1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Best Way to Attach Shaft to Motion Dynamics Motor?

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by PMK, Feb 21, 2020.

  1. PMK

    PMK Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    147Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    I just ordered some 200W Motion Dynamic Motors. (https://www.motiondynamics.com.au/worm-drive-motor-12v-24v-200w-180-rpm-20nm-torque.html)

    What is the best way to attach a shaft to the motor?
    There's 2 4mm holes on one end of the shaft hole that I could put a bolt though.
    I was hoping to use threaded rod for the shaft so I can easily use nuts along it.
    How have others done this in the past?
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. MarkusB

    MarkusB Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    467
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    3,461Coins
    Ratings:
    +463 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Exactly as you described: I used 1/2'' threaded rod (which was not so easy to get in 'metric Germany'). Then I drilled a 4mm hole into the rod and in this way connected it to the hollow shaft with a 4mm bolt. In addition, I fixed the rod on both sides with a nut.
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Index Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    4,909Coins
    Ratings:
    +892 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I used clamping with a roll pin. It’s been rock solid.

    2AAE2FB0-F143-403B-896F-ECFF1EF306F0.jpeg AEB2E14B-73ED-43C0-B99D-FE4BA37E2D3D.jpeg C811FDCB-233E-4063-A283-02D9301148B9.jpeg
    • Like Like x 4
  5. dieser

    dieser Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2020
    Messages:
    54
    Balance:
    382Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    looks very solid.

    is it selfmade?
  6. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Index Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    4,909Coins
    Ratings:
    +892 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Self-designed with one caveat and I have a machinist friend who cut it for me. He also made a really good suggestion and modification to the design. Instead of the clamping clearance being all the way from shaft to clamping end, he left a bit right at the edge. Otherwise they are to drawing.

    OutputArmW.jpg

    He said that without that bit, the clamping bolt would bend the clamping arms and weaken the clamping action. By leaving that little bit, the bolt tensions and clamps the other way - at the shaft. If I was doing it again, I'd extend the clamping arms out a little further to give the clamping bolt more leverage but these are great with zero loosening as they are. Extending may not be necessary. BTW, the guy is an amazing machinist. His work is art.

    The zip file has my original .stl file seen in the render.

    And I realized just now the OP was asking about attaching a shaft - not an arm.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1