. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,753
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,411Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,459 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  12. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,081
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,366 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    OMG - Just Googled the Simraceway wheel. What a complete heap of crap that thing is! A Wii wheel for the PC.

    Best Idea to use the buttons though, that HAS to be the only benefit of that wheel :)
  13. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I map mine to some commands in the game itself.
    Camera view mostly with what I play. and some quick chat buttons when I play Race07 , sry (sorry) when I bump someone off , nprob (no problem when someone bumps me off track and says sorry), WTF? self explanatory towards wreckers in game , go past ( to tell a car faster than me to go around me as I am making room for them)
    I have a switch for headlights, but never use it.
    20150331_102301[1].jpg
  14. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,753
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,411Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,459 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK

    I rocked it for a while hard mounted to a G27, It did it's duties but at the same time was never designed for FFB therefor is a little on the weak side for the hand grips. I re-enforced mine and never had a problem, but knew it was only a matter of time until that "one correction" would snap the hand grip off as soo many have discovered when u mount it to a wheel base.

    [​IMG]

    Simple plate mod, wasn't going to waste 100$+ on a Simulaje or w/e its called quick mount, I also ran the wire down the center to avoid any hanging wires.

    [​IMG]
    • Useful Useful x 1