1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question Aviation Plugs for high current of Motion Dynamics Motors

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by FoxHound.92, Mar 19, 2019.

  1. FoxHound.92

    FoxHound.92 2DOF seat mover

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    277Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hey guys,

    I want to keep my new electronics box as tidy as possible and wanted to connect my motors and the psu to the housing externally via these aviation plugs:

    Screenshot_20190319-090719.jpg

    These are an example, I found some that are rated for 220V 15A/20A as per description.
    I was wondering if they could become a bottleneck for my sabertooths power supply?
    As the sabertooth should draw 16A on load for two motors.

    Is it even a good idea to "interrupt" the direct route from psu to sabertooths and sabertooths to motors?

    Are there alternatives to the plugs I currently have?
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,031Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,614 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I use 'Anderson' plugs. Reasonable cost and designed to carry high DC currents.
    • Like Like x 2
  4. FoxHound.92

    FoxHound.92 2DOF seat mover

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    277Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thank you for pointing me to them.
    I found some that already include mounting brackets in the right size for my existing holes from the aviation plug holes! :)
  5. stevemontuno

    stevemontuno Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,868Coins
    Ratings:
    +330 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I use aviation plugs and havn't have any problems,,,, i'm using monster moto's
    • Like Like x 1
  6. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,316
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,031Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,614 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    • Agree Agree x 1