1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom Bolt-on 2DOF project with 12V600W motors

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by SoftKitty, Nov 13, 2019.

  1. prodigy

    prodigy Burning revs

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    453
    Location:
    Croatia
    Balance:
    6,606Coins
    Ratings:
    +394 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Your English is very good and you did great video :thumbs

    Sadly I don't have much knowledge about SMC3 + Simtools setup, perhaps some else could help.

    Good thing, we have eliminated the Tuning Center as the problem.
    I would suggest to try Output settings with just one force at the time, just to see if the problem is in forces in Axis assignment or somewhere else.

    I have also noticed in Interface settings you also have [C<Axis3a>], is this for the third motor? Do you use this axis? Have you tried without that part of the code?

    Also, odes SMC3 tool need to be running in the background or not?
  2. SoftKitty

    SoftKitty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2019
    Messages:
    54
    Occupation:
    Engine engineer
    Location:
    Nantong, Jiangsu, China
    Balance:
    105Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino

    Thanks prodigy for you advice, although there is still no change, but there may be a clue.
    Here is what I did:
    I reset all the settings of simtools;
    > I only assigned axis1a to have a 50% roll force(the rest axis remained blank);
    > In interface setting I only write [A<Axis1a>];
    then in output testing it still raced to 1.58V position.

    New discovery is in testing when I dragged the "amout of axis to use" of roll ,
    The Axis% & PotVolt relation I found is like:
    (you can see the graph below as well):
    at +1% it moved to the place with pot reading of 2.60V
    from +1%~+50%, it rotated almost linearly from 2.60V to 3.19V
    the time I hit +51%, reading became 2.87v, and stayed the same all the way to +100%
    One conclusion here is the motor moved quite as expected on the positive side.
    if I hit "clr" it returned to 1.60V,
    when I dragged it to the negative side.
    at -1% or -2%reading became 1.84v,
    and to any place lower than -3% it would jerk a little and stop at 1.60V
    So the negative side is all dead end.

    微信图片_20200210232557.jpg

    And to answer your question at last: SMC3 utils(tuning software) doesn't and can't be run in the background while simtools working.
    Thanks!

    SoftKitty
  3. SoftKitty

    SoftKitty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2019
    Messages:
    54
    Occupation:
    Engine engineer
    Location:
    Nantong, Jiangsu, China
    Balance:
    105Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    just now I wired motor and pot to motor3(driven by the red MM board)/Pot3
    and same thing happened like motor1.
    so at least not the green driver board's fault, next I will try on another arduino board, or another laptop PC.
    微信图片_20200211000308.jpg
  4. SoftKitty

    SoftKitty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2019
    Messages:
    54
    Occupation:
    Engine engineer
    Location:
    Nantong, Jiangsu, China
    Balance:
    105Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I finally find the cure for the center position problem
    It's the "language for non-unicode programs" settings
    It has to be set as English(United States)


    One of my laptop is running in Chinese, another in Japanese, both will have the 1.60V problem.
    I even monitored the COMpot to see what it was sending.
    In a non-unicode language setting other than English,
    default Compot output right after "Turn on" is a unusual number "01 3F"
    which was the 1.60V position order.
    and anywhere the axis is below mid point, output will stay on these numbers.
    (So the motor won't react to negative side)
    only when axis use was greater than 1%, will the Compot send linear numbers.
    so it can only move decent on positive side.
    微信截图_20200212235305.png
    That's how I knew I couldn't blame the boards or other hardware, the Compot was sending wrong message.
    Maybe simtools can fix this in the future versions? make it more compatible?
    Anyway feels so good to finally find a solution!
    • Winner Winner x 1
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,210
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    106,001Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,755 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  6. SoftKitty

    SoftKitty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2019
    Messages:
    54
    Occupation:
    Engine engineer
    Location:
    Nantong, Jiangsu, China
    Balance:
    105Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Everything all set, I had a test drive.
    Although each motor is rated 600W, with max pwm setting, one 600W PSU can handle those two,
    it seemed the comments in the motor page were right, that actual power output is not that high.
    And I pasted a thermocoupler on the heat sink of the drive board, it never went higher than 26degrees Celsius(ambient 10 degree).

