1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom Blame73's 2DOF Seat Mover

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Blame73, Nov 20, 2014.

  1. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,421
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    131,846Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,196 / 48 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The latest War Thunder update broke Rift support, I doubt the devs will bother fixing it with the current runtime as the Oculus V1 runtime is being released with the CV1 Rift.

    You need different Oculus runtimes for different things at the moment, until things settle down. So Pcars needs the Oculus 0.8 runtime and the implementation includes all menus plus it displays on the Rift and the screen at the same time, it is only the mouse pointer that is not visible but the launch tiles change colors so you can still use it. You can use a runtime switcher to make it easier to use newer and older Oculus runtimes, like you will be using with AC.

    They are a bit dated but there are some Rift tweaks for AC in the FAQs, to be honest I am not bothering with VR in AC until they upgrade to the Oculus V1 runtime and implement all the menus: http://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/tweak-assetto-corsa-for-the-oculus-rift.155/

    Do try LFS in VR, it works well.

    Flyinside for Prepar3D is great, the DCS Beta has a bit of judder but the Rift integration for menus and the like is now pretty good, you can use SteamVR for Elite Dangerous.

    I have not got Dirt Rally yet, I have been tempted but the sale prices have still been pretty high given the low Aussie dollar.
    • Useful Useful x 1
  2. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,028Coins
    Ratings:
    +162 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  3. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    567
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,825Coins
    Ratings:
    +287 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    For DiRT Rally you need to edit the hardwaresettings file and disable the movement of the car when you drive (sorry I don't have this file next to me, so I can't tell you what you need to edit but I think it's easy to understand).
    For pcars I don't know why but I'm stuck at 50fps and it's unplayable...
  4. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,621
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    20,264Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,465 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I love dirt rally, my settings are in the plugin thread I think, I posted screen grabs of them all. Looks pretty good to me :)

    As @noorbeast P3D is pretty amazing with FlyInside and pCars is pretty well interfaced now with the Rift.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    20,232Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,674 / 23 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Dirt Rally is fine on rift , managing 80-85fps , same in AC , and near crystal clear in Pcars, play Elite with SDK0.5 perfect, F12014 comes alive, Grid Autosports and grid2 are a bit hard to read menus , Steam VR sucked when I tested it, but was early beta tester. I just use a custom sdk switcher I modified to switch to which sdk I want to use, wish the game devs would pull their fingers out of their bums and keep up, lame.
    P3D is smooth as , yes @SilentChill quite amazing experience.

    Only issue I have found if ya haven't got a top end pc with a top end graphics card the rift is almost unplayable.
    Waiting for CV1 SDK before I take the plunge on a new R9, they promised it wont be needed, but keeping the 1k aside so if it doesn't improve, Im buying one. Then my AMD cant go any quicker , shame cause an Intel need way less power to run rift, suppose Intel paid into the dev and Amd refused, bugger, but all has been promised to be equalized with the cv1 release, we will see.
    • Informative Informative x 4
  6. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,105Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,064 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I picked the wrong week to get an OR, I had intestinal virus since Monday, and nausea didn't help in testing the Rift, adding the constantly tearing eyes I have these days that don't let me use contact lenses but glasses...

    Anyway I made some tests, after being able to use two runtimes (0.5.0.1 and 0.8) via a switcher in Windows 10.
    I suffered A LOT of motion sickness if I used the Rift without motion simulator: I can't stand Roller Coster for more than 15 seconds and AC or pCars for more than 2 minutes.
    With motion though I've been able to use it for more than half an hour continuously without suffering (just some nausea, but again, the virus doesn't help here).
    This difference with/without motion can easily make understand skeptics how good is a rig in tricking the brain in thinking what it sees could be real!

    About the VR experience itself: [put a superlative here]! More than once I moved my hands trying to touch something that was in the virtual car. Amazing!
    What makes it a bit fake is the SDE and the difficult in clearly seeing objects in the distance. All of this should definitely get better with CV1/Vive and their higher resolution (or maybe CV2...)
    A real annoying thing is the foggy lenses! I should definitely solve this, maybe trying some products for glasses or protector screens.

    I haven't already tested any first person games or flight simulators, but I feel better and this weekend I should give it a try.

    Also, would you suggest me buying vorpx? It supports a lot of non-native VR games and sound interesting.
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    18,421
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    131,846Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,196 / 48 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You can try a very small amount of baby shampoo wiped over the lenses to help stop the Rift fogging, and/or block the gap between the bottom half of the Rift and your face and nose.

    Yes good motion simulation helps minimise VR motion sickness, but you are really doing yourself a disservice in trying out the Rift when you have complicating medical issues. You run the risk of creating a negative physiological association, much like Pavolv's salivating dog.

    [​IMG]

    It would be wise to curb your VR experimentation until you are better and even then stop using the Rift as soon as you feel a bit odd, don't wait until you feel really off. That way you will acclimatize much faster through shorter but more frequent VR use.

    Vorpx does OK but while there are some good moments non-native VR games will always break immersion simply because they are not made with VR in mind. It is not a good idea to mess with non-native games until you have found your VR legs.
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    567
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,825Coins
    Ratings:
    +287 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Did you tried without lenses or glasses?
  9. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,105Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,064 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Yes I tried, too blurry (well, not worse than it comes anyway...)

    Anyway, now that I feel better I spent some more time on VR.
    Assetto Corsa is, by far, the best experience I had. Not a problem with nausea, and a great immersion. "just" the problem with the lack of menus that doesn't let you change any default setups...
    Dirt Rally and Project Cars are better under this aspect, but are less immersive and make me feel some motion sickness after some time.
    I tried Alien Isolation, and I'm about to vomit just thinking about it. A terrible experience! Strafe is the the killer for me.

    Still struggling with foggy lenses...
  10. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,105Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,064 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    • Like Like x 5
  11. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,766
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    29,065Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,093 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I use a fan to move some air over my face/Rift. Helps allot.
  12. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,105Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,064 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I solved it this way: I use an air blower for 10 seconds to heat the lenses up, so when I wear the OR there's no more gap of temp between the rift and my face. Haven't had foggy lenses since then
    • Creative Creative x 2
  13. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    567
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,825Coins
    Ratings:
    +287 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Haha very creative idea ! I need to try :grin
    • Agree Agree x 1
  14. pipis2015

    pipis2015 over-boost

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Athens, GREECE
    Balance:
    10,248Coins
    Ratings:
    +270 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    There is also a commercial method (liquid drop solution) that is used to prevent defogging of diving masks/swimming goggles.

    They go for 5-10 USD per (small) bottle.

    But... I don't know if it is safe to use on the rifts plastic lenses(I use it on my plastic swimming speedo goggles without problems as it is recommended), or how they affect the image quality.
  15. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,105Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,064 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Yes, I tried the product I use on my motorbike helmet (using it over a lens cover not to ruin lenses) but it didn't work. The room where I got the sim is really colder than the rest of the house so the rift is really cold. Only heating it has worked.

    But spring is here, in a couple of weeks it won't anymore be needed
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  16. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,105Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,064 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    New entry, Thrustmaster TH8A shifter

    WIN_20160418_143029.JPG
    • Like Like x 6
  17. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,105Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,064 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    My corner:

    WIN_20160418_150053.JPG
    • Like Like x 6
    • Winner Winner x 1
  18. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,293
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    9,102Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,234 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Nice, would be cool to jam. Too bad your across the big water.
  19. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,105Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,064 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Yeah,it'd be cool. Maybe I'll come back to Michigan one of these years. Been there for a month in '93
  20. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,293
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    9,102Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,234 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Lol 93'. Two years before my 21year old was born........