1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Building a new 6DIY

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Flymen, Aug 22, 2018.

  1. Jeroen

    Jeroen Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    207Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Guess this is a joke?
  2. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,361Coins
    Ratings:
    +118 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF

    For a complet set up it's minimum 5000$
  3. Jeroen

    Jeroen Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Holland
    Balance:
    207Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Oh ok... I thought the question was for 1 actuator. Sorry...

    Very nice simulator you got there.
  4. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,361Coins
    Ratings:
    +118 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF

    Good news :grin:nerd !!!
    Finally , I found my problem . I must use two relay Opto 5vdc to control the drive and release the contact relay 24v and PSU 24 v . the response time is much faster like this !!

    Shema electrique Rig Simulateur 6 DOF.png
    • Winner Winner x 3
    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2019
  5. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    427
    Balance:
    2,762Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    now i see why @Flymen went for 30mm tube.. because the screwball thing is 28mm diameter!
  6. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,361Coins
    Ratings:
    +118 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    yes , you right !!!
  7. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    427
    Balance:
    2,762Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    wow.. i thought it would be easy following wannabeflyer's genius diagrams.. (i am super grateful for his shares)

    a bunch of problems to solve, if the actuator is to be done correctly... im not keen on 3d printer parts for the load bearing parts... as i have seen people printed adapters to join 25mm OD tube to the 28mm OD ball screw...

    if i had known earlier, i would have went 30mm tube as well... but i think i might go the epoxy route.. :/ :/
  8. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    427
    Balance:
    2,762Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    hey @Flymen what kind of material did you attach the bearings and ball screw nut housing? that plastic block material.. i like to know about it!
  9. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,361Coins
    Ratings:
    +118 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    yes , plastic PVC that was my last set up ! Now I have a New one !
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2019
  10. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    427
    Balance:
    2,762Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    this photo.. was your old setup? any pics of your new method of linear guide?

    Attached Files:

  11. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,361Coins
    Ratings:
    +118 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2019
  12. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    671
    Occupation:
    3D Technical Director
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    5,564Coins
    Ratings:
    +674 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    The link send us to a 80 volts? Aren't you gonna fry something? Usually, motor goes at 24v or 12v. Anyway, you know what you're doing. But then, you say 6 x 12 Volts. Maybe you don't know what your doing... :)

    I have 3 times 24 Volts / 12.5 Amps in parallele. I had no problem. No Diode or anything.
    I don't understand your regenerator problem with batteries.
  13. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    427
    Balance:
    2,762Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    hey @Flymen i like to ask, what size bolts did you use to attach your Vslot aluminum rails to your plates? i plan to use M5 bolts, but i am trying to figure out what length the boths should be...

    asking @wannabeaflyer2 as well.. :)
  14. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    606
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,105Coins
    Ratings:
    +793 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @hannibal if memory serves me well I used Set screws with at least 20 - 25mm Threaded into the Extrusion . remember the plate you use will be a factor in screw length , so overall I allowed for Support Plate material thickness + 20mm minimum , that ensured that I had at least 20mm Of full thread contact in the extrusion.. Hope this helps ,

    It may be overkill with thread depth but would not hurt so what the heck :) that's what I used in my assemblies
    :)
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,361Coins
    Ratings:
    +118 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    yes , 5mm was perfect for this without drilling and only tapping for me ! total length with v 30mm or 25 mm thread ! My plate have like 10 mm
  16. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,361Coins
    Ratings:
    +118 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Temporary set up to access on the seat !!

    IMG_1255.JPG IMG_1256.JPG IMG_1257.JPG
    • Like Like x 1
  17. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    427
    Balance:
    2,762Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    thank you!

    i mean most tap bits have about 25-35 mm of tapping distance.. i just felt that such a small length holds the actuator structure together.. especially with the load..
  18. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,041
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,881Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,706 / 30 / -1
    Does anyone know if brushless motors can even cause regen current? With no brushes even if it creates them I wouldn't think they could get back to the controller.
  19. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    427
    Balance:
    2,762Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    amazing work @Flymen ! let see you ride that bad boy!
  20. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    1,361Coins
    Ratings:
    +118 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    @SilentChill , @SeatTime .
    I try to find more info for the gas strut than you had before !!Because my rig begin to be heavy and I'd like to have about 500rpm more and same time solver a small problem of regeneration .
    It a good idea or no ?
    Thanks for your help !