1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question Arduino Uno + MM - best place to use fuses

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by TheYellowBatman, Dec 28, 2020.

  1. TheYellowBatman

    TheYellowBatman New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    227Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi Everyone

    I'm running a standard 2 DOF Arduino and MM setup. I recently had the ground wire on the 5V circuit melt on the MM side. While I have now rewired things and repaired any damage, this would not have happened if I was running appropriate fuses in the setup. I already have an existing 70A circuit breaker from the PSU however I wanted some advice on appropriate locations to fuse. I was thinking of doing the 4 below indicated on the diagram:

    Arduino MM fuse.JPG

    I have types of fuse holders, one uses small glass fuses that range from 500 mA to 5A. I was going to use these types at Fuse 1 and 2 positions as the 5V circuit shouldn't be using that much current?

    I also have the standard blade style fuse holders which range from 5A to 50+ A which i was going to use on Fuse 3 and 4 to each motor.

    What do you think?

    Happy Holidays
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,890
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,676Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,684 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    That would work, though personally I would just go with the blade style fuses.
  4. ChubbyWeasel

    ChubbyWeasel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    65Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I was told to put fuses on the positive line. Is there an advantage to having fuses on both?
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,890
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,676Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,684 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The positive line is what is normally fused.
  6. ChubbyWeasel

    ChubbyWeasel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    65Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Yessir, I was wondering if there was an advantage to also putting them on the negative lines.
  7. TheYellowBatman

    TheYellowBatman New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    227Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thanks Noorbeast. I went with the glass fuses as the blade holders I could fine are quite bulky so I’m actually going to run them outside my control box. To save space I’ll use the glass ones inside the box. I also didn’t know how much current it would draw and glass ones go much lower in terms of fuse amperage so thought I would use them.

    chubbyweasal - I’m fusing the ground as that one happened to melt recently on the 5V circuit. It was more than likely too thin a wire. But I didn’t want to take any chances
  8. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    63
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I can't see any advantage unless it switches polarity.
  9. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,217
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    20,099Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,057 / 20 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    • Like Like x 1