1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

AMC1280USB Motion Simulator Controller

Discussion in 'SimTools compatible interfaces' started by Thanos, Jul 6, 2017.

  1. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,030Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,721 / 30 / -1
    I can't speak about stability with a sabertooth with AMC because I don't have or need one.

    And I don't understand your second sentence. If you go over 180 degrees on a lever your reversing direction.
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2019
  2. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,713Coins
    Ratings:
    +196 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Not at all man, you have to take a closer look how the rotary kinematic works.

    I’ll give you an example with a picture later. Just ask if you are interested
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2019
  3. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,030Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,721 / 30 / -1
    Like when heaving you can use more at times? Sure I'm always interested in learning more. Like I've said I haven't done a 6dof yet so I don't have hands on experience. I used to think a 6dof could bind too but now I know they don't when done properly.
  4. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,713Coins
    Ratings:
    +196 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    This is my geometry. You can say, 182 deg. is negligible. I can insure you that in some other geometry I saw angles amplitude around 210 deg.

    Cheers.
  5. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,030Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,721 / 30 / -1
    Thanks I get it now I think :thumbs. I'll play around with it some myself because I'm not sure if loosing almost 1/2 the resolution to gain a few more degrees is worth it or necessary.
  6. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,713Coins
    Ratings:
    +196 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    2000 digital steps for 180 deg it’s not bad already.

    The pulley with a ratio to get 200 -220 deg would be the best.

    Having a margin over 180 is also a great security feature. You don’t brake anything if you overshoot.

    Best
  7. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,030Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,721 / 30 / -1
    Probably the very best would be to use 270 degree halls and eliminate a pulley but I can't find them available anywhere without an 8 week lead time.
  8. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,713Coins
    Ratings:
    +196 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Matter of taste.
    The digital one due to the open design allows to integrate them in a socket of your choice with strong double bearings which supports important belt tensions.

    Another strong advantage over the chippo slide bearing
  9. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    15,030Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,721 / 30 / -1
    Agree matter of taste. I personally don't like using belts on position sensors and the cheapo bearings will last a long time when the side force stays within specs. Also may people that have abused them this way have been able to rejuvenate them with a little bit of lub. To each their own. :cheers
  10. Gabor Pittner

    Gabor Pittner Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2018
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Szekesfehervar Hungary
    Balance:
    739Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Yesterday I made some test with some different PID settings, using with HeXpod heave loop test.
    But I forgot to check sabertooth DIP switches if they are in exponential or linear mode. Today morning I checked it and all of them are in linear mode... so the test was making in linear mode.

    the first thing I will do when I get home is to switch sabertooth's to exponential mode ;)

    Last edited: Apr 10, 2019
  11. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,713Coins
    Ratings:
    +196 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Please do your tests loaded
  12. Gabor Pittner

    Gabor Pittner Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2018
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Szekesfehervar Hungary
    Balance:
    739Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Watch the video from 10:00 minutes :cool:
  13. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,713Coins
    Ratings:
    +196 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    What I see is your front right motor seems to be late
  14. Gabor Pittner

    Gabor Pittner Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2018
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Szekesfehervar Hungary
    Balance:
    739Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Yes I said it already, when PID P value is about 50 or higher all of them are in synchron. Anyway its not a big issue, it's noticable only when the motion is slow.
  15. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,713Coins
    Ratings:
    +196 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    It can be that they remain out of sync but because of high P you can’t see it but you can feel it
  16. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,713Coins
    Ratings:
    +196 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    You can make the speed even slower if you want. After touching the slider with the mouse move it with left right arrow keys
  17. Gabor Pittner

    Gabor Pittner Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2018
    Messages:
    123
    Location:
    Szekesfehervar Hungary
    Balance:
    739Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Yes I think so... you are right.
  18. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,713Coins
    Ratings:
    +196 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    I would try to swap the sensor of the faulty motor with another motor to be sure the issue doesn’t come from it.
  19. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    618
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,194Coins
    Ratings:
    +809 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @Thanos My New AMT103 Encoders have arrived and 3D mounting for belt drive adapted ...was a Bugger As I had to Modify some M3 Fitting screws to suit But sorted now .. a few Picks of the assembly before testing starts Tomorrow hopefully ..

    Fingers Crossed for this trial using this recommended encoder..

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 3
  20. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    618
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,194Coins
    Ratings:
    +809 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi Guys yes I Know im only posting test setup info but thought it would be good for others to learn from my mistake , Ok heres the latest , and Big Thank you Again to @Thanos for bringing my sanity back :)

    been having a Play ( testing ) the New AMT103n capacitive Position encoder as recommended by Thanos, and so far the big smile is back on my face (for Now LOL ) as it seems my lost position fault has now gone and the Actuator seems to be tracking correctly no matter how fast I move the sliders in FlyPt ..

    so Hindsight being what it is ( someone here called it a female dog ...totally agree :) ) , it seems the 600ppr Optical encoders I was using for the initial tests with was the wrong type for this Interface and all of that along with the mother of all assumptions combined, sorrta lead me up the proverbial garden path ( don't forget the doubting sanity part as well ) so its great to be able to say / report that with this new encoder fitted, and after calibration, the combination of FlyPt works Over full slider Distance and does not hit either high or low limit switches , Plus I have not yet tripped the E-Stop Limit switches Either .. ( Currently I have 2 Sets of Limit switches set up on this actuator ( one set for Encoder Calibration and the Other as Runaway Fail safe ) .

    Money well spent if this progress Follows through on all the other actuators which will need to be upgraded Once I really stress this Encoder setup and if all goes well I can have confidence that the system wont throw a loopy because of lost Actuator Position ..

    Will now move my comments out of this Post and place any future update under my DIY actuator Posts .. Cheers @Thanos and @hexpod for your Patience and assistance .and to all the crew here for making this an ace forum

    So as it stands at the moment, I have my test setup of Sabertooth 2 X 32 .Amc Barebones ,Encoder2Pos Interface and Belt Driven AMT103 Encoder working with FlyPt for one Actuator the other 5 will be Upgraded soon dependant on me brutalising this test phase :) new Wiring diagram will be posted for AMT103 Connections /Actuator setup ..
    • Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 1
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2019