1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question Batterie support is always needed for Actuators?

Discussion in 'Electronic and hardware generally' started by Bastiuscha, Jan 3, 2021.

  1. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    233Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hey friends,

    i'm planing the electical Solution for linear Actuators. I will use 2x60A Sabertooth with two 24V DC Motors @450W,
    loaded Current of 25A. How big should my Powersupply? I think, with 60A, i'm on a good side?!
    And to my topic Question: how important are support Batteries? Are they strong needed and diodes....are they important for using the Batterie, or are they important for reverse currents of the Motors too?

    Much thanks for your Help.
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,148
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,052Coins
    Ratings:
    +257 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    No, but it helps stabilse the power and allows for large current draws and with regenerative braking
  4. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    233Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thanks, but would be nice to get a more accurate answer. I know what support Batteries do, but how is it in my Situation?

    I try it Again with better Questions, with Numbers for a better answer possibility :

    1. I will use 2x60A Sabertooth with two 24V DC Motors @450W,
    loaded Current of 25A. How big should my Powersupply? I think, with 60A Maxwell, i'm on a good Side?!

    2
    . How important are support Batteries in my Situation with my planned 60A PowerSupply?

    3.Diodes: are they only used because the Batterie could be feed the Powersupplys, or they just because possible reverse Currents? Or both?

    That lead's me to another Questions:


    4. As far as i know, the Batterie voltage have to be a little lower than the powersupply, yes?

    5. With 3 Powersupplys and 3 Sabertooth's, should i use in every Circuit a Batterie, or can i use only one?


    greetings :)
  5. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,148
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,052Coins
    Ratings:
    +257 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    In my experience power supplies shut down when the load on them is high or unstable

    I had 2 x 72 amp server power supplies and they were not happy when the sim gave power back.

    The simple solution was 2 x 12v car batteries and a 25 amp 24v power supply

    The batteries can supply over 200 amps and the power supply tops them up when they need power
  6. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    233Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Do you think then, 60A is overpowered? I mean, with an 40A i could save a lot of Money.
  7. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,148
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,052Coins
    Ratings:
    +257 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    what is the difference in prices ?
  8. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    233Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    30%.....but forget it. It will be a 60A.....