1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Tutorial Ardunio and SaberTooth 2x32 - easy code and powerful motor driver UPDATE 02/22/17

Discussion in 'Motor actuators and drivers' started by Pit, May 30, 2016.

  1. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,985
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,047Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,975 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Which Arduino Sketch is to be used?

    SMC3 modified by BlazinH (highly recommended)

    Easy to use and almost well known: the modified version of @RufusDufus SMC3 code by @BlazinH for use with Sabertooth Packet Serial (Arduino Uno/Mega): https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...ket-serial-pid-motor-driver-for-arduino.9277/

    XPID software for Arduino UNO/Mega by vthinsel (highly recommended if using any LCD displays)

    Code written by @vthinsel which is more complex but powerful. It supports certain LCDs or 2.8 TFTs (Arduino Mega recommended).

    http://www.xsimulator.net/community...rduino-uno-mega-and-sabertooth-with-lcd.6747/

    Great for advanced users best to use with MEGA! High performance sketch (loops under 1ms!), all parameters set by using the LCD or TFT display on the fly (no windows utility available). The LCD lets you control all values in real time.

    SMC3 modified by the SMC3 author RufusDufus itself

    A modified SMC3 version by @RufusDufus itself:
    http://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/smc3-sabretooth-test-version.6236/page-2#post-107508

    Why SaberTooth?

    One Sabertooth offers a continuous current of 32A. Current peaks up to 64 A for a few seconds will be handled without problems. The hard current limit is above approximately 70 amps which protects the Sabertooth from a shorted motor.

    To get the same power you will need up to 8 MotoMonsters at least. There are more advantages of the SaberTooth:
    • the Describe Software which allows you to play with many options and parameters.
    • If you run into any hardware issues: any requests or questions will be answered in a very short time by the official support.
    • 1 year manufacturer's warranty.
    • If any product fails within one year of the purchase date they will replace the product at no charge.
    • After 1 year they will either repair the item or the item can be replaced for 50% of the retail cost.
    https://www.dimensionengineering.com/products/sabertooth2x32
    • Informative Informative x 5
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
    Last edited: May 16, 2017
  2. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,897
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    13,791Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,611 / 30 / -1
    Hmm @Pit, you are echoing what I have tried to inform everyone about for years, lol.

    While Sabertooths are somewhat pricey at first look, by the time you consider their performance and no hassle exchanges (except for if you connect the polarity backwards) they are not that expensive in the long run when you can be enjoying your rig instead of waiting for a new batch of MM to arrive and then having to fix half of them (if you can) so you can actually use them :mad:.

    But you forgot to mention the Sabertooth 2x60 model. If you want really want to up your game, these bad boys will deliver 60 amps continuous and 120 peak. :cool:
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,985
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,047Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,975 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    @BlazinH thank you for sharing your experience and thoughts. AFAIK the Arduino codes are limited, not all Saberthooths seem to be supported. BTW praising the Saberthooths for years is good as far there are practicable codes to use with. Today we can choose between some of them which is a lot. Anyway I never would claim the effort done by other users here at xsimulator.net, my thread only is written to help any newbies to make an easier decision.
  4. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,105
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,776Coins
    Ratings:
    +595 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    I have a sabertooth 2x60 and an arduino laying around...currently using 2 JRK's....is there a good reason to switch over to the sabertooth or good reason not to?
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,612
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    96,472Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,106 / 40 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    If everything is running fine with the JRKs then the only real reason to switch would be if you plan to upgrade to bigger motors with much higher RPM, the Sabertooth can handle those while the JRKs can't.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,105
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,776Coins
    Ratings:
    +595 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    As far as resolution, which am I better off with?
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,612
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    96,472Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,106 / 40 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I think @eaorobbie covered the resolution of JRKs somewhere, but I am stuck on my phone and can't search for it until my net connection is fixed after it went down in a huge hailstorm on the weekend.

    But honestly I don't think you could tell the difference when it comes to actual use.
  8. Snaker07

    Snaker07 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    115Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi I want to use a Sabertooth board on my project, but here in Brazil the Sabertooth 2x32 is really expensive, about ($250).
    Would the Sabertooth 2x12 still be a better option than a MotoMonster? And what about the Sabertooth 2x12 R/C? I don't know the differences between them.

    Thanks a lot.
  9. shannonb1

    shannonb1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,105
    Occupation:
    Sales Intelligence
    Location:
    Virginia
    Balance:
    8,776Coins
    Ratings:
    +595 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    are you just doing 2dof? MAybe look at JRK 12v2, you would need 1 per actuator and they are 99$ and you dont need an arduino
  10. Snaker07

    Snaker07 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    115Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Yes I'll be making a 2DOF. But the thing is, I already have the Arduino UNO R3, so no cost for them. Also to buy JRKs I would need to import them and deal with taxes and maybe delays.
    On the other hand I can find Sabertooth boards here in Brazil, I just need to know if 32A per channel is really necessary for what I want to do.

    I'm thinking about buying motors close to this specs (not sure yet): "Gearmotor, Permanent-Magnetic Motor, 12V DC, 180W, .24HP, 50:1 ratio, 75-80 rpm."

    Thanks again.
  11. Snaker07

    Snaker07 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    115Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I also would like to know the difference between the Sabertooth 2x12 and the Sabertooth 2x12 R/C, and if both of them would fit my purposes, because I'm only finding the R/C model here.
  12. matthew loomis

    matthew loomis Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    rochester,ny
    Balance:
    481Coins
    Ratings:
    +81 / 0 / -0
    Im not sure about the 2x12 stuff sorry. The 2x32 is a newer model. It has the ability to shunt regenerative current, eliminating the need for batteries. It is also good for 24v so it is much more flexable. the 2x32 has an r/c mode to accept signals from a radio reciever, maybe the 2x12 vs r/c does not have the ability to change that?
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Snaker07

    Snaker07 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    115Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Thanks for your reply. I was looking at the codes available on the forum for Arduino + Sabertooth, and it looks like they are not compatible with the Sabertooth 2x12 R/C.
    Better to stick with the 2x32 or 2x12. I just need to figure out if I'll need that much power or not.
  14. creazyrider

    creazyrider Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    777Coins
    Ratings:
    +53 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello Snaker07, like you i'm looking for a good controller for my 2DOF sim and I think I'll buy a Sabertooth.
    The two motors need 5A each so it would work with a 2*12A but I just read the datasheets and the 2*12A only works with battery supply.
    I want to power it with a 230Vac /24Vdc supply so the model working with it is the 2*32A v3. I think you need to add resistor between regenerative current outputs and power input
    Look at the Datasheet :

    Datasheet Sabertooth 2.32A.jpg