    The vertical bars connected to the rods were weak, I will fix that.
    And the motor makes noise when "idling", I will play with the SMC3 settings more to see if it can disappear.
    微信图片_20200215005524.jpg
    • Like Like x 2
  7. SoftKitty

    SoftKitty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2019
    Messages:
    54
    Occupation:
    Engine engineer
    Location:
    Nantong, Jiangsu, China
    Balance:
    105Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino

    Here is the test drive video
    • Like Like x 5
  8. prodigy

    prodigy Burning revs

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    453
    Location:
    Croatia
    Balance:
    6,606Coins
    Ratings:
    +394 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    The Stig :thumbs

    The 2 aluminum bars behind you, where your motors are connected, are flexing a lot. Maybe you could try to make them stiffer, it would be better for sure. Maybe with one horizontal bar between them.
  9. SoftKitty

    SoftKitty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2019
    Messages:
    54
    Occupation:
    Engine engineer
    Location:
    Nantong, Jiangsu, China
    Balance:
    105Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Yes, sir. So I did this.
    微信图片_20200215201950.jpg

    Now it's really stiff, The kick feel of shift-up is more intense.
    The seat makes some snap sound when I invert the load or hit something:D
    some damping device may become the next step.
  10. Markku Lorenz

    Markku Lorenz Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2018
    Messages:
    57
    Occupation:
    Technician for leak location/Managing Director
    Location:
    Greifenstein
    Balance:
    520Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 1 / -0
    Hi,

    my frame is also made ot of aluminium bars. Those free standing ones MUST be really stiff. The next thing ist that my frame itself twists a lot. I mean the part, where (your) seat is mounted.
    Maybe it would be a try to let a friend drive while you are watching the frame...

    The frame carrys a lot of additional weight like the Monitor etc. That also causes more twisting.
    BUT... I like your Construction. It looks very professional. :thumbs

    ML
  11. prodigy

    prodigy Burning revs

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    453
    Location:
    Croatia
    Balance:
    6,606Coins
    Ratings:
    +394 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    seatbelt.jpg

    If you mount your seatbelt on the motor mount behind you (like in picture above), you could potentially have a passive seatbelt motion. The seatbelt will get stiffer when you brake, it gives a nice sensation when braking and also cornering. It's great to use with Surge and Sway.

    The negative side of passive seatbelt is that you will also feel the seatbelt when you use pitch and roll, which is not that realistic, but it didn't bothered me much.

    You can try it, it doesn't cost you anything, maybe you will like it.
    On my rig I have attached behind all 4 points of seatbelt, so I can feel shoulder belts and side belts when the rig is moving.

    EDIT:

    @SoftKitty I saw you liked my project here on the forum, but that was my previous simulator where I didn't have passive seatbelts. Since then I have built a new simulator where I made passive seatbelts, but I only have some Youtube videos

    https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCA843t2Au_DNvWfwKtkzOYw
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2020
  12. SoftKitty

    SoftKitty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2019
    Messages:
    54
    Occupation:
    Engine engineer
    Location:
    Nantong, Jiangsu, China
    Balance:
    105Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thanks for the tips, prodigy, I will give a try, if the pitch angle won't choke me.:grin
    I've watched your videos, your rig and peripherals are very professional, I like that.
  13. SoftKitty

    SoftKitty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2019
    Messages:
    54
    Occupation:
    Engine engineer
    Location:
    Nantong, Jiangsu, China
    Balance:
    105Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thanks, Markku Lorenz.
    I saw you rig too, everything is carefully arranged, I will put my boards in a case as well.
    I think the twisting is because the pitch between mounts is too long.
    I have used excessive triangle & T-shape brackets in the center, not to mention the sus plate, so it's quite solid there.
    20191114030307.jpg
    • Like Like x 3
    • Agree Agree x 1