1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom Blame73's 2DOF Seat Mover

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Blame73, Nov 20, 2014.

  1. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,178
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,091Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,051 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I can try contacting them, even if jrks are now 2 years old and bought over ebay.
    Last time I've been offered a small discount on a replacement, but buying from them + shipping costs it would cost me more than buying somewhere else, even with the discount.
    I must fix it!
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2017
  2. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,293
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    9,080Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,228 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Bummer.......
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,403Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Pololu Offer's 50% off in these situations...I find it hard to believe you can find a retailer that can match that price with shipping.


    Also So you've now had 2 jrk's fail ? Im going to venture and say there's something up if you've done in 2 of them.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,178
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,091Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,051 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    The other time I've been offered a 20% discount on a replacement, and it was pretty new, so I'm hardly having a 50% discount two years later.

    I don't know what to say... they're closed inside a box, no movements, no shaking... and it's an hardware problem. Maybe I'm just lucky...

    I made some progress, now it connects to the PC and sees the pot. Tomorrow I'll connect power and motor. Let's see, but I'm not confident: leds blink differently from the other jrk.
  5. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,178
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,091Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,051 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Yeah! I menaged to fix the JRK :thumbs

    Since I was there I made a new box for electronics using and old PC PSU so that I'll be able to switch motors faster as soon as I get my new 60:1 guys

    IMG_20170117_154206.jpg IMG_20170117_163913.jpg

    and with the new harness belts
    IMG_20170117_163815.jpg


    I'm still unsure if keep the shoulder mount with the new motors or make the rig smaller movin them in front of the seat.
    Any advices?
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,403Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    what was the problem ?
  7. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,178
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,091Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,051 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    @Nick Moxley as for the other one, the mini usb connector was loose (I don't know if it's the right English word) and just by moving it a micron, it lost connection and didn't work anymore on the USB port it was connected to.
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2017
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,252
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    118,441Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,452 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I had one like that:

    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. Daguru

    Daguru Rally drivers do it in the Dirt

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    622
    Occupation:
    Kitchen installer
    Location:
    Wales uk
    Balance:
    872Coins
    Ratings:
    +552 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi @Blame73
    yes loose is a good english word to describe the fault you had :thumbs

    Looks like you new motors are the same as what I use look forward to seeing your rig in action with them :popcorn
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,178
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,091Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,051 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Yes, the same problem, mine once lost connection also didn't connect anymore (something like overcharging USB port), I see in your video yours turned green again (the LED)

    Did they replace it? Or you had a refund?
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,252
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    118,441Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,452 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It was replaced by the 3rd party supplier I got it from.
  12. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,178
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,091Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,051 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Got back home... SURPRIIIIISE!! A box was waiting for me :D
    IMG_20170120_124807.jpg

    IMG_20170120_141935.jpg
    IMG_20170120_125047.jpg

    Ok, wiper motors look really tiny now!
    IMG_20170120_130553.jpg

    Now I just have figure out how to attach the levers...
    I was thinking about something like this (a shorter one) with a rose joint at the end of it:
    IMG_20170120_142956.jpg

    Any tips @Nick Moxley @noorbeast ?
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,252
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    118,441Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,452 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    For mine I was concerned about maintaining strength when the shaft had a 8mm hole in it.

    So I machined an interference fit tube which is quite thick and a step down has been machined at the gearbox end, just after the 8mm securing bolt, to be able to fit into the gearbox opening.

    It is hard to see because of the poor lighting, but here is a picture:

    lever.jpg
    • Useful Useful x 1
  14. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,031
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,992Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,065 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    You could mount a bike crank as I did.
    tmp_15358-IMG_20170109_1755111313883781.jpg
  15. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,157
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    19,591Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,029 / 20 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    indeed!
    fedor_vs_choi-copy1.png oups, picture is not large enough :eek:

    but size doesn't always matter,
    maybe the small one will win over the big one?
    images.jpg
    mmm, not sure
    :confused:
    • Funny Funny x 2
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2017
  16. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,178
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,091Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,051 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thanks @Pit, have you got a bigger picture of the shaft?
  17. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,403Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Love the motor's....Hate the Bolt/Level Idea. :grin

    I would look into Either Pits or Noor's fabricated solution.

    Being a seat mover, there isn't CRAZY high load forces on the motor's...but a solid solution is better than one that will fail in the future.
  18. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,178
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,091Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,051 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Ok, I see what you've done. It's just I don't own a welding machine for the shaft
  19. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,178
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,091Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,051 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I'm not so sure to keep the shoulder mount and you're right, I don't want a temporary solution
  20. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,031
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,992Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,065 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Are you drunken?:cheers
    Here you go
    20170120_165555.jpg
    • Useful Useful x 1