1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

AMC1280USB Motion Simulator Controller

Discussion in 'SimTools compatible interfaces' started by Thanos, Jul 6, 2017.

  1. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    736Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    This should explain better what is the issue here:
    The video starts with the old version of the plugin and ends with the new one.
    Same settings in both examples with heave effect desactivated.



    We should see the platform banking a bit up to simulate the axial accel and to the right to simulate the centifuge force while performing the turn.
    This works well with the old version.

    The problem with the old version is that the heave axis is not properly centered.

    Best
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. Thanos

    Thanos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,795Coins
    Ratings:
    +288 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF
    The video is not available. .
  3. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    736Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    My fault ... sorry. You should read them by now
  4. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimTools Developer SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,054
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    5,034Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,912 / 10 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    I see. Thanks for the video explanation. It's clear now. Lemme check the maths in the plugin.
  5. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,983
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    28,760Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,968 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    @Thanos I am rebuilding my simulation platform and would like to add the AMC1280 especially for the Sabertooths. I found a video on youtube which is still up to date?

    Mx AMC1280 is updated to version 3.0.

    Thank you.
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,983
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    28,760Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,968 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Checked it, it is quite the same.
  7. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,065
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    25,654Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,364 / 20 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Finally got around to getting a copy of Hexpod. Seems to have some nice features with adjustable roll center, DOF mixing etc, but had me scratching my head with version 1.7 as it would not connect to the 1280 o_O. Tried V1.4 and it works fine...Hopefully it may save some other members hair :).
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. Thanos

    Thanos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,795Coins
    Ratings:
    +288 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thanks for letting me know. I'll verify the bug with the v1.7, I have been using v1.8 for a while now, i skip to latest version sometimes to compile from source, since I have access to the development. I dont personally test the released one from HexPod team. I work on the shared map memory part, and on the comm module to improve the datalink. Perhaps v1.7 uses the new data ID for v3.0 firmware? But still, the recognition commands are same and should work regardless

    Tomorrow first thing is to short this out.

    Thanks
    Thanos
    • Like Like x 1
  9. RandomCoder

    RandomCoder Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    185
    Occupation:
    Control Engineer
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    1,582Coins
    Ratings:
    +138 / 0 / -0
    Try not to blow anything up :grin
  10. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,065
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    25,654Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,364 / 20 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    1.7 would not connect to either the old, or new (3.0) firmware - I run an old and new 1280.
  11. Thanos

    Thanos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,795Coins
    Ratings:
    +288 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hexpod 1.7 needs the new ID format (FF FF) to work.

    I verified it works, even with multiple interfaces connected (wish I could choose which one to connect to):


    If you are still using old firmware before v3.0, it wont work...
    See info to upgrade it here:
    http://motionsim.blogspot.com/2018/08/amc1280usb-firmware-v30-release.html



    Thanks
    Thanos
  12. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    736Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    As it might be confusing I am adding here a link to the heXpod package including old ID and new ID versions.
    You will find also the last AMC1280USB firmwares corresponding to the respective version.

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/k1y60d7fzdu4277/heXpod_old_new.zip?dl=0

    recommended AMC1280USB firmware for heXpod with old ID is the 2.4 rev.3
    recommended AMC1280USB firmware for heXpod with new ID is the 3.0 rev.2a

    Please report bugs if any

    Thanks
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2018
  13. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,065
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    25,654Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,364 / 20 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thanks. Is it OK to load this new firmware onto older 1280's?
  14. Thanos

    Thanos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,795Coins
    Ratings:
    +288 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yes, it will work the same. Just any 12bit outputs setting will not work, as the hardware is not present on older Amc1280usb. The rest hardware remains compatible.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,065
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    25,654Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,364 / 20 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Well... that was a bit of a disaster :eek:. Just need to find the right image to roll back to - Thank God for limit switches ..
  16. misoswan

    misoswan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    225
    Balance:
    738Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, JRK
    I have gren thanos board 6dof all work nice in firewall 2.1c and last day am instal new update 3.0 and now have problem with one sew inverter B.all time light STOP. next two inverter work corect .i see in display change all time numbers and motor moving .only one inventer still light Stop and motor not move.


    PS: after back update to 2.0 all work correct. 3.0 not work for my.I will by fear to update to new versions.!!!
  17. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,065
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    25,654Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,364 / 20 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yep, I've gone back to 2.1C, and everything is back to normal, but got a real fright as my sim tried to push through my ceiling (6DOF card driving Sabertooth DC motors)- limit switches saved the day.
    • Like Like x 1
  18. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    736Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    I presume you are talking about the 3.0 rev.2a. Right?
    I've also had issues on the 3.0 rev.1c.

    In my setup, when the new "FF FF" ID and "ser feedback off" is checked, I have no problem.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  19. misoswan

    misoswan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    225
    Balance:
    738Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, JRK
    I was able to update to 2.0 and try update to 2.1c(connector fail ) why? thanks
  20. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    736Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Value1,
    Thank you for your efforts with the third version of the plugin.

    Here is the result:



    For testing, I would recommend to use manual values in the "tunung center" as the new "roll over" feature can work only when 180 value is set for pitch and roll positions.

    This is the simtools matrix where I am mapping the forces for the heXpod Add-On:

    xplane axis.PNG

    As you can see, I am mapping all 3 rotational and 3 translational accelerations and only 2 positions.
    I am skipping the use of yaw position (magnetic orientation of the aircraft) as the yaw acceleration which retuns to the center seems to be enough for a good realism.

    In the DOF2 column I am mixing the pitch and roll positions with pitch and roll accelerations and in the DOF3 column I am adding sway effect to roll axis and surge effect to pitch axis in order to simulate a sustained acceleration feeling. - pretty simple.

    In the video example, the aircraft is making a slow 360 turn at a constant speed which means we should have a constant value for surge acceleration and also a constant value for sway acceleration (centrifuge force) as you can see them on the telemetry output.

    In this plugin version I see a strange relation between the sway and surge acceleration and the position of the aircraft. The runway is more or less oriented north/south and the plugin's values instead of being stable, strangely tilts the platform when the aircraft is facing east an west and retuns to 0 when the orientation is north/South.

    The ground behaviour of the aircraft (taking off, landing, taxiing) is a crucial part of flight simulation. Only to say how important is to get it right. I hope my explanations will help you finding a correct way to output the x-plane telemetry.

    Best - heXpod
    • Like Like x 1