1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom Building my SCN5 race rig.

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Rinus janssens, Nov 25, 2013.

  1. Rinus janssens

    Rinus janssens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Occupation:
    environmental construction
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    2,064Coins
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    The idee off building myself a simrig is a wish I had for a couple of years but for some reason I'll never started building. Till a friend of mine Erwin (Levi) who has a modified frex simulator gave me the leftover alu profiles as a starter kit.
    Alu Frex Profile.jpg

    Simxperience actuators and red damper dust caps, a power supply and rs485 adapters,
    compleet set scn5.jpg

    then I made a cat drawing with the exact measures of the rig. I included the measures and angles for the seat pivot and actuators,
    Cat Drawing.jpg Afmetingen stoel.png

    To complete the needed materials I ordered lots of aluminium from Germany,

    Profiles.jpg IMG-20130621-WA0003.jpg IMG-20130621-WA0004.jpg IMG-20130621-WA0005.jpg Rubbers.jpg

    The pivot was made by a colleague ad my at work,

    Pivot.jpg

    After I got all the materials together I started sawing al the aluminium in the right lengths in my workshop,

    Workshop.jpg

    Afther two days off sawing I started to put everything together starting with the crown of the rig,
    building seat.jpg building rig.jpg

    Mounted the rot ends, just to be sure

    Pushrots 1.jpg pushrots 2.jpg Pivot mounted.jpg pushrots 3.jpg
    To make it possible that other people can have a comfortable seat I mounted a slider under pedals so they are adjustable,
    Pedal reversekit 1.jpg Pedals sledge mounted.jpg

    Then I had another problem to overcome, my screen don't have a vesa mounting so I build a triplescreen standaard on the fly,

    Tripple screen 1.jpg Tripple screen 2.jpg Tripple screen 3.jpg Tripple screen 4.jpg Tripple screen 5.jpg

    Time for the suspension from the actuators and rig,

    Building dempers.jpg pushrots 3.jpg

    Making the xRinulator box and the connection with the actuators. I used comports to make this connection and I used this
    SCN5 connection diagram with killswitch and ilk protection.GIF scheme to connect everythim

    Making Box 1.jpg Making Box 2.jpg Making Box 3.jpg com female.jpg 20130715_171159.jpg Making Box ready.jpg box in axtion.jpg 20130715_171204.jpg 20130715_171041.jpg Com Male 2.jpg

    Then mounted the SCN5 actuators,

    Actuators mounted back.jpg Actuators mounted side.jpg

    In the meantime I had a 24 our race at Racedepartment so "ll finished the seat without the movement,
    IMG-20130708-WA0014.jpg IMG-20130708-WA0012.jpg

    A few days later I connected everything and made a first run with it.

    • Like Like x 6
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2017
  2. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,593
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,573Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,647 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Try again mate, drag and drop the pictures to the text area, I convert mine to .png maybe try that.
    Would love to hear how it all came together for you.
    Thanks.
  3. RaceRay

    RaceRay Administrator Staff Member SimAxe Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,617
    Occupation:
    Self-employed | Web and application development
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Balance:
    24,483Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,216 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, SimAxe, SimforceGT
    Beautiful sim:thumbs

    Profiles.jpg

    I´ve totally forgotten how many meter of aluminium profiles it needs for a complete setup:D
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2013
  4. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,593
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,573Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,647 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    A very nice build thanks again for sharing the info.
  5. Rinus janssens

    Rinus janssens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Occupation:
    environmental construction
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    2,064Coins
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    Thnx, in total I used 30meter of 3x3 alu profiles :) oh and two sawing blades :grin
  6. Erwin levasier

    Erwin levasier Rare Endurance Team

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Ijmuiden netherlands
    Balance:
    291Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    And i can say: it's a blast :)
    Jarno a team member behind the wheels :)


    And myself in Rinus his motionsimulator :)

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 3
  7. Erwin levasier

    Erwin levasier Rare Endurance Team

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Ijmuiden netherlands
    Balance:
    291Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    And the builder himself behind the wheels :)

    • Like Like x 1
  8. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,593
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,573Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,647 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Nice simulators indeed.
    One question on your profiles, the change of gear sends the driver forwards, to me that gives the wrong feel, I tend to reverse this to give the feel of the rear end bitting down on a gear change. Have you guys tried it that way. ?
  9. prodigy

    prodigy Burning revs

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Croatia
    Balance:
    6,353Coins
    Ratings:
    +373 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    That depends if it was downshifting or upshifting, naturally upshift would push you back when the gear changes and wheels bite, downshifting would slow you down, machine is braking and pushing you forward.

