1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

AMC1280USB Motion Simulator Controller

Discussion in 'SimTools compatible interfaces' started by Thanos, Jul 6, 2017.

  1. Gabor Pittner

    Gabor Pittner Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2018
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Szekesfehervar Hungary
    Balance:
    808Coins
    Ratings:
    +60 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi @Thanos thank you very much your quick answer. I used 3m usb extender cabel so you can be right. Really good idea. Thank you too @hexpod as you always help me.

    But @Thanos you said me some weeks ago you are working on a circuit or a solution to bi-directional control to sabertooth. I would be very happy to get AMC board be safe with analog control finally:thumbs
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2019
  2. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    635
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,855Coins
    Ratings:
    +524 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    I'm working on prototype for that, I'll need to implement a bit a code for that. It will have a micro that its only job will be to translate 6 bidirectional inputs to 6 unidirectional. Most likely I'll use 32bit micro with hardware functions, to avoid having latency issues. It will be powered by same source as Sabetooth, to be always on the same time.

    Thanks
    Thanos
  3. Gabor Pittner

    Gabor Pittner Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2018
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Szekesfehervar Hungary
    Balance:
    808Coins
    Ratings:
    +60 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I have to say now it works with sabertooth for me. AMC1280USB with fw3.5, and hexpod 2.4. Im not finished to configure anything, but the motion can be smooth and hard enough too. Now I try to find the perfect PID config, and simtools axes tuning. Still I lost motion details a lot, for example tiny road effects. When I succeed I will make some video about it.
    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2019
  4. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    749
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,993Coins
    Ratings:
    +215 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    You can try to keep your P relatively high and simply apply less smoothing filter on heave effect in comparison to all others.
    This way you should be able to choose the amount of road details you wish.

    Cheers.
  5. Gabor Pittner

    Gabor Pittner Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2018
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Szekesfehervar Hungary
    Balance:
    808Coins
    Ratings:
    +60 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    First attempt with AMC1280USB v3.5 analog control to sabertooth and using with hexpod v2.4. Its my first experience in motion cockpit ever. :thumbs
    Its getting better. PCars2, pimax 5k+
    • Winner Winner x 6
    • Like Like x 3
  6. BondeX

    BondeX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Occupation:
    EE
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Balance:
    1,444Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Wow, such a reactive 6DOF. Good job.
  7. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    635
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,855Coins
    Ratings:
    +524 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Its not far off for first time! It's motion quality is highly comparable to linear servomotor platforms:

  8. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,393
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,053Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,698 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Really well done for your first sim :thumbs. Looks to be a power supply, or Motor driver 'brown out' near the end of the video. Maybe those Sabertooth 2 x 32 are on the edge of their limits :think. I know @SilentChill originally had 2 x 32 on his 6DOF and then upgraded to 2 x 60, which is what I also went with when I gave up on the MMs.
  9. Gabor Pittner

    Gabor Pittner Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2018
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Szekesfehervar Hungary
    Balance:
    808Coins
    Ratings:
    +60 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    At the end of this video I crashed with some car in Monza first shicane, and I made a pirouette with formula renault on the air, :rolleyes: The platform touched a bit on the first motor gear. I need to modify limit angles on hexpod interface. That time it was 170degrees... I think its too many
    Anyway I think this configuration is strong enough. :cool: But the next days tell more...
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2019
  10. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    749
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,993Coins
    Ratings:
    +215 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    @Gabor Pittner ,
    Glad to see this compact and silent solution. The motion looks precise and very dynamic. I would definitely give a try applying some surge on pitch axis in order to simulate sustained accel/decel feeling.

    If you try it, apply a big smoothing filter on this effect. Of course you may want to do the same with roll and sway for centrifuge forces.
    sustained.JPG
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2019
  11. Gabor Pittner

    Gabor Pittner Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2018
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Szekesfehervar Hungary
    Balance:
    808Coins
    Ratings:
    +60 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Yes absolutelly agree, As I have never experienced this, it was my first thougt that something wasn't good enough with acceleration and decceleration. When I push the brake it comes a nice force to feel the brake, but it disappeares as fast as it comes. It caused me a bit of sickness in my stomach. o_O
    You know I haven't done axis tuning, or any of tweaking yet. I also need more roll effect in curves to feel centripetal force.
    The next step I learn how to do that :thumbs
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2019
  12. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    749
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,993Coins
    Ratings:
    +215 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    I am just curious... what is the nominal torque limit of those motors? Could they handle 150mm crank levers instead of 100mm?
  13. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    749
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,993Coins
    Ratings:
    +215 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    @Gabor Pittner ,
    170 deg. You’re probably talking about a limiter for platform/leg angle. Exceeding 180 deg. the platform would collapse and lock mechanically being unable to produce any further movement.

