1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom Blame73's 2DOF Seat Mover

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Blame73, Nov 20, 2014.

  1. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thanks Tim, and good point! When I made that test I wasn't sitting in the seat cause I was just finishing replacing the motors and then I forgot repeating the tests.
    I'll do it later with your tips
  2. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Today I learned a lesson, maybe it could be useful for someone else.

    I kept getting a motor driver error in the JRK utility on one JRK. So I switched PSUs and I got it on the other one. I was sure it wasn't the PSU cause I got it new today (because one stopped working last week).
    what else could the problem be if not this?
    [​IMG]

    I had tighten one screw too much and it didn't make flow enough power!

    It could be the same message you get if you use thin wires: 'motor driver error'. It didn't say 'no power' cause it had enough to be on, but not enough to work under stress
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,215Coins
    Ratings:
    +837 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yup, that is right, you have too much P so you are over shooting the target then oscillating afterwards.
  4. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I just watched your video again, thanks for sharing it.
    I spent a couple of hours tuning the JRKs and I ended up with these settings:
    • P: 0.4 (but maybe I would lower to 0.35/0.3)
    • I: 0.03
    • D: 1.0
    • Integral Limit: 1000
    I also had to reduce duty cycle, max. accel, d.c. out of range to 400. Very powerful motors, it seems.

    I also noticed that I got more oscillation in one direction, when lowering the levers (as if it goes by little steps), while in the other direction is way more smooth, more linear.

    EDIT:
    I referred to this video from @Avenga76 you can find in the FAQ
  5. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,215Coins
    Ratings:
    +837 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Gravity and the weight of your seat. When the motor pushes up then the weight acts as a natural damper so you don't get as much overshoot and it doesn't need as much power to stop at the target. On the way down it is the opposite because you need more power to stop the weight coming down so it will overshoot more.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  6. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,402Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Wait how can you get more oscillations in 1 direction, To get an oscillation going it needs to go Back AND forth, How can you feel it going faster or slower in an particular direction in an oscillation situation ?
  7. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    In the JRK Configuration Utility, with 'automatically set slider' checked, moving the slider from target 1000 to target 2000 and vice-versa from 2000 to 1000.
    I don't feel it going faster or slower, I feeling going smooth or rattling
  8. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,866Coins
    Ratings:
    +598 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    What are you PID settings?
  9. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    4 posts before yours ^
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,402Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    so you have a motor that "rattles" when going from 1000 target to 2000 ?

    Are you manually moving the slider or Imputing the values in the box and pressing enter.
  11. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Manually, if I input the values it goes straight to the defined value, but simulating a game I move it back anf forth with the slider
  12. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,402Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Imo you cant replicate an oscillation from say a Kerb or a rough piece of mesh, Manually with the slider.....I would also double check into your balance point to ensure you dont have a lot of weight on the motors...your only looking for a small amount 1-2%
  13. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,866Coins
    Ratings:
    +598 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor, Arduino, JRK, 4DOF
    You dont have any loose wired on your POT/Hall sensors do you?
  14. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    That's what I thought it too. I'm checking it right now
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hey guys, I hope you're all fine!
    I'm back home.
    New job, a lot of time away from home, just played 1hr AC after two weeks... I don't even know if I'm keeping the rig or selling it :(
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,789
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,342Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,223 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Hopeful your life will settle down to something that allows you to also enjoy some fun!
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  17. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,580
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,875Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,387 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Why don't you know ? Surely
    it won't harm just keeping it ?

    I'd rather quit my job than lose my rig :D
    • Funny Funny x 2
  18. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    The new motors are too much powerful for the JRKs and I have to limit them to half power in order to use them, so I have to buy a sabertooth and a new psu because now I have two dps600, one per motor, and I don't think I could use them together with the sabertooth.
    Also, I switched back to shoulder mount because it's more precise and moving things around I damaged an hall effect...
    Stuff to buy and put together again pfffff
  19. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    After 4-5 months I got what I ordered from HK...
    IMG_20170323_232734.jpg

    And in three days I got what I just ordered!
    IMG_20170323_160741.jpg IMG_20170323_160829.jpg

    So, you, VR touch guys... what games/apps MUST I have?
    • Like Like x 2
  20. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    556
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,559Coins
    Ratings:
    +279 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Dead'n buried, Superhot and robo recall !
    I have obduction but still not played.
    • Like Like x 1