1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

back again... 2DOF SIM WhiperMotors with Pol.JRK 12v12

Discussion in 'New users start here - FAQ' started by Mario Reinecke, Mar 11, 2014.

  1. Mario Reinecke

    Mario Reinecke New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Kassel Germany
    Balance:
    543Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Hi, im back again. I have to stop going on with my project in the last year cuz of private things...( sorry)

    But now im back to build my Sim!

    What i got now:

    -3 VW Whipermotors ( i have them earth isolated from case, was no Problem! I could make a short " how to" for the forum if needed .)
    - 3 Pololu JRK 12v12
    - Racing Seat
    - G27
    - metal frame
    - track IR
    - Oculus Rift
    - universal joint
    - 4x ball joint

    (i have 3 Motors and 3 Jrks, but first i try a 2 dof sim for practice experience)

    what i´ve ordered : (i´ll got all this Stuff in the next 2-3 days)

    - pro Gauge controller http://www.symprojects.com/shop/pro-gauge/
    ...to run the instruments

    - Power = 24 V 50 A or 12V 100 A 1200W Pulsar Robbe
    http://www.ebay.de/itm/121292068300?ru=http://www.ebay.de/sch/i.html?_sacat=0&_from=R40&_nkw=121292068300&_rdc=1

    - Potentiometer = http://www.ebay.de/itm/301055775244...eName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

    - G27 Pedalmod = http://www.nixim.com/index.php?pageid=brakemod
    (i will mod the shifter too )

    maybe i buy some bodyshakers and run them with SimVibe later (have someone experience with simvibe ? does it work fine ?)

    I`ll beginn fixing the stuff together on saturday, first pictures ill post on Sunday.

    I think i`ll need a little help by configurating the Software and the JRK´s... and the best way to get my pots running..
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2014
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,777
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    33,634Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,887 / 10 / -0
    Jealous!
    yobuddy
    • Like Like x 1
  4. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    What? Wiper motors again? :confused:
    Yep for sure Rob and or I can help you get setup with Simtools and jrks.
    Maybe you could put pots on the back like these single turn 360 deg pots
    2014-03-01 15.51.51.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Mario Reinecke

    Mario Reinecke New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Kassel Germany
    Balance:
    543Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Hi Bsft,

    yes.. still whipermotors , if i crash them i try some other motors - maybe winchmotors.

    For the pots i need some gearing/ transmission cause they are not 360 deg ones...

    Can i try something like this ? :
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2014
  6. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,889Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,658 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    @Mario Reinecke yes that will work just as well.
    Let me know where you need help.
    Jrks run fine with SimTools.
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Mario Reinecke

    Mario Reinecke New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Kassel Germany
    Balance:
    543Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Does it need special dimensions ( length of the arm or something ), or do i need to calibrate the pots later by JRK's software ? I dunno if the pots needed a special workingrange or not ?
  8. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    you could always get the big motors from motion dynamics in Australia, just let me know if you do , I can pick them up and send them private post so you do not cop taxes and crap.

    The pots just get set like normal in JRK utility like you did before.
    • Like Like x 1
  9. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    ive done that heaps of times before, its a good idea to use cheap pots so if the motor overshoots it doesnt break the pot
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,930
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,463Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,820 / 13 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Very generous of you Mario, that would be very helpful.

    By the way, I have been to Kassel, beautiful city. I spent a day hiking to the fountains and wandering the paths. Wonderful.
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Mario Reinecke

    Mario Reinecke New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Kassel Germany
    Balance:
    543Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Thank you all for support ;)

    @bsft : how much are the Motors from Motion Dynamics ?

    @ Historiker : youve been in Kassel ? When?
    there are much more nicer Citys in germany than Kassel.
    But you are right it has some really beautifull Places. You said fountains so i think you have been to the " Hercules " water playing games"
  12. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,930
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,463Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,820 / 13 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yes, and the old castle on the way up, as well as visiting the home of the brothers Grimm. I spent a summer in Gottingen in 2008. On weekends I visited as many places as I could, DeutschBahn is awesome ;)
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  13. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,889Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,658 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Ok @Mario Reinecke , the length of arm is relevent to the amount of movement you will require for a seat mover style I would not got past 100mm of movement, meaning that the max position and the min position has a 100mm of travel between them.
    50mm up from horiziontal and 50mm down. This all is set in the Feedback tab of the Jrks.
    For the amount of range on the pot I would recommend as much as the 270 deg most cheap pots have so I would mount a motor and temporarily mount pot with lever as per video and experiment with the length so that about 100mm of movement equals near to the max of the pot, the more of the angle of the pot you use the better the resolution of movement (motion) will be achieved.

    The setup shown in the video is a good base to start from take a guess and have a play with one motor mounted and a pot, get use to setting up and using the Jrk Software to tune the PID and Feedback for the motor, once this is good you are ready to move on to SimTools.
    • Like Like x 1
  14. RaceRay

    RaceRay Administrator Staff Member SimAxe Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,644
    Occupation:
    Self-employed | Web and application development
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Balance:
    24,885Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,552 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, SimAxe, SimforceGT
    Deutsche Bahn is popular for their delay in arrival:D
    @Mario Reinecke Good to see your are continuing your project.
    • Like Like x 1
  15. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    @Mario Reinecke I sent you a PM
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Mario Reinecke

    Mario Reinecke New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Kassel Germany
    Balance:
    543Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Mario Reinecke

    Mario Reinecke New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Kassel Germany
    Balance:
    543Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    @All:

    what do you think brings more driving funeffect

    - mounting the Displays to frame (so they move with the rig)
    or
    - or leave them in a fixed position ?

    (maybe mounting the display is to hard for my whipermotors..)
  18. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    what happened the last time you had wipers on a frame with screen on it? Especially considering the motors were mounted low.
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Mario Reinecke

    Mario Reinecke New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Kassel Germany
    Balance:
    543Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    nothing happened. I dont have had a rig before ! I tried to start building my rig in the last year, but must cut my plans cuz of private things...
    no im gonna to build and finishing it. Specially this weekend ;)
  20. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,930
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,463Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,820 / 13 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I love having my monitor and controllers mounted to the platform, it feels much more natural to me. Granted I had to use much heavier duty motors (winch motors) but it is well worth it to me. Much more immersive.

    Thanks for the picture, I have many many of my own :D
    • Like Like x 1
  21. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    sorry Mario, I got you confused with our Austrian counterpart
    • Like Like x 1