1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

AMC1280USB Motion Simulator Controller

Discussion in 'SimTools compatible interfaces' started by Thanos, Jul 6, 2017.

  1. hexpod

    hexpod Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    372Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    For our platforms, the raw value does not provide good results. It obviously needs some conversion.
    "Gload norml" is the g-load across the aircraft, relative to the aircraft body-axis.
    As you noticed, the issue is that without any motion we get a value +1, while all other linear and rotational accelerations starts at 0. It is shifting the whole axis to operate almost at the clipping limit of our heave dof.

    Desperately I tried to set it -1 / +2 but it's not a solution.

    I would need assistance. Please PM me if you have any ideas.

    cheers
  2. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimTools Developer SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,040
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    4,270Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,879 / 10 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    Hi hexpod
    The +1g is always effective in the direction of the earth center, i.e. when you fly vertically up, there is an additional +1g pulling on the surge acceleration and heave is 0.
    The only feasible way for the elimination of this +1g that I can see: Convert the local accelerations to world accelerations, deduct -1 from world heave and convert the world accelerations back to local accelerations.
    As this involves the Euler vectors, I'm concerned about the gimbal lock needing special attention.
    I've successfully applied this method to the iRacing plugin – however iRacing cars tend not to do loopings and that kind.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. Thanos

    Thanos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,367Coins
    Ratings:
    +263 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF
    For the motion platforms we need relative accelerations that are centered in rest position. LFS seems to get that right.
  4. hexpod

    hexpod Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    372Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    That's interesting!
    Hi @value1,
    Do you think you could give it a try in the near future?
  5. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimTools Developer SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,040
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    4,270Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,879 / 10 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    Try this plugin version. Earth gravity is deducted from the acceleration vector.

    PS: I'm still a terrible pilot… You aviators need to put the plugin to the acid test!
    PPS: Funny enough, x-plane provides "
    motion platform stats" but still includes earth gravity. Maybe someone needs to tell them…

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  6. hexpod

    hexpod Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    372Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Well man, I am impressed. you go fast.
    The axis is properly centered now. From what I can see in my quick test, It the behaviour seems fine.
    You made my day, Thank you very much!
    • Like Like x 2
  7. hexpod

    hexpod Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    372Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    New major heXpod update with:

    - better memory handling
    - faster data communication for tiny smooth movements

    Thanks Dustin additionally we have:

    - increased sliders smoothing range to filter some big amplitude effects
    - roll over

    the zip package available on:
    http://hexpod.xyz

    heXpod Team
    • Like Like x 3
  8. Thanos

    Thanos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,367Coins
    Ratings:
    +263 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF

    Gave it a test. Looks really much detailed and smoother now!



    Great job!
  9. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,001
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    25,134Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,336 / 20 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Nice. Is there a manual/price?
  10. Thanos

    Thanos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,367Coins
    Ratings:
    +263 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Did you contact @hexpod ?
  11. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,001
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    25,134Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,336 / 20 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Readme in Zip says the following: '1. purchase and activate "heXpod 6DOF driver" Add-on (works with "AMC 1280 USB" controller only)' nothing about how in the Readme and there is nothing about licensing on the website - maybe I have missed it somewhere?
  12. hexpod

    hexpod Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    372Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Please re-download the .zip package. The instructions in the README_FIRST should be more clear.
  13. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,001
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    25,134Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,336 / 20 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Seems it is a issue - deleted information.
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2018
  14. Thanos

    Thanos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,367Coins
    Ratings:
    +263 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF
    The issue is the privacy concerns posting email addresses intended to serve for private use between the creator and the users. Posting email addresse on forums is asking for that address to spammed, especially as it so easy to be picked up by bots. Thats why all communication ways are provided within the software where the user has to type it in by hand. Sorry if this looks different than what you are used to, but its the creator's wishes.

    Thanks
  15. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,001
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    25,134Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,336 / 20 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    That's fine, but if it is so sensitive, I would not be including that type of information in an automated response email.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  16. Thanos

    Thanos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,367Coins
    Ratings:
    +263 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF
    He is away for a week for vacations. The automated response it's going to be received by a user requesting assistance for activation or purchasing info.

    The problem is it was posted on public forum for all bots to grab that information (email addresses). It's not hidden from human users, just bots! ;)

    I hope we don't need to keep going on about something that is common sense!

    At least do some modification of the contact information to confuse the bots. I always add extra characters to my address if need to public post email address, adding space characters for example replaced by the empty char with code #255 that looks like space but it's not...
    • Agree Agree x 1
  17. hexpod

    hexpod Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    372Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Hi @value1

    There is still something strange with the values in the plugin.
    I think the axial Gload and the side Gload should be mapped on our surge and sway.

    What I see is that x-plane values does not match with those in the plugin.
    Please take a look on the Screenshot.

    xplane telemetry.JPG

    Best
    • Agree Agree x 1
  18. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimTools Developer SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,040
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    4,270Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,879 / 10 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    Not quite sure what you mean.
    It is clear, that the x-plane values do not match with those in the plugin, because the plugin deducts the earth gravity (1g) from the acceleration vector. Therefore the values are slightly different when ± horizontal and even more, when the plane is tilted.
    Surge corresponds to axial Gload and sway corresponds to side Gload (I believe from what I see on my screen/Tuning Center upload_2018-8-10_18-6-42.png ).
  19. hexpod

    hexpod Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    372Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Thank you for yor reply.

    I thought the last update was related to the vertical Gload only.
    Let me perform some tests with the old version to get what's wrong in the new one

    Best
  20. hexpod

    hexpod Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    372Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Hi @value1,

    Please watch on the clip what happens with the side and axial accel.



    I do a simple turn with the cessna and instead of having the side and axial accel more or less steady like in the old plugin, they are oscillating depending on the plane vertical orientation. It's not realistic at all.

    Maybe there is a way to correct the heave accel without touching the side and axial one….

    Best