    This is there as a security for rigs with a big displacement capabilities.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  14. Gabor Pittner

    Gabor Pittner Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2018
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Szekesfehervar Hungary
    Balance:
    808Coins
    Ratings:
    +60 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    They are about 70NM, 24V 490W motors with Rotomotive BOX050 1:60 wormgear. They are really strong but I dont think they handle bigger crank than 100mm.
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2019
  15. Gabor Pittner

    Gabor Pittner Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2018
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Szekesfehervar Hungary
    Balance:
    808Coins
    Ratings:
    +60 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Yes Im talking about leg angle limiter. I thought if I set it about 160 degree I would avoid hitting front motors.
  16. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    749
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,993Coins
    Ratings:
    +215 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Yes, maybe you’re right. The jump from 100 to 150mm would be more or less equivalent as putting a 70kg person on your laps. (Supposing you’re 90kg and all hanging cockpit parts are 50kg.)

    If you experience mechanical collisions, you have to limit your platform by reducing the dof’ displacements in « limit Axis Intensities » column.

    Cheers
  17. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    749
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    4,993Coins
    Ratings:
    +215 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    180 means that one leg and the platform are on the same plane. I am not sure you can solve your issue like that. See if you can deal with Intensities.
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2019
  18. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    646
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,449Coins
    Ratings:
    +848 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    yeah I Know he's back :-(
    Was making some decent progress with Firmware 2.4 & actuator testing ,so then thought now is the time to try 3.5 V 1b. well mr ham fisted may have bricked my AMC cos now the LCD screen just shows top row of Characters as fully lit Squares with no comms to PC and No text at any point on the screen , I came across a Video @Thanos Posted and it looks like Bootloader Corrupted .. see attached Photo ....

    Honest guys I have uploaded firmware several times now and had No issues but this time I think I accidently knocked the programming Jumper at the wrong point in the process or pressed a button out of sequence so im Buggered ..

    so once again im asking for advice as to how to get my Butt outta jail one more time ( For now that is )

    was trying to Connect to FlyPThexpod and realised I was using 2.4 Firmware so that's when the change / Mistake on my part occurred .

    Any help guys would really be appreciated . note if this Board survives my Attemps to kill it I mean set it up then take that as a good thing Cos im not doing it on purpose :)

    Attached Files:

  19. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    646
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,449Coins
    Ratings:
    +848 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi Guys Problem sorted , @Thanos to the rescue , so just wanted to say Public thanks for putting up with my adventures. Firmware update now done , LCD back up and running , Full text on screen ,,,one piece of bacon saved .. :cheershug: might have been another cant see the wood for the trees moment But Happy to say I can continue to play
    • Like Like x 1
  20. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    646
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,449Coins
    Ratings:
    +848 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @Thanos Now one little request ..can you post a vid of Encoder2pos with Optical encoder , -Amc barebones running with either Simtools , BFF or FlyPThexpod & showing rapid Movement left to right without encoder losing synch ,,

    Beg Beg Please ... my set up works but rapid movement seems to Confuse Encoder output ?? and so actuator looses Position range or calibrated center.

    Once its lost signal Calibration center or the calibrated range changes, then bad things could happen (Saved many times by Latching relay power cut off cct ) when i check the physical position of the actuator the analogue output count seems to usually wrong

    Also when i check the AMC LCD analog Voltages on RHS of LCD it indicates the actuator should be in the middle of its travel range but its Not ?

    I checked all the mechanical fittings < Couplers to Ballscrew and Motors and Optical Encoder and None are loose . its as though there was some mechanical slip But the fittings are all Tight ..

    Also as im now driving 6 Optical Encoders , Uln2803a Limit switch pcb and 5V limit switch trigger relays , should i have a -7 to 12V Psu to feed extra current into the AMC128USB Controller?

    So Far i have seen this same Situation ref Lost Position while doing Manual Actuator testing using Bff 6DOF and FlyPTHexpod . Im heading up to try simtools Via FlyPTHexpod to see if the problem repeats ..

    I Noticed in one of your tutorial Videos You had a OLED display connected to the Encoder to Pos to read Live encoder info could you publish the Schematic of how you'd make one of these or can i check the Encoder Via Ard iDE monitor live whilst its running BFF, Simtool Or FlyPt ?
    in each case once the count is scrambled the actuator position is different to the position demand Cursors for manual Position testing in the above mentioned Utilities

    Yeah Yeah I know Long Post but i'll get there in the end :)
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2019