1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
  4. All new posts and threads should be written in English. Please do not create dual posts in other languages. If you are not a master of the English language you can use an external service to create a translation of your words, for instance, Google translate or DeepL.
    Due to low activity, we've also closed the french section.
    Dismiss Notice

Australian Forum Members - Let's discuss the Yoke Flange!

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Archie, Dec 5, 2017.

  1. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,688Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Try as I might, I can't find a cheap AU supplier for these.

    They are all over the place in the Eastern EU / Ukraine and USA, but you think I can find any for "not" silly money in AU??

    In case you are sat there thinking... What is a Yoke Flange?? it's this.

    [​IMG]

    Combine two with a nice Universal Joint and you get a nice low profile UJ.

    [​IMG]

    Does anyone in AU know where to source these? :)

    You'd think I was typing in "Unicorn" when it comes to tracking them down locally :D
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Alexey

    Alexey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    455
    Occupation:
    Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    7,981Coins
    Ratings:
    +608 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    It is literally cheaper to make one from two driveshafts. Take the flange ends off two driveshafts and re use one of the centers.

    Sometimes ebay has a cheapie but quality is questionable.
  4. Psionic001

    Psionic001 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Sydney
    Balance:
    823Coins
    Ratings:
    +48 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 6DOF
    @Archie, how did you go with your Flange Yoke Uni Joint?


  5. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,688Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It's still in the box waiting for a day when I can put my Motion Sim back together :(

    The build quality of the item is awesome and it comes soaked in lubricant so will be good for decades I suspect!!
  6. Psionic001

    Psionic001 Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Sydney
    Balance:
    823Coins
    Ratings:
    +48 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thanks. any chance you can measure the basic dimensions for me like the flange diameter, and height from base to centre of pivot?

    Also where you got it? I've hit afew of the Alibaba guys up, and waiting too hear back, but TBH I don't know how to specify or what size I'd need...

    I'm guessing a 90mm flange diameter ish size....
  7. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,688Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I likely won't be able to measure anytime soon as it's all packed away in storage at the moment :( .
    (I'm doing work on my house so the Sim and all hardware is boxed up!)

    I got mine from @Radioproffi - But I suspect I was a one-off and I am eternally grateful to @Radioproffi .

    Like you, I could not find anything even close, locally. :(
  8. Deane

    Deane Old Fart

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2018
    Messages:
    212
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Wirrina Cove, South Australia
    Balance:
    659Coins
    Ratings:
    +89 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Why not use a FWD CV Joint from any wreckers.
    Just lop one end off and weld on some mounting plates like I did on my 2Dof build I am doing.
    Cost = SFA , just stuff lying around the shed
    Frame6.JPG Frame7.JPG Motor4.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  9. F22raptom

    F22raptom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    234Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    I ordered...uhh shit....high displacement rod ends I think they were called. Making a 3DOF but I have heave so no central shaft thing (sleepy so can't think rn). Each corner of the triangle base I am still figuring out a way to support the massive range of motion I want. All I can suggest is don't cheap out if its mission critical. I'd go with old off a car over alibaba any day.

    Naturally, after making the expense I see a better solution above my post. I will probably go with that - knowing how much they can move (changing my gearbox)
  10. Deane

    Deane Old Fart

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2018
    Messages:
    212
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Wirrina Cove, South Australia
    Balance:
    659Coins
    Ratings:
    +89 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    A car CV joints is better by design over a plain old universal yoke joint as the CV joint is meant to move in a planes due to suspension movement and steering inputs.
    And the fact that I had an old set of Subaru WRX CV's lying around was even better as they were $000 cost.
    Your local wreckers will probably give an old bent one for SFA.
  11. elnino

    elnino Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Occupation:
    Computer Geek
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    732Coins
    Ratings:
    +43 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I got a CV driveshaft from a Mazda3 for $25 off gumtree that is in perfect condition. The cheapest solution I could find by far but you need to fab a mount for it.
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Deane

    Deane Old Fart

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2018
    Messages:
    212
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Wirrina Cove, South Australia
    Balance:
    659Coins
    Ratings:
    +89 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    G'day fellow croweater.
    What part of Adelaide are you located in ?
    I am down south at Wirrina Cove.
    Making the mountings flanges are not hard if you have a decent drill and angle grinder with 1mm. cut off discs for cutting the plates and the shafts to suit
    and a welder of course.
    Having a lathe and mill also makes life a bit easier for boring the holes in the plates.
    I only had a max drill size of 20mm. so I used the lathe and a 4 jaw chuck to bore the holes in the plates out to the correct size which was about 25mm. maybe a bit more.
  13. elnino

    elnino Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Occupation:
    Computer Geek
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    732Coins
    Ratings:
    +43 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I'm down south too but not that far Morphett Vale area.

    I have a lathe and access to a mill so yeah it's not that hard to do for me but not everyone has that luxury :). I have been a simmer for years but finally biting the bullet and going with 2dof motion (considering 3dof) - I have pretty much all of the main components now, just need to come up with a frame design and put it all together.
  14. Deane

    Deane Old Fart

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2018
    Messages:
    212
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Wirrina Cove, South Australia
    Balance:
    659Coins
    Ratings:
    +89 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Cool, Morphett Vale is only about 60 km each way, you get used to every trip being about a 100+ kms.
    The frame is the easy part, it just depends on what you want, fancy ally extrusion that just bolts together but expensive or a steel RHS tube welded frame like I did.
    The base of my frame is re- purposed stuff that I had lying around and the motion platform is new 50X 50 RHS. Simple but strong and moderate cost.
    I have plenty of time being retired and this is my new project to keep me entertained. https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/diy-2dof-budget-build.12377/#post-162521