1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom Building a new simulator

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by KamiFern, Jul 11, 2020.

  1. KamiFern

    KamiFern New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Sherbrooke, Canada
    Balance:
    601Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 4DOF
    After building simulators with 4 motors, I decided to do one with 6.

    I do not plan to change my G27. I replaced the brake for hydraulic 'Perfect Brake' that worked about 4 years before leaking and put back the OEM and added stiff rubber inside the spring. It is OK this way.

    Instead of triple monitors, I will use my Samsung Odyssey +

    I also keep my wiper motors that do not show signs of wear after 7 years of use.

    I did not draw parts I do not have to make which I consider a waste of time, Just bear with me.

    stn-6pub.jpg

    If you want more details, the pdf is a 3D model.

    Fern

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. KamiFern

    KamiFern New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Sherbrooke, Canada
    Balance:
    601Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 4DOF
    I also modified the motors to have the potentiometer inside the housing. I had blocks 3D printed and putted them inside with the wiper screwed to the gear. With a 12 bit ADC, it will give a reading precise enough.
    20200526_124058[1].jpg

    20200711_175728[1].jpg

    Fern

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
    • Creative Creative x 1
  4. KamiFern

    KamiFern New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Sherbrooke, Canada
    Balance:
    601Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 4DOF
    I was finaly able to tack weld some pieces today and my brother will do the weld properly. He is a true weldor. I cut most parts on my mill (this is very slow) and some will arrive shortly.
    20200909_184126_cr.jpg

    Fern
    • Like Like x 2
  5. KamiFern

    KamiFern New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Sherbrooke, Canada
    Balance:
    601Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 4DOF
    Finally completed!

    I am using 2 24V PSU 600w and 350w in parallel. They are set at 20.4v to protect my vnh5019 drivers. I limit their output to 13.5v.

    Fern

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 2
  6. noSaint

    noSaint New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Saturday
    Messages:
    14
    Balance:
    91Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Nice looking rig. Doesn't the vnh5019 come with built-in protection against reverse-voltage, over-voltage, under-voltage, over-temperature, and over-current?
    https://www.pololu.com/product/1451

    Do you have a video of the rig in action?
  7. KamiFern

    KamiFern New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Sherbrooke, Canada
    Balance:
    601Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 4DOF
    Yes there is protection but I understand it is safe up to 24v.

    No I do not have a vid in action as I am still configuring motions.

    Regards
    Fern
    • Like Like x 1
  8. PeterW

    PeterW alias Wickie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2018
    Messages:
    130
    Occupation:
    Dipl. Ing. Mb (FH)
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,166Coins
    Ratings:
    +288 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi Fern!
    Somehow i missed your thread last year. Hmmm..
    I really like the design of your sim! You have put some nice ideas into it! :thumbs
    It seems to be not expensive, but still a serious sim and not an arcade toy.
    Are the parts between your push-rods dampers or air springs? How much do they reduce the load from the platform?
    I look forward seeing a video!

    Wickie