    Where is that part that you're refering to @eaorobbie?
    • Like Like x 1
  10. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,593
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,573Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,647 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Never thought of it that way, a lot more correct in what you are saying , thanks.
    In SimTools the gear change effect is felt in Surge and on SeatMover setup I invert this feeling so when changing up a gear it throws you back, same on Accelleration and breaking throws you forward, As we are only simulating Surge, because most of rigs do not surge forwards or backwards, I use the rotation of the seat in pitch, to simulate the surge. Forward Surge (Accel) is pitching back and Backward Surge (breaking ) id pitching forward. This motion is very rapid and short so not to feel like a pitching motion, as in changing gear is a very rapid pitch back and back to centre, in Grid2 its that harsh it almost takes you breath away. And yes downshifting is a slight pitch forwards, very slight.
    If our rigs simulated surge properly , we would use a x table to slide the rig forwards and backwards , @lee1970 has shown this with his rig successfully and yes he sets the direction correctly, to a very nice effect, in 2DOF we need to remember we can set roll and pitch to look realistic but we can only simulate the Surge and Sway and Heave.
  11. Erwin levasier

    Erwin levasier Rare Endurance Team

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Ijmuiden netherlands
    Balance:
    291Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Hmmmmm good point, i will ask Rinus to reply :)
  12. RufusDufus

    RufusDufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    681
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Balance:
    12,804Coins
    Ratings:
    +933 / 7 / -1
    Hi Rinus, While the discussion is on the gear change motion I have a question... Are you using Simtools? The reason I ask is that on my sim using Simtools with iRacing the gear change motion is really significant (much more than in other race games I have). To me it is a bit over the top compared to the rest of the game motion eg. acceleration/braking etc. I have been meaning to ask @value1 or @yobuddy if this motion is generated by Simtools or the game and this thread just reminded me.

    Interested in your thoughts as I notice you are using iRacing.
  13. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,593
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,573Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,647 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    With that graphical dash setup it looks like Xsim and they mention using Sim Commander(SimX) on the butkicker, so yes a good question what is driving everything please.
    And gear change is part of the surge. Its not separate like the other software.
  14. Rinus janssens

    Rinus janssens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Occupation:
    environmental construction
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    2,064Coins
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    Sorry for the late response on your questions.

    I really don't know what you guys are talking about because:

    First of all I only play rF2 and iRacing.
    Till now I use X-sim and Logycal E69 motion software with these games.

    Logycal has my preference because it is very easy to use. It is really click and play but the movements are a little bit fierce.
    X-sim I'll use because with plugins from members of the forum it is quit easy to use.
    I am a real noob when it comes to make my one motion plugins so I use only plugins from other X-sim users like Bleco which where fine till now.

    As a real noob my hoop was with Simtools but till now I didn't succeed, I installed Simtools, followed the instruction letter by letter and read the manuals tree times but I cant get good motion out of it. I simply don't understand how it works even do I read the manual several times.
    I get motion with only Pitch and Roll but it moves like I am on a boot. I don't know how to set all the axis with sway, surge, heave and yaw.

    For a noob like me Simtools and the manual isn't as simple as to you guys. So I kept/keep using X-sim till I understand Simtools completely.
    Maybe one of you guys can help me a bit ?

    Btw the dash is powered by dashmeter pro and the buttkicker with simvibe all klick and play not to difficult :blush
  15. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,593
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,573Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,647 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    I thought the scn5 setup was completed I m sure our Master(scn5)Yoda had got it all working nicely, think you may need to bother him for a profile or two to play with. SimTools is so much simpler to use than xsim , its not funny.
    The motion we can achieve from the plugins is a world apart from the others.
    BTW we have developed dash support for SimTools, its not as good as DashMeter Pro but we are getting there.
  16. RaceRay

    RaceRay Administrator Staff Member SimAxe Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,617
    Occupation:
    Self-employed | Web and application development
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Balance:
    24,483Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,216 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, SimAxe, SimforceGT
    @Rinus janssens When you post screenshots of your GameEngine and GameManager settings i bet we find the proper settings.
    Probably its only a small setting which has to be fixed.
  17. Rinus janssens

    Rinus janssens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Occupation:
    environmental construction
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    2,064Coins
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    I will post some screens asap.
  18. Rinus janssens

    Rinus janssens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Occupation:
    environmental construction
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    2,064Coins
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    $(KGrHqV,!rkFJUWf7Y1sBSej4I8qHg~~60_57.JPG $T2eC16d,!zcFIdw)qLYKBSej4OE2Qg~~60_57.JPG
    It took a bit for me to reply because my cheap ass power sup blew up on me with a big bang when I turned it on last Thursday.
    I tried to repair it but it wouldn't work anymore and I don't wont to take any risk with my actuators so I ordered a new one and installed it yesterday. I'll hoop it's of a better build quality then the one above.
    Its a Mean Well
    http://www.omvormer.nu/content/voed..._dc/300_watt_-_230v_ac_naar_24v_dc_-_12,5_amp
  19. Rinus janssens

    Rinus janssens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Occupation:
    environmental construction
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    2,064Coins
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    So and now for my simtools settings.... :)

    ST 1.jpg
    ST 2.jpg
    ST 3.jpg
    ST 4.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Rinus janssens

    Rinus janssens Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Occupation:
    environmental construction
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    2,064Coins
    Ratings:
    +89 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    The problem is:

    The car drives like a plane lol
    When I go uphill the chair leans all the way back en when I go downhill it leans maximal forwards.
    When there is a flat piece of road in the middle and I am driving half way it's like I cross a line. The seat go's from max back to max forward ?

    I don't feel any acceleration or decellaration.

    The shift feeling is much better then with all the other software. You where right about that eaorobbie.

    The feeling when I'm riding over curbs are fantastic I really feel the car lift on one side.

    It feels that its got lots of potential. so maybe one of you guys have some tips or game file.
    And maybe can tell me what I should do with it ?
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2013