1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question Best Place to put base stations for Vive pro with 6dof Motion

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by Denus304, Aug 3, 2019.

  1. Denus304

    Denus304 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    526Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    Hi Guys

    Today i purchased a McLaren Vive Pro

    I did some reading on the motion cancelation stuff but i am confused on whether to mount the base stations on the rig or on the wall and try and figure out the motion cancellation.

    If somebody could please tell me the best solution that would be great.

    Thanks
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. sam poole

    sam poole Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    134
    Location:
    midlands
    Balance:
    521Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    dont mount to rig or they might get damaged
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Denus304

    Denus304 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    526Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    Did this happen to you?

    I used to have an oculus rift with the sensor mounted to the rig and it was fine?
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,097
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    111,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,002 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    An Oculus Rift uses cameras for tracking, the Vive uses lasers with high speed rotating internal parts and you will definitely damage them if subjected to harsh motion, so mount them off the rig and use motion cancellation: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/vr-motion-cancellation-time-to-test.10241/
  6. Denus304

    Denus304 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    526Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    Thank you Noorbeast
    I'm lucky I have not mounted them then .. looks like I have a lot of reading to do .. 40 or so pages :)
    • Like Like x 1