1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Building a new 6DIY

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Flymen, Aug 22, 2018.

  1. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    429
    Balance:
    2,776Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    hey @Flymen what is the range of travel to you set you actuators?
    i think the others builders use 500mm ball screw and v-slot, but end up using 12-14 inches of effective actuator travel..

    im just wondering how you fair with you 600m design...
  2. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,434Coins
    Ratings:
    +120 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi ,
    Everything goes well , the only reason why i have 600 mm and not 500mm is because I had three of them *free* at my job if not 500mm is good too !
    the only mistake I did is buy 3 others cheap from Aliexpress ( made Japon ) who are very diferent and had not the same friction or resistance !!! and with this problem my set up with SMC3 is diferent for them ..like
    one have a curve , others have some scratch and make a lot of noise .
    • Like Like x 1
  3. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    429
    Balance:
    2,776Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    got it.
    totally understand!

    so bascially you have about 14" of workable actuator travel?
  4. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,434Coins
    Ratings:
    +120 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    yes , about
    15 ''
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Balance:
    588Coins
    Ratings:
    +68 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Respect, a very nice rig! :thumbs
    How many watts do the motors have? They look so small
  6. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,434Coins
    Ratings:
    +120 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Thanks !!
    Those motors have 1200w ( 80volt dc / 15 amps ) 4000 rpm without nothing and with me about 3500 rpm / 75 volt dc .
  7. Vitalius

    Vitalius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2018
    Messages:
    135
    Balance:
    588Coins
    Ratings:
    +68 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Wau, my engines have 350 watts 24V14.6A. I hope that keep me.:(:)
  8. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,434Coins
    Ratings:
    +120 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hello , new up date !!
    With those hot and humid temperature July and August I decided to put two fans. The dog is there for size reference. :) @Pierre Lalancette

    IMG_1701.JPG IMG_1702.JPG
    • Like Like x 2
    • Funny Funny x 2
  9. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    679
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,645Coins
    Ratings:
    +688 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    We have many problems here.

    First, the dog looks like is a puppy. How can we use it as a size reference if we don't know it exact age?

    Second, it looks like you had a spill around the chimney as your roof is spotted. You'll have to change those to have a perfect setting around your rig.

    Last but not least, one of the light is burned. You'll have to change it. I don't know if you have something around there that would be high enough to help you reach it?
    • Funny Funny x 2
  10. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,434Coins
    Ratings:
    +120 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    1-Yes it`s a Puppy Dog ( 15 weeks) . (I send you this Joke because yours was nice with your cat ! Je t`ai copié parce que j`avais bien aimé ta photo avec ton chat)
    2-The spill was last year around the chimney and everything is ok now but the parts with spot are still there !( Le spill d`eau etais l`annee passé et il est réparé mais je n`ai pas encore changé les thuiles )
    3-I have two set of switch for them ..( j`ai deux set d`interrupteur pour les allumer....Don't worry be happy... ;) )
    • Funny Funny x 2
  11. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    679
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,645Coins
    Ratings:
    +688 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Ok, it has 15 weeks. Now we can evaluate the real size of your rig.
    My cat was obviously an adult, giving a perfect size reference. Consider get yourself a cat for your next pictures.
    :p
    P.S. Your rig is way too good looking. It makes mine looks bad.
    • Funny Funny x 2
  12. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,434Coins
    Ratings:
    +120 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I received this part today from ( Kemo Electronic M012) to control two fans with 120 volt AC , I will try to control this with Arduino uno , 0-5 volt DC with filter … more info soon !!!

    I need this too ( M150 module ) … to control M012 :oops:

    Module M150 et M012 control 120 AC.png

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2019
  13. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    679
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,645Coins
    Ratings:
    +688 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Where's the cat?
    :p
    • Funny Funny x 2
  14. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,434Coins
    Ratings:
    +120 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Too hot day for my Puppy , at 24 pounds it realy a dog now !!!:grin
    I will need a new control M150 finaly( see over) . May be just a fan 12/24v DC would did a job too but....may be with less wind !! I don't know
    I use this way because at my work I had a couple of those fans 120v for free $ but with the control it realy more expensive !!!
    For the moment, I have a single switch on my dash ( rig) where i can put on /off to eliminate some fogging in my VR headset !
  15. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,434Coins
    Ratings:
    +120 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I received the M150 for the wind project and my new toy ( Ender 3 printer ) :thumbs I have a list of print parts for her .. like my first one ( out put red cone ) on Autodesk Fusion 360 /Cura .
    Next step to change Arduino is on the way too ...ESP-WROOM-32 @pmvcda
    Finaly , lots of work for this winter ...

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 5
  16. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    429
    Balance:
    2,776Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    higly recommend the BL touch auto level device for your ender 3...
  17. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,434Coins
    Ratings:
    +120 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Thanks , it's in my list !
    This Printer goes very well !! I did a support for this card .
    I must be patient to put all wires correcly :roll

    Attached Files:

    • Winner Winner x 1
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2019
  18. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    679
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,645Coins
    Ratings:
    +688 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Since I got through my one month of free SolidEdge, I will need to use something else to do my part if I want to take my 3D Printer out of hibernation.
    Fusion 360 was really nice, even though I was screaming at it all the time out of frustration (learning curve). But you seam to have it all under control. Those red cone are sweet!
    Why do you change those parts? Something wrong with the rig or just experimentation?
    Edit: Ok, the fans were not yet controlled by the game, right? They were just... Fans.
  19. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,434Coins
    Ratings:
    +120 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi Pierre !
    Yes, it's two things . first experimentation and the wind is more concentrate on me .
    Those fans will be contrôle by two modules M150 and M012 ( see pic above) with Arduino.

    Salut Pierre !
    Cest deux choses , premièrement pour ma premiere experience et pour concentrer le vent plus sur moi .
    Les Fans seront controlées par deux modules M150 et M012 avec Arduino …. voir le shema électrique a l' une des conversations précédentes .
  20. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,434Coins
    Ratings:
    +120 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    @pmvcda Hi , I would like your idea on this .
    1- Your hall sensor are HW , HV and HU and my mine are : Hall 1 , 2 , 3. If I mix them it's not realy important on the boad ESP32 or the timing must be important ?
    2- On the pic you will see your Ref + and Ref - , and my mine are : + v hall 6 v, 30 ma and Gnd . The ESP32 give maximum 3.3 volt PMW and with level 5.0 volt right ?
    So, missing 1 volt and filter RC for controlling this ….:think?
    Thanks !

    Sans titre1.png
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2019