1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

AMC1280USB Motion Simulator Controller

Discussion in 'SimTools compatible interfaces' started by Thanos, Jul 6, 2017.

  1. cthiggin

    cthiggin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    Montgomery AL USA
    Balance:
    14,991Coins
    Ratings:
    +431 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Thanks so much Thanos for you quick response. So encouraged that you will be getting to the "rest" soon.

    BlazinH - Thank for your post and helping us all.

    Tom
    • Funny Funny x 1
  2. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,315
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,023Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,611 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Totally agree :thumbs. @Thanos, if I could be so bold as to give you some advice after many years in the tech industry - you are the typical programmer (including myself :rolleyes:) who had to be always forced to document their code :). Seen it so many times before were I worked. Programmers are forever children - always focused on the next shinny thing, with plenty of excuses for not finding time time to do 'boring things' like documentation/manuals etc. You cannot be seen testing new product, while saying you don't have time to release manuals on products already in the market...Remember, a Businesses reputation is hard won, but easily lost. Look after your customers and the business/profits will look after themselves.
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Like Like x 1
  3. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,051
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,962Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,714 / 30 / -1
    Well said. ;)

    Maybe this is more of a hobby kind of thing to you Thanos but when you put something on Kickstarter the expectation is that you are attempting to raise money to help "kickstart" a business and people expect things will be handled in a professional businesslike manor. This includes supplying adequate documentation when the product is released so even a noob can gain the knowledge required to be able to start safely using what they paid for.
    • Agree Agree x 2
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2017
  4. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,504
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,966Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,192 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    So v2.4 rev1 firmware is no good ? Could that be the problem ?
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2017
  5. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,315
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,023Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,611 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I could not get it to work 'properly' with Rev1. Loaded Rev3 and suddenly Uni-dir works like it should. Still need to check with a real actuator to be certain - but the output voltages now vary around 2.5 v at pot center like they should.
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2017
  6. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,504
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,966Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,192 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I have gone back to my Ards now, this thing is sooooo dangerous it really has a mind of its own and with no safety limits/instructions someone is going to get really hurt somewhere.

    I will wait until its been fully tested by a few until I try again.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. riton

    riton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    592
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    881Coins
    Ratings:
    +99 / 3 / -0
    I have always issues with "enc_6dof_AMC1280USB_v2.4_rev3"
    12 bit out does not works .
  8. cthiggin

    cthiggin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    Montgomery AL USA
    Balance:
    14,991Coins
    Ratings:
    +431 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Well folks,
    This "noob" hears from most of you that we should 1. Wait for proper documentation? 2. Wait for a firmware that works AND is SAFE?

    With my old setup, when the boards were working, the SMC, Ard, with the on-screen utility, made it easy and safe.

    Tom
    • Agree Agree x 2
  9. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,504
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,966Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,192 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I have set it all back to SMC3 with great software safety limits and hardware limits that switch the 2x60's off .

    @Thanos I think you really need to do something similar to SMC3 as it blows the 1280 out the park on the setup side and safety side. I have no idea whether yours would of performed any better I will have to wait.
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    555
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,814Coins
    Ratings:
    +466 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    I'll enable the limit switches function on next firmware revision. But there is a better way to make passive limit switches right on the M+ and M- of the motor using direction blocking diodes along the limit switches. I'll share this method in a drawing later.

    Here is a video that should be covering all recent questions about the 12bit analog for sabertooth drives. Had to make it on the dinner table while babysitting the Zoo... anyone else has upload issues to youtube? Took 3 hours to upload 30 min video...



    Really there is not much to it to get the AMC1280USB going.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    555
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,814Coins
    Ratings:
    +466 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Hmm, did you cut the traces on the bottom of the pcb on the 6DOF ext board before soldering the pin headers for the jumpers?

    Its hard to help if you just say "does not work". Can you show the wiring you did? Post a list of the settings of your VFD inverters and its model perhaps?

    I can assure you there is nothing wrong in the latest firmware 2.4 rev3. Have a look in the videos where i test all functions with oscilloscope.





    It's two part as i got interrupted while halfway done.

    Thanks
    Thanos
    • Informative Informative x 1
  12. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    555
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,814Coins
    Ratings:
    +466 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Here is passive limit switch solution to protect your linear actuator:
    IMG_20171231_181646.jpg

    Like some dc motor linear actuators have:
    https://www.actuonix.com/L12-S-Micro-Linear-Actuator-with-Limit-Switches-p/l12-s.htm


    Thanks
    Thanos
    • Informative Informative x 1
  13. paulopsx2

    paulopsx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    456
    Location:
    brasil
    Balance:
    681Coins
    Ratings:
    +101 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    tabletop works for me on 2.4 r3. 2018 its a 6dof year ( i think rs ) before some errors and tests, my motors and beginning new project START.
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    555
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,814Coins
    Ratings:
    +466 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Just placing this here to explain the main parts of the controller. Very basic stuff...

    amc1280usb_modules_1.png
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,315
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,023Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,611 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Seems to be working fine for me in driving one of my actuators via the output sliders on Simtools. Just waiting for Assetto to load a big update before trying some game data. Will then need to then spend some time on tuning the PID before I can jump on-board :).
    • Like Like x 1
  16. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,315
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,023Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,611 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yep, game data from Assetto works fine, will now spend some time enabling all the other actuators, tidying up my wiring and tuning the controller.
    • Like Like x 3
  17. riton

    riton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    592
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    881Coins
    Ratings:
    +99 / 3 / -0
    @Thanos
    I already sent you these videos:



    In 8 bits, it works, in 12 bit no.

    yes I cut the jumpers tracks. I put the jumpers on 12 bits.
    My old AMC works very well with my drives in the same configuration.

    this is not a problem with the drivers.


    190/5000

    do you have to solder the pads for a config with a frequency converter?
    can we have 12 bits output with potentiometers?
    how to set UDN or ULN switches by default?
  18. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    555
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,814Coins
    Ratings:
    +466 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Take some clear photos of the top and bottom of the 6dof ext board to see it.

    Do you mean to bypass the current limit resistors on the 6dof ext?


    If your vfd is setup for Source inputs, you don't need to modify the UDN/ULN jumpers. It comes with UDN chips and is pre-wired setting for it.

    Did you try to measure the voltage output for the 12bit with a multimeter like i did on my videos? If you don't cut the needed traces under the 8bit/12bit pin headers where the jumpers are located, the 12bit outputs will show only up to 0.63v not full 5v swing.

    The 12bit analog output uses 4096 values to set the speed and the PID now runs on double range (8192 values). So it still gets smooth accelerations to target positions under the pid loop).

    You can use 10bit analog sensor and 12bit analog outputs. See my videos above.
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2018
  19. riton

    riton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    592
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    881Coins
    Ratings:
    +99 / 3 / -0
    Ok, I will resume everything.

    again a question:
    do I have to cut the pads next to the 8 bit / 12 bit jumper?

    it is write disconnect 0-10v amplifiers?
    what is the use?
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2018
  20. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    555
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,814Coins
    Ratings:
    +466 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    You only need to cut the traces marked with red line on the bottom of the 6DOF ext board.

    6dof_jumper_traces.png

    No need to cut other